1 in stock


New Order – Substance 1987
(Factory Records  1987  FACT200)
Matrix No’s: A1/B1/C1/D1 – UK Pressing

Double Vinyl in Nr MINT/Excellent+ condition
(there are some surface marks visible on the vinyl when held up to the light but they don’t affect the sound quality apart from some light pops/crackles)

Embossed Sleeve in Excellent+ condition
– a little rubbing wear, light ringwear
Inner Sleeves in Nr MINT condition

New Order are an English rock band formed in 1980. The band currently consists of Bernard Sumner, Stephen Morris, Gillian Gilbert, Phil Cunningham and Tom Chapman. The band was formed in 1980 by Sumner (vocals, guitars, keyboards and synthesisers), Peter Hook (bass and vocals) and Morris (drums, electronic drums, keyboards and synthesisers) – the remaining members of Joy Division, following the suicide of vocalist Ian Curtis – with the addition of Gilbert (keyboards, synthesisers and guitars).

By combining post-punk and electronic dance music, New Order became one of the most critically acclaimed and influential bands of the 1980s. Though the band’s early years were shadowed by the legacy and basic sound of Joy Division, their experience of the early 1980s New York City club scene increased their knowledge of dance music and helped them incorporate elements of that style into their work. The band’s 1983 hit “Blue Monday”, the best-selling 12-inch single of all time, is one example of how the band transformed their sound.

New Order were the flagship band for Manchester-based independent record label Factory Records. Their minimalist album sleeves and “non-image” (the band rarely gave interviews and were known for performing short concert sets with no encores) reflected the label’s aesthetic of doing whatever the relevant parties wanted to do, including an aversion to including singles as album tracks.

In 1993 the band broke up amidst tension between the band members, but reformed in 1998. In 2001, Cunningham (guitars, keyboards and synthesisers) replaced Gilbert, who left the group due to family commitments. In 2007, Peter Hook left the band and the band broke up again, with Sumner stating in 2009 that he no longer wishes to make music as New Order. The band reunited in 2011 without Hook, with Gilbert returning to the fold and Chapman replacing Hook on bass. During the band’s career and in between lengthy breaks, band members have been involved in several solo projects, such as Sumner’s Electronic and Bad Lieutenant; Hook’s Monaco and Revenge and Gilbert and Morris’ The Other Two. Cunningham was previously a member of Marion and with Sumner and Chapman was a member of Bad Lieutenant.

Substance (also known as Substance 1987) is a compilation album by English alternative dance band New Order, released in August 1987 by Factory Records. It compiles all of the band’s singles at that point in their 12-inch versions, along with their respective B-side tracks. The then-newly released non-album single “True Faith” is also featured, along with its B-side “1963“.

Substance was released on vinyl, double CD, double cassette and Digital Audio Tape. It sold over one million copies and became New Order’s most popular and critically-acclaimed album.

Track listings

LP version

All songs written and composed by New Order (Peter Hook, Gillian Gilbert, Stephen Morris and Bernard Sumner), except where indicated.

Side one
No. Title Writer(s) Length
1. “Ceremony” Joy Division 4:23
2. “Everything’s Gone Green” 5:30
3. “Temptation” 6:59
Side two
No. Title Writer(s) Length
4. “Blue Monday” 7:29
5. “Confusion” New Order, Arthur Baker 4:43
6. “Thieves Like Us” New Order, Arthur Baker 6:36
Side three
No. Title Writer(s) Length
7. “The Perfect Kiss” 8:46
8. “Sub-culture” 4:48
9. “Shellshock” New Order, John Robie 6:28
Side four
No. Title Writer(s) Length
10. “State of the Nation” 6:32
11. “Bizarre Love Triangle” 6:44
12. “True Faith” New Order, Stephen Hague 5:55


Weight 2.00000000 kg


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “NEW ORDER – SUBSTANCE 1987 2LP – Nr MINT/EXC+ A1 UK INDIE JOY DIVISION”
Back to Top