1 in stock


James Brown – Gravity
(Scotti Bros Records  1986  SCT57108)
Matrix No’s: A1/B1 – UK Pressing

Sleeve in Excellent condition
– sticker tear in top right corner

Vinyl in Nr MINT- condition
(there are some surface marks visible on the vinyl when held up to the light but they don’t affect the sound quality apart from some light pops/crackles)

James Joseph Brown, Jr. (May 3, 1933 – December 25, 2006) was an American recording artist and musician. One of the founding fathers of funk music and a major figure of 20th-century popular music and dance, he is often referred to as “The Godfather of Soul”. In a career that spanned six decades, Brown influenced the development of several music genres.

Brown began his career as a gospel singer in Toccoa, Georgia. Joining an R&B vocal group called the Avons that later evolved to become The Famous Flames, Brown served as the group’s lead singer. First coming to national public attention in the late 1950s as a member of The Flames with the ballads “Please, Please, Please” and “Try Me”, Brown built a reputation as a tireless live performer with the singing group The Famous Flames and his backing band, sometimes known as the James Brown Band or the James Brown Orchestra. Brown’s success peaked in the 1960s with the live album Live at the Apollo and hit singles such as “Papa’s Got a Brand New Bag”, “I Got You” and “It’s a Man’s Man’s Man’s World”. During the late 1960s, Brown moved from a continuum of blues and gospel-based forms and styles to a profoundly “Africanized” approach to music-making that influenced the development of funk music. By the early 1970s, Brown had fully established the funk sound after the formation of The J.B.’s with records such as “Get Up (I Feel Like Being a) Sex Machine” and “The Payback”. Brown also became notable for songs of social commentary, including the 1968 hit “Say It Loud – I’m Black and I’m Proud“. Brown continued to perform and record for the duration of his life until his death in 2006 from congestive heart failure.

Brown recorded 16 number-one singles on the Billboard R&B charts. Brown also holds the record as the artist to have charted the most singles on the Billboard Hot 100 which did not reach number one on that chart. Brown was honored by many institutions including inductions into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and Songwriters Hall of Fame. In Joel Whitburn’s analysis of the Billboard R&B charts from 1942 to 2010, Hot R&B Songs, James Brown is ranked as number one in The Top 500 Artists. Brown is ranked seventh on the music magazine Rolling Stone’s list of its 100 greatest artists of all time.

Gravity is the 53rd studio album by American musician James Brown. The album was released on September 15, 1986, by Scotti Bros. Records. It was largely written and produced by Dan Hartman and Charlie Midnight, the authors of the album’s previously released hit single “Living in America”, which had reached #4 on the Billboard Hot 100 and was prominently featured in the film Rocky IV. It was Brown’s first album for the Scotti Brothers record label.

The album’s title track became a minor hit on both the pop and R&B charts, while the tango-based slow jam “How Do You Stop” cracked the R&B top ten. The album track “Turn Me Loose, I’m Dr Feelgood” was used as the theme song for the Australian TV sketch comedy series The Late Show (1992–93) and is often played by Major League Baseball’s Philadelphia Phillies when one of their batters hits a home run at Citizens Bank Park.

Track listing

No. Title Writer(s) Length
1. “Gravity” Dan Hartman, Charlie Midnight 5:58
2. “Let’s Get Personal” Hartman, Midnight, Alison Moyet 4:29
3. “How Do You Stop” Hartman, Midnight 4:49
4. “Turn Me Loose, I’m Dr. Feelgood” Hartman, Midnight 3:09
5. “Living in America” Hartman, Midnight 6:00
6. “Goliath” Hartman, Midnight 6:14
7. “Repeat the Beat (Faith)” Hartman, Midnight 4:20
8. “Return to Me” Hartman, Midnight 4:39


  • James Brown: All Main Vocals, Organ solo on track 8
  • Steve Winwood: Synthesizers (listed in liner notes as “Lead & Backing Synthesizer”) on track 3
  • Dan Hartman: Guitars, Keyboards, Programming, Background vocals, Fairlight Programming (listed as “Eddie Fairlight III”), All instruments except drums & horns on track 7 “Repeat the Beat (Faith)”
  • Stevie Ray Vaughan: Guitars on track 5
  • T. M. Stevens: Bass (on all tracks except 7), Background vocals
  • Ray Marchica, Art Wood, George Recile: Drums, Percussion
  • Trazi Williams: Congas
  • The Uptown Horns (Arno Hecht, Bob Funk, Crispin Cioe, “Hollywood” Paul Litteral): All Brass Instruments
  • Maceo Parker- alto saxophone
  • Alison Moyet: Ad-Libs/vocal trade-offs & Background vocals
  • Charlie Midnight, Gail Boggs: Background vocals
  • Chris Lord-Alge – mixing


Weight 1.00000000 kg


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “JAMES BROWN – GRAVITY LP – Nr MINT- A1/B1 UK FUNK SOUL”
Back to Top