• Peter Gabriel - 2nd album Scratch
    (Charisma Records  1978  CDS4013)
    Matrix No's: A5/B5 - UK Pressing

    Sleeve in Nr MINT- condition
    - some wear to edges
    Fold Out Poster/Insert in Nr MINT condition

    Vinyl in Nr MINT condition
    (there are some surface marks visible on the vinyl when held up to the light but they don't affect the sound quality)

    Peter Brian Gabriel (born 13 February 1950) is an English singer-songwriter, record producer and humanitarian who rose to fame as the original lead singer and flautist of the progressive rock band Genesis. After leaving Genesis in 1975, Gabriel launched a successful solo career with "Solsbury Hill" as his first single. His 1986 album, So, is his best-selling release and is certified triple platinum in the UK and five times platinum in the U.S. The album's most successful single, "Sledgehammer", won a record nine MTV Awards at the 1987 MTV Video Music Awards.

    Gabriel has been a champion of world music for much of his career. He co-founded the WOMAD festival in 1982. He has continued to focus on producing and promoting world music through his Real World Records label. He has also pioneered digital distribution methods for music, co-founding OD2, one of the first online music download services.[12] Gabriel has also been involved in numerous humanitarian efforts. In 1980, he released the anti-apartheid single "Biko". He has participated in several human rights benefit concerts, including Amnesty International's Human Rights Now! tour in 1988, and co-founded the Witness human rights organisation in 1992. Gabriel developed The Elders with Richard Branson, which was launched by Nelson Mandela in 2007.

    Gabriel has won three Brit Awards—winning Best British Male in 1987, six Grammy Awards, thirteen MTV Video Music Awards, the first Pioneer Award at the BT Digital Music Awards, the Q magazine Lifetime Achievement, the Ivor Novello Award for Lifetime Achievement, and the Polar Music Prize. He was made a BMI Icon at the 57th annual BMI London Awards for his "influence on generations of music makers".

    In recognition of his many years of human rights activism, he received the Man of Peace award from the Nobel Peace Prize laureates, and Time magazine named him one of the 100 most influential people in the world. AllMusic has described Gabriel as "one of rock's most ambitious, innovative musicians, as well as one of its most political". He was inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame as a member of Genesis in 2010, followed by his induction as a solo artist in 2014. In March 2015, he was awarded an honorary doctorate from the University of South Australia in recognition of his achievements in music.

    Peter Gabriel is the second solo album by the British singer-songwriter Peter Gabriel, released in 1978. The album is the second of four with the same eponymous title. Guitarist Robert Fripp served as producer, whose influence on the album is evident in the use of Frippertronics on the track "Exposure." The album did not sell as well as the first Peter Gabriel, but reached #10 on the UK charts. "Mother of Violence" was written by Peter and his first wife Jill Gabriel.

    This album is often referred to as Scratch, referring to the album cover by Hipgnosis.

    This album was originally intended as part of a loose trilogy with Robert Fripp's Exposure and Daryl Hall's Sacred Songs (all three albums were produced by Fripp).

    Track listing

    All songs written by Peter Gabriel, except where indicated.

    Side One

    1. "On the Air" – 5:30
    2. "D.I.Y." – 2:37
    3. "Mother of Violence" (Peter Gabriel, Jill Gabriel) – 3:10
    4. "A Wonderful Day in a One-Way World" – 3:33
    5. "White Shadow" – 5:14*

    Side Two

    1. "Indigo" – 3:30
    2. "Animal Magic" – 3:26
    3. "Exposure" (Peter Gabriel, Robert Fripp) – 4:12
    4. "Flotsam and Jetsam" – 2:17
    5. "Perspective" – 3:23+
    6. "Home Sweet Home" – 4:37


    • Peter Gabriel – vocals; organ on 11; piano on 2; synthesizer on 5, 7
    • Tony Levin – bass guitar on 1, 5, 7, 8, 10, 11; Chapman stick on 2, 4, 9; string bass on 6; recorder arrangements on 6, 9; backing vocals on 1, 4, 7, 10, 11
    • Sid McGinnis – electric guitar on 1, 4, 8, 9, 10, 11; acoustic guitar on 2, 3; steel guitar on 3, 4, 5, 6, 9, 11; mandolin on 2; backing vocals on 7
    • Larry Fast – synthesizer and treatments on 1, 2, 5, 7, 10
    • Robert Fripp – electric guitar on 1, 3, 5, 10; acoustic guitar on 5; Frippertronics on 8
    • Bayete – keyboards on 2, 4, 6, 7
    • Roy Bittan – keyboards on 1, 3, 5, 6, 10, 11
    • Jerry Marotta – drums on all except 3; backing vocals on 1, 4, 10, 11
    • Tim Capello – saxophone on 10, 11
    • George Marge – recorders on 6, 8, 9
    • John Tims – insects on 3

    Write a review

    Note: HTML is not translated!
        Bad           Good


    • Product Code: CDS4013
    • Availability: In Stock
    • £8.99

    • Ex Tax: £8.99