• Gong - Angels Egg (Radio Gnome 2)
    (Virgin Records  1973/8  V2007  Blue Virgin Labels with 2 Virgins at bottom)
    Matrix No's: A4/B5 - UK Pressing

    Sleeve in Excellent condition
    - some wear to edges and some light ringwear
    Inner Sleeve has some Gong-related drawings

    Vinyl in Nr MINT condition

    (there are some surface marks visible on the vinyl when held up to the light but they don't affect the sound quality)

    Gong is an international psychedelic rock band known for incorporating elements of jazz and space rock into its musical style. The group was formed in Paris in 1967 by Australian musician Daevid Allen and English vocalist Gilli Smyth. Notable band members have included Didier Malherbe, Pip Pyle, Steve Hillage, Mike Howlett, Pierre Moerlen, Bill Laswell and Theo Travis. Others who have played on stage with Gong include Don Cherry, Chris Cutler, Bill Bruford, Brian Davison, Dave Stewart and Tatsuya Yoshida.

    Gong released its debut album, Magick Brother, in 1970, which featured a psychedelic pop sound. By the following year, the second album, Camembert Electrique, featured the more psychedelic rock/space rock sound with which they would be most associated. Between 1973 and 1974, Gong released their best known work, the allegorical Radio Gnome Invisible trilogy, describing the adventures of Zero the Hero, the Good Witch Yoni and the Pot Head Pixies from the Planet Gong.

    In 1975, Daevid Allen & Gilli Smyth left the band, which continued without them, releasing a series of jazz rock albums under the leadership of drummer Pierre Moerlen. This incarnation of the band became known as Pierre Moerlen's Gong. Meanwhile, Smyth formed Mother Gong while Allen initiated a series of spin-off groups, including Planet Gong, New York Gong and Gongmaison, before returning to lead Gong once again in 1990 until his death in 2015. With Allen's encouragement, the band decided to continue and released the album Rejoice! I'm Dead! on 16 September 2016.

    Angels Egg is an album by Gong, recorded and originally released on Virgin Records in 1973.

    It was recorded using the Manor Mobile at Pavillon du Hay, France, and mixed at The Manor, Oxfordshire, England. The album was produced by Gong under the direction of Giorgio Gomelsky.

    Angels Egg is the second in Gong's Radio Gnome Invisible trilogy of albums, following Flying Teapot and preceding You. The trilogy forms a central part of the Gong mythology. The original album did not have an apostrophe in the title.

    The original vinyl edition came with a booklet containing an extensive explanation of the mythology, including lyrics, a glossary of terms, and profiles of characters in the story and band members. This edition also had a gatefold cover (omitted in later pressings), a plain inky blue innersleeve to match the gatefold and booklet, and had the original black and white Virgin label that was discontinued after 1973; it was one of the last albums to use the original label. Some copies had a sticker over top of the female nude in the moon on the cover.

    The CD version released by Virgin Records, and later reissued on Charly Records contains an extra track: "Ooby-Scooby Doomsday or The D-day DJ's Got the D.D.T. Blues", that ends with a male voice choir glissando (questionably regarded by some as a parody on Pink Floyd's "Echoes"), starting with "Ahhhh" and ending with "Chooo", mimicking a sneeze. The track was originally released on the Live Etc. album but was excluded from the CD release (which reissued that double album as one disc), and included on this album instead.

    Track listing

    Unusual spellings are as listed on the cover of the original edition.

    Side one (Yin / Side of the Goddess)
    1. "Other Side of the Sky" (Tim Blake, Daevid Allen) – 7:38
    2. "Sold to the Highest Buddha" (Mike Howlett, Allen) – 3:10
    3. "Castle in the Clouds" (Steve Hillage) – 1:13
    4. "Prostitute Poem" (Gilli Smyth, Hillage) – 6:05
    5. "Givin My Luv to You" (Allen) – 0:42
    6. "Selene" (Allen) – 3:42
    Side two (Yang / Side of the Fun Gods / The Masculung Side)
    1. "Flute Salad" (Didier Malherbe) – 2:46
    2. "Oily Way" (Allen, Malherbe) – 3:01
    3. "Outer Temple" (Blake, Hillage) – 1:09
    4. "Inner Temple" (Allen, Malherbe) – 3:21
    5. "Percolations" (Pierre Moerlen) – 0:40
    6. "Love is How U Make It" (Moerlen, Allen) – 3:25
    7. "I Niver Glid Before" (Hillage) – 5:37
    8. "Eat That Phone Book Coda" (Malherbe) – 3:10


    Note: Pseudonyms and absurd instrument names selected by Daevid Allen are used on the album credits; real names are used in composer credits, and are shown in brackets.

    • Bloomdido Bad De Grass (Didier Malherbe) – ten/sop sax, floot, bi-focal vocal
    • Shakti Yoni (Gilli Smyth) – space whisper, loin cackle
    • T. Being esq. (Mike Howlett, spelled Howlitt on composer credits) – basso profundo
    • Sub. Capt. Hillage (Steve Hillage) – lewd guitar
    • Hi T. Moonweed (the favourite) (Tim Blake) – Cynthia "size a", lady voce
    • Pierre de Strasbourg (Pierre Moerlen, spelled Moerlin on composer credits) – bread & batteur drums, vibes, marimba
    • Mirielle de Strasbourg (Mireille Bauer) – glockenspiel
    • Dingo Virgin (Daevid Allen) – local vocals, aluminium croon, glissando guitar

    Write a review

    Note: HTML is not translated!
        Bad           Good


    • Product Code: V2007
    • Availability: In Stock
    • £30.99

    • Ex Tax: £30.99