• Bryan Ferry - Another Time, Another Place
    (Island Records  1974  ILPS9284)
    Matrix No's: A6/B7 - UK Pressing

    Vinyl in Nr MINT/Excellent+ condition
    (there are some surface marks visible on the vinyl when held up to the light but they don't affect the sound quality apart from some light pops/crackles)

    Gatefold Sleeve in Nr MINT condition

    Bryan Ferry, CBE (born 26 September 1945), is an English singer, musician, and songwriter known for his unique vocal style. Ferry came to prominence in the early 1970s as lead vocalist and principal songwriter with the band Roxy Music, which enjoyed a highly successful career with three number one albums and ten singles entering the top ten charts in the United Kingdom during the 1970s and '80s, including "Virginia Plain", "Street Life" and "Jealous Guy".

    Ferry began his solo career in 1973, while still a member of Roxy Music, which he continues to the present day. His solo hits include "Let's Stick Together" and "Slave to Love". His most recent album, The Jazz Age, was released in 2012.

    When his sales as a solo artist and as a member of Roxy Music are combined, Ferry has sold over 30 million albums worldwide.

    Another Time, Another Place was Bryan Ferry's second studio album as a solo artist. The album reached #4 in the UK charts in 1974.

    Recording took place in London at Island, Ramport and AIR studios. Like Ferry's previous solo album, it consisted mainly of covers, with this time the exception of the last song, which gave its title to the album and was written by Ferry.

    Like These Foolish Things, Another Time, Another Place is essentially a cover album, featuring a Bob Dylan song ("A Hard Rain's a-Gonna Fall" on the former LP, "It Ain't Me Babe" on the latter) and a standard (the title track of These Foolish Things, "Smoke Gets in Your Eyes" on Another Time, Another Place) but while These Foolish Things emphasized an early-'60s girl-group repertoire, Another Time, Another Place turned to soul music (Sam Cooke, Ike & Tina Turner) and country music (Kris Kristofferson, Willie Nelson, Joe South).

    This choice of repertoire, together with the more sophisticated settings and production, gave the album a more "grown-up", serious and even reflective quality than Ferry's previous album, which sounds more fun and at times hectic.

    Track listing

    Side 1

    No. Title Writer(s) Length  
    1. "The 'In' Crowd" (Dobie Gray cover from the album Dobie Gray Sings for 'In' Crowders That 'Go Go (1965)) Billy Page 4:36
    2. "Smoke Gets In Your Eyes" (cover) Jerome Kern, Otto Harbach 2:53
    3. "Walk A Mile In My Shoes" (cover) Joe South 4:44
    4. "Funny How Time Slips Away" (Billy Walker cover) Willie Nelson 3:31
    5. "You Are My Sunshine" (cover) Jimmie Davis, Charles Mitchell 6:47

    Side 2

    No. Title Writer(s) Length  
    6. "(What a) Wonderful World" (Sam Cooke cover from the album The Wonderful World of Sam Cooke (1960)) Sam Cooke, Herb Alpert, Lou Adler 2:55
    7. "It Ain't Me Babe" (Bob Dylan cover from the album Another Side of Bob Dylan (1964)) Bob Dylan 3:57
    8. "Fingerpoppin'" (cover) Ike Turner 3:34
    9. "Help Me Make It Through the Night" (Kris Kristofferson cover from the album Kristofferson (1970)) Kris Kristofferson 4:15
    10. "Another Time, Another Place"   Ferry 4:46



    • Bryan Ferry - lead vocal, harmonica and organ
    • Henry Lowther - trumpet
    • Chris Mercer - tenor saxophone
    • David O'List - guitar
    • Ruan O'Lochlainn - alto saxophone
    • John Porter - guitar
    • Chris Pyne - trombone
    • John Wetton - bass guitar, fiddle

    Also featuring: (instruments are mentioned tentatively based on the credits of other Bryan Ferry records)

    • Tony Carr
    • Tony Charles
    • Don Cirilo
    • Paul Cosh
    • Geoff Daley
    • Martin Drover - trumpet
    • Bob Efford
    • Malcolm Griffiths
    • Jimmy Hastings - flute
    • Morris Pert - percussion
    • John Punter - bass guitar
    • Alf Reece
    • Peter Robinson
    • Ronnie Ross - saxophone
    • Bruce Rowland - drums
    • Steve Saunders
    • Alan Skidmore
    • Winston Stone
    • Mick Warner
    • Chorus: Vicki Brown, Helen Chappelle, Barry St. John, Liza Strike
    • Strings arranged by Ann Odell
    • Brass arranged by Martyn Ford
    • Engineer: John Punter
    • Assistant engineers: Rhett Davies, Mark Dobson, Gary Edwards, Sean Milligan
    • Cover concept: Bryan Ferry
    • Photography: Eric Bowman
    • Design: Nick de Ville
    • Artwork: Bob Bowkett (C.C.S.)
    • Fashion: Anthony Price


    Write a review

    Note: HTML is not translated!
        Bad           Good


    • Product Code: ILPS9284
    • Availability: In Stock
    • £6.99

    • Ex Tax: £6.99