1 in stock


Adam Ant – Friend Or Foe
(CBS Records  1982  25040)
Matrix No’s: A1/B6 – UK Pressing

Vinyl in Nr MINT condition
(there are a few light surface marks visible on the vinyl when held up to the light but they don’t affect the sound quality)

Sleeve & Inner Sleeve in Nr MINT condition

Adam Ant (born Stuart Leslie Goddard; 3 November 1954) is an English singer and musician. He gained popularity as the lead singer of new wave group Adam and the Ants and later as a solo artist, scoring 10 UK top ten hits from 1980 to 1983, including three UK No. 1 singles. He has also worked as an actor, appearing in over two dozen films and television episodes from 1985 to 2003.

Since 2010, Ant has undertaken an intense reactivation of his musical career, performing live regularly in his hometown of London and beyond, recording and releasing a new album and completing six full-length UK national tours, four US national tours, and two Australian tours and with a fifth US tour scheduled and a further album completed and awaiting release.

Friend or Foe is the debut solo album by Adam Ant, released in July 1982 by Columbia Records. The album peaked at number 5 in the UK, Adam Ant’s highest charting solo album.

Following the disbandment of the successful Adam and the Ants earlier in 1982, Adam Ant began a solo career, with fellow ‘Ant’, guitarist and songwriter Marco Pirroni.

Like their previous band, who had achieved in two years, 7 top 10 hits (2 at No.1), in the UK Singles chart and the best-selling album of 1980 (Kings of the Wild Frontier) Ant’s debut single “Goody Two-Shoes“, was a smash hit. The single reached No.1 in the UK and Australia in June 1982, and No.12 in the US, (Ant’s 1st US hit single). “Friend or Foe” the single, was released 1 month prior to the album in September 1982 and was another top 10 hit in the UK, making it to No. 9.

The album Friend or Foe, was released in October 1982 and reached No. 5 on the UK Albums Chart and No. 16 on the US Billboard Album Chart, becoming Adam Ant’s most successful solo album, and was certified Gold by the BPI for sales in excess of 100,000 copies. In addition to “Goody Two-Shoes” & “Friend or Foe”, the album included another hit single: and “Desperate But Not Serious” (UK No. 33 / US No. 66).

Track listing

All tracks written by Adam Ant and Marco Pirroni, except “Hello, I Love You”, written by the Doors.

Side A
No. Title Length
1. “Friend or Foe” 3:22
2. “Something Girls” 3:52
3. “Place in the Country” 2:50
4. “Desperate But Not Serious” 4:14
5. “Here Comes the Grump” 3:35
6. “Hello, I Love You” (originally recorded by The Doors) 2:37
Side B
No. Title Length
1. “Goody Two Shoes” 3:28
2. “Crackpot History and the Right to Lie” 2:44
3. “Made of Money” 3:28
4. “Cajun Twisters” 2:56
5. “Try This for Sighs” 3:03
6. “Man Called Marco” 3:27


  • Adam Ant – vocals, bass guitar, production
  • Marco Pirroni – guitar, production
  • Bogdan Wiczling – drums, percussion
  • Martin Drover – trumpet, flugelhorn
  • Jeff Daly – saxophone
  • Jude Kelly – vocals on “Desperate But Not Serious”
  • Sam Brown, Sonia Jones, Vicki Brown – backing vocals on “Hello I Love You”
  • Alan Douglas – engineer
  • Allan Ballard – front cover photography
Weight 1.00000000 kg


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “ADAM ANT – FRIEND OR FOE LP – Nr MINT A1 UK NEW WAVE PUNK”
Back to Top