• Peter Gabriel - 4th album Security
    (Charisma Records  1982  PG4)
    Matrix No's: A3/B3 -UK Pressing

    Sleeve in Nr MINT condition
    Inner Sleeve has a 4 inch split in the bottom

    Vinyl in Nr MINT condition
    (there are some surface marks visible on the vinyl when held up to the light but they don't affect the sound quality)

    Peter Brian Gabriel (born 13 February 1950) is an English singer-songwriter, record producer and humanitarian who rose to fame as the original lead singer and flautist of the progressive rock band Genesis. After leaving Genesis in 1975, Gabriel launched a successful solo career with "Solsbury Hill" as his first single. His 1986 album, So, is his best-selling release and is certified triple platinum in the UK and five times platinum in the U.S. The album's most successful single, "Sledgehammer", won a record nine MTV Awards at the 1987 MTV Video Music Awards.

    Gabriel has been a champion of world music for much of his career. He co-founded the WOMAD festival in 1982. He has continued to focus on producing and promoting world music through his Real World Records label. He has also pioneered digital distribution methods for music, co-founding OD2, one of the first online music download services.[12] Gabriel has also been involved in numerous humanitarian efforts. In 1980, he released the anti-apartheid single "Biko". He has participated in several human rights benefit concerts, including Amnesty International's Human Rights Now! tour in 1988, and co-founded the Witness human rights organisation in 1992. Gabriel developed The Elders with Richard Branson, which was launched by Nelson Mandela in 2007.

    Gabriel has won three Brit Awards—winning Best British Male in 1987, six Grammy Awards, thirteen MTV Video Music Awards, the first Pioneer Award at the BT Digital Music Awards, the Q magazine Lifetime Achievement, the Ivor Novello Award for Lifetime Achievement, and the Polar Music Prize. He was made a BMI Icon at the 57th annual BMI London Awards for his "influence on generations of music makers".

    In recognition of his many years of human rights activism, he received the Man of Peace award from the Nobel Peace Prize laureates, and Time magazine named him one of the 100 most influential people in the world. AllMusic has described Gabriel as "one of rock's most ambitious, innovative musicians, as well as one of its most political". He was inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame as a member of Genesis in 2010, followed by his induction as a solo artist in 2014. In March 2015, he was awarded an honorary doctorate from the University of South Australia in recognition of his achievements in music.

    Peter Gabriel is the fourth album released by the British musician Peter Gabriel. This album was originally released as Gabriel's fourth eponymous album, but was released in the United States as Security, Gabriel's first album with Geffen Records in the US and Canada.

    Track listing

    All songs written by Peter Gabriel.

    Side One

    1. "The Rhythm of the Heat" – 5:15
    2. "San Jacinto" – 6:21
    3. "I Have the Touch" – 4:30
    4. "The Family and the Fishing Net" – 7:08

    Side Two

    1. "Shock the Monkey" – 5:23
    2. "Lay Your Hands on Me" – 6:03
    3. "Wallflower" – 6:30
    4. "Kiss of Life" – 4:17


    • Peter Gabriel – vocals, keyboards
    • Tony Levin – bass, stick
    • David Rhodes – guitar
    • Jerry Marotta – drums, percussion
    • Larry Fast – synthesizers

    Additional personnel

    • John Ellis – bass vocals on tracks 1, 3, 8, guitar on tracks 2, 4
    • Roberto Laneri – treated saxophone on track 4
    • Morris Pert – timbales on track 6, percussion on track 8
    • Stephen Paine – Fairlight CMI on track 4
    • David Lord – synthesizers on tracks 6, 7, piano on tracks 7, 8
    • Peter Hammill – backing vocals on tracks 4, 5, 6
    • Jill Gabriel – bass vocals on track 2
    • Ekome Dance Company – Ghanaian drums on track 1
    • Simon Phillips – Drums on track 3
    • Chris Hughes – Linn LM-1 programming on track 5

    Write a review

    Note: HTML is not translated!
        Bad           Good


    • Product Code: PG4
    • Availability: In Stock
    • £11.99

    • Ex Tax: £11.99