• Queen - A Kind Of Magic
    (EMI Records  1986  EU3509)
    Matrix No's: A4/B4 - UK Pressing

    Gatefold Sleeve in Nr MINT condition
    Inner Sleeve in Nr MINT condition

    Vinyl in Excellent+ condition
    (there are some surface marks visible on the vinyl when held up to the light but they don't affect the sound quality apart from some light pops/crackles)

    Queen are a British rock band that formed in London in 1970. Their classic line-up was Freddie Mercury (lead vocals, piano), Brian May (lead guitar, vocals), Roger Taylor (drums, vocals), and John Deacon (bass guitar). Queen's earliest works were influenced by progressive rock, hard rock and heavy metal, but the band gradually ventured into more conventional and radio-friendly works by incorporating further styles, such as arena rock and pop rock, into their music.

    Before forming Queen, Brian May and Roger Taylor had played together in a band named Smile. Freddie Mercury (then known by his birth name of Farrokh "Freddie" Bulsara) was a fan of Smile and encouraged them to experiment with more elaborate stage and recording techniques. Mercury joined the band in 1970, suggested "Queen" as a new band name, and adopted his familiar stage name. John Deacon was recruited before the band recorded their eponymous debut album in 1973. Queen first charted in the UK with their second album, Queen II, in 1974, but it was the release of Sheer Heart Attack later that year and A Night at the Opera in 1975 which brought them international success. The latter featured "Bohemian Rhapsody", which stayed at number one in the UK for nine weeks and popularised the music video.

    The band's 1977 album News of the World contained "We Will Rock You" and "We Are the Champions", which have become anthems at sporting events. By the early 1980s, Queen were one of the biggest stadium rock bands in the world. Released in 1980, "Another One Bites the Dust" is their best selling single, while their 1981 compilation album Greatest Hits is the best-selling album in the UK and is certified eight times platinum in the US. Their performance at the 1985 Live Aid concert has been ranked among the greatest in rock history by various music publications, and the best in a 2005 industry poll. In 1991, Mercury died of bronchopneumonia, a complication of AIDS, and Deacon retired in 1997. Since then, May and Taylor have occasionally performed together.

    The band have released a total of 18 number-one albums, 18 number-one singles, and 10 number-one DVDs. Estimates of their record sales generally range from 150 million to 300 million records, making them one of the world's best-selling music artists. Queen received the Outstanding Contribution to British Music Award from the British Phonographic Industry in 1990. They were inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in 2001.

    A Kind of Magic is the twelfth album by English rock band Queen, released in 1986. It was their first studio album to be recorded digitally, and is based on the soundtrack to the film Highlander, the first in a series directed by Russell Mulcahy.

    Although Queen would release another three albums with Freddie Mercury (including the posthumous Made in Heaven), A Kind of Magic would turn out to be the band's last album promoted with a concert tour, because of Mercury's diagnosis with HIV the following year and his eventual death from AIDS in 1991. For the first time in their career, the band allowed filming of them while they were in the recording studio. The video for "One Vision" shows them in various stages of writing and recording the song.

    A Kind of Magic reached #1 in the UK, selling 100,000 copies in its first week, and remained in the UK charts for 63 weeks. The album spawned three hit singles: the album's title track "A Kind of Magic", "One Vision" and "Friends Will Be Friends". The sixth track on the album, "Who Wants to Live Forever", features an orchestra conducted by Michael Kamen, while the last track, "Princes of the Universe", is the theme song to Highlander.

    Track listing

    Side one  
    No. Title Writer(s) Length  
    1. "One Vision"   Queen (Roger Taylor) 5:10
    2. "A Kind of Magic"   Taylor 4:24
    3. "One Year of Love"   John Deacon 4:26
    4. "Pain Is So Close to Pleasure"   Deacon, Freddie Mercury 4:21
    5. "Friends Will Be Friends"   Deacon, Mercury 4:07
    Side two  
    No. Title Writer(s) Length  
    6. "Who Wants to Live Forever"   Brian May 5:15
    7. "Gimme the Prize (Kurgan's Theme)"   May 4:34
    8. "Don't Lose Your Head"   Taylor 4:38
    9. "Princes of the Universe"   Mercury 3:32


    • Freddie Mercury - lead and backing vocals, piano, synthesisers, programming
    • Brian May - electric guitars, backing vocals, lead vocals on "Who Wants to Live Forever?", synthesisers, programming
    • Roger Taylor - drums, electronic drums, backing vocals, synthesisers, programming
    • John Deacon - bass guitar, electric guitars, synthesisers, programming
    Additional personnel
    • Spike Edney - additional keyboards
    • Joan Armatrading - incidental vocals on "Don't Lose Your Head"
    • Steve Gregory - alto saxophone on "One Year of Love"
    • String section on "One Year of Love" arranged and conducted by Lynton Naiff
    • National Philharmonic Orchestra on "Who Wants to Live Forever?" arranged by Michael Kamen and May and conducted by Kamen
    • Roger Chiasson - album cover

    Write a review

    Note: HTML is not translated!
        Bad           Good


    • Product Code: EU3509
    • Availability: In Stock
    • £20.99

    • Ex Tax: £20.99