1 in stock


Buzzcocks – Love Bites
(United Artists Records  1978  UAG30197)
Matrix No’s: A1/B1 – UK Pressing

Vinyl in Nr MINT condition
(there are a few surface marks visible on the vinyl when held up to the light but they don’t affect the sound quality)

Embossed Sleeve in Excellent+ condition
– some ringwear & some light rubbing
Insert in Nr MINT condition

Buzzcocks are an English punk rock band, formed in Bolton in 1976 by singer-songwriter-guitarist Pete Shelley and singer-songwriter Howard Devoto.

They are regarded as an important influence on the Manchester music scene, the independent record label movement, punk rock, power pop, pop punk and indie rock. They achieved commercial success with singles that fused pop craftsmanship with rapid-fire punk energy. These singles were collected on Singles Going Steady, described by critic Ned Raggett as a “punk masterpiece”.

Devoto and Shelley chose the name “Buzzcocks” after reading the headline, “It’s the buzz, cocks!”, in a review of the TV series Rock Follies in Time Out magazine. The “buzz” is the excitement of playing on stage; “cock” is Manchester slang meaning “mate” (as in friend/buddy). They thought it captured the excitement of the Sex Pistols and nascent punk scene.

Love Bites is the second studio album by English punk rock band Buzzcocks. It was released on 22 September 1978, through United Artists Records.

It peaked at number 13 on the UK Albums Chart at the time of its release.

Love Bites” was recorded and mixed by Buzzcocks with producer Martin Rushent over a two and a half week period, less than six months after the release of debut album Another Music in a Different Kitchen. “Late for the Train” was first played and recorded on John Peel’s Radio One show, along with bass player Steve Garvey’s instrumental “Walking Distance”.

Co-writing credits for Just Lust were given to Alan Dial, a pen-name for Buzzcocks’ then manager Richard Boon.

Nostalgia was also recorded by Newcastle band, Penetration, who in 1978 accompanied Buzzcocks on the “Entertaining Friends” tour of England.

Track listing

No. Title Writer(s) Length
1. “Real World” Pete Shelley 3:29
2. “Ever Fallen in Love (With Someone You Shouldn’t’ve)” Pete Shelley 2:40
3. “Operator’s Manual” Pete Shelley 3:30
4. “Nostalgia” Pete Shelley 2:51
5. “Just Lust” Pete Shelley, Alan Dial 2:57
6. “Sixteen Again” Pete Shelley 3:14
7. “Walking Distance” Steve Garvey 1:58
8. “Love Is Lies” Steve Diggle 3:10
9. “Nothing Left” Pete Shelley 4:23
10. “E. S. P.” Pete Shelley 4:39
11. “Late for the Train” Pete Shelley, Steve Diggle, John Maher, Steve Garvey 5:51


  • Pete Shelley – lead guitar, lead vocals (all but 8)
  • Steve Diggle – rhythm and acoustic guitars, backing and lead (8) vocals
  • Steve Garvey – bass guitar
  • John Maher – drums
Weight 1.00000000 kg


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “BUZZCOCKS – LOVE BITES LP – Nr MINT A1/B1 UK ORIG PUNK”
Back to Top