• Crosby, Stills, Nash & Young - So Far
    (Atlantic Records  1974  K50023)
    Matrix No's: A1/B1 - UK Pressing
    "Porky/Pecko" in dead wax

    Embossed Sleeve in Excellent condition
     - condition would be Nr MINT but message written on back cover
    "Happy Christmas 1975 Magda and may 1976 be a happy successful and above all a peaceful year for you all my love Amanda"

    Vinyl in Nr MINT condition
    (there are some surface marks visible on the vinyl when held up to the light but they don't affect the sound quality)

    Crosby, Stills & Nash (CSN) were a folk rock supergroup made up of American singer-songwriters David Crosby and Stephen Stills and English American singer-songwriter Graham Nash. They were known as Crosby, Stills, Nash & Young (CSNY) when joined by Canadian singer-songwriter Neil Young, who was an occasional fourth member. They were noted for their intricate vocal harmonies, often tumultuous interpersonal relationships, political activism, and lasting influence on US music and culture. Crosby, Stills & Nash were inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and all three members were also inducted for their work in other groups (Crosby for the Byrds, Stills for Buffalo Springfield and Nash for the Hollies). Neil Young has also been inducted as a solo artist and as a member of Buffalo Springfield.

    So Far is the fourth album by Crosby, Stills & Nash (their third as Crosby, Stills, Nash & Young), and the first compilation album released by the group. Shipping as a gold record and peaking at #1 on the Billboard Top Pop Albums chart, it was the band's third chart-topping album in a row.

    Compiled from a stand-alone single and two studio albums, Crosby, Stills & Nash and Déjà Vu, it is the only place where that single's flip "Find the Cost of Freedom" can be found on one compact disc. The A-side "Ohio" can also be found on Neil Young's 2004 Greatest Hits album, as well as his earlier Decade compilation.

    Capitalizing on the highly publicized and anticipated reunion tour of CSNY in 1974, the album consisted of eleven studio tracks from a group that had only issued twenty-two to date. Five of the songs had been Top 40 hits, and such was the demand for any sign of activity from the quartet that So Far topped the charts. Graham Nash later insisted that the group was against the album's release, calling the concoction of a greatest-hits album from two LPs and one non-LP single "absurd."

    The cover art was painted by the group's friend and colleague Joni Mitchell, who also wrote "Woodstock". The album was reissued for CD on October 25, 1990, and again after being remastered at Ocean View Digital using the original master tapes on September 20, 1994.

    Track listing

    Side one

    No. Title Writer(s) Length  
    1. "Déjà Vu"   David Crosby 4:10
    2. "Helplessly Hoping"   Stephen Stills 2:38
    3. "Wooden Ships"   David Crosby, Paul Kantner,
    Stephen Stills
    4. "Teach Your Children"   Graham Nash 2:53
    5. "Ohio"   Neil Young 3:00
    6. "Find the Cost of Freedom"   Stephen Stills 2:01

    Side two

    No. Title Writer(s) Length  
    1. "Woodstock"   Joni Mitchell 3:52
    2. "Our House"   Graham Nash 2:58
    3. "Helpless"   Neil Young 3:34
    4. "Guinnevere"   David Crosby 4:38
    5. "Suite: Judy Blue Eyes"   Stephen Stills 7:24


    Crosby, Stills, Nash & Young
    • David Crosby - vocals, guitar
    • Stephen Stills - vocals, bass, guitar, organ, piano, percussion
    • Graham Nash - vocals, guitar, organ, piano
    • Neil Young - vocals, guitar, harmonica, piano
    Additional personnel
    • Dallas Taylor - drums
    • Greg Reeves - bass on "Deja Vu", "Woodstock", "Helpless"
    • John Sebastian - harmonica on "Deja Vu"
    • Jerry Garcia - pedal steel guitar on "Teach Your Children"
    • Johnny Barbata - drums on "Ohio"
    • Calvin Samuels - bass on "Ohio"

    Write a review

    Note: HTML is not translated!
        Bad           Good


    • Product Code: K50023
    • Availability: In Stock
    • £9.99

    • Ex Tax: £9.99