1 in stock


Lindisfarne – Fog On The Tyne
(Charisma Records  1971  CAS1050)
Matrix No’s: A1/B1 – UK Pressing
“Porky/Peckie” in dead wax
B&C Records credit on label

EJ Day Textured Gatefold Sleeve in Nr MINT condition
– a little wear to edges/corners

Vinyl in Nr MINT condition
(there are some surface marks visible on the vinyl when held up to the light but they don’t affect the sound quality)

Lindisfarne were a British folk/rock group from Newcastle upon Tyne established in 1970 (originally called Brethren) and fronted by singer/songwriter Alan Hull. Their music combined a strong sense of yearning with an even stronger sense of fun. The original line-up comprised Alan Hull (vocals, guitar, piano), Ray Jackson (vocals, mandolin, harmonica), Simon Cowe (guitar, mandolin, banjo), Rod Clements (bass guitar, violin) and Ray Laidlaw (drums).

They are best known for the albums Nicely Out of Tune (1970), Fog on the Tyne (1971) and Back and Fourth (1978), also for the success of songs such as “Meet Me On The Corner”, “Lady Eleanor”, “Run For Home” and “We Can Swing Together”.

Fog on the Tyne is a 1971 album by English rock band Lindisfarne. Bob Johnston produced the album, which was recorded at Trident Studios in the summer of 1971. It was released on Charisma Records in Great Britain and Elektra Records in America.

It gave the group their breakthrough in the UK, topping the album charts early in 1972 for four weeks and remaining on the chart for 56 weeks in total. “Meet Me on the Corner”, one of two songs written by bassist Rod Clements, reached No. 5 as a single. The title track became the band’s signature tune. Simon Cowe made his debut as a writer, contributing the song “Uncle Sam”.

Both tracks on the B-side of “Meet Me on the Corner”, “Scotch Mist” (an instrumental), and “No Time To Lose”, appeared as bonus tracks when the album was reissued on CD.

A heavily reworked version of the title track with vocals by footballer Paul Gascoigne was released in October 1990 under the title “Fog on the Tyne (Revisited)”, credited to Gazza and Lindisfarne. It reached number two in the UK Singles Chart.

Reggae group The Pioneers recorded a version of “Alright on the Night” on their 1972 album “I Believe in Love”.

Track listing

  1. “Meet Me on the Corner” (Clements) – 2:38
  2. “Alright on the Night” (Hull) – 3:32
  3. “Uncle Sam” (Cowe) – 2:55
  4. “Together Forever” (Rab Noakes) – 2:34
  5. “January Song” (Hull) – 4:13
  6. “Peter Brophy Don’t Care” (Hull, Terry Morgan) – 2:47
  7. “City Song” (Hull) – 3:06
  8. “Passing Ghosts” (Hull) – 2:28
  9. “Train in G Major” (Clements) – 3:08
  10. “Fog on the Tyne” (Hull) – 3:23


  • Alan Hull – vocals, acoustic, electric and 12-string guitars, keyboards
  • Ray Jackson – vocals, mandolin, harmonica
  • Rod Clements – electric bass, acoustic, electric and 12-string guitars, violin
  • Simon Cowe – lead, acoustic and 12-string guitars, mandolin, vocals
  • Ray Laidlaw – drums
  • Ken Scott – engineer
  • Trevor and Franco – sleeve
Weight 1.00000000 kg


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “LINDISFARNE – FOG ON THE TYNE LP – Nr MINT A1/B1 UK B&C 1971 ORIG”
Back to Top