1 in stock


John Martyn – Sapphire
(Island Records  1984  ILPS9779)
Matrix No’s: A5/B4 – UK Pressing

Vinyl in Nr MINT condition
(there are some surface marks visible on the vinyl when held up to the light but they don’t affect the sound quality)

Sleeve in Excellent+/Nr MINT condition
– some light foxing/discolouration

John Martyn, OBE (11 September 1948 – 29 January 2009) (born Iain David McGeachy) was a British singer-songwriter and guitarist. Over a 40 year career he released 21 studio albums, working with artists such as Eric Clapton and David Gilmour. He has been described by The Times as “an electrifying guitarist and singer whose music blurred the boundaries between folk, jazz, rock and blues”.

Sapphire is a rock album by John Martyn, who by this stage in his career had almost entirely abandoned the acoustic guitar and folk approach in favour of a glossy pop/rock sound.

Recorded at Compass Point Studios, Nassau, Bahamas and CaVa Sound Workshops, Glasgow, Scotland, the album was originally released on LP by Island, catalogue number ILPS 9779, with cover photography by Anton Corbijn and a cover illustration by Cathie Felstead.

Robert Palmer assisted in the later stages of the recording.

Track listing

All tracks composed by John Martyn except where indicated.

  1. “Sapphire” 4:42
  2. Over The Rainbow” (Harold Arlen, Yip Harburg) 3:21
  3. “You Know” 3:14
  4. “Watching Her Eyes” 3:15
  5. “Fisherman’s Dream” 4:16
  6. “Acid Rain” (Martyn, Alan Thomson) 4:11
  7. “Mad Dog Days” (Martyn, Alan Thomson) 4:59
  8. “Climb The Walls” 4:14
  9. “Coming In On Time” 3:34
  10. “Rope-Soul’d” (Martyn, Alan Thomson, Barry Reynolds) 4:46


  • John Martyn – guitars, vocals, Linn drums
  • Barry Reynolds – guitar
  • Alan Thomson – bass guitar, keyboards, Linn drums
  • Jack Waldman – keyboards
  • Jim Prime – keyboards
  • Robin Rankin – keyboards
  • James Hooker – keyboards
  • Steven Stanley – Linn drums
  • Andy Lyden – Linn drums
  • Uziah “Sticky” Thompson – percussion
  • Colin Tully – saxophones
  • Morwenne Laidlaw – vocal harmonies
  • Terry Neason – vocal harmonies
  • Lorna Brooks – vocal harmonies
  • Anton Corbijn – photography

Choral section by S.N.O. arranged by Dave Murricane.

Weight 1.00000000 kg


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “JOHN MARTYN – SAPPHIRE LP – Nr MINT UK”
Back to Top