1 in stock


Talking Heads – Naked
(EMI Records  1988  EMD1005)
Matrix No’s: A1/B1 – UK Pressing

Sleeve in Nr MINT condition
Inner Sleeve in Nr MINT condition
Insert in Nr MINT condition

Vinyl in Nr MINT condition
(there are some surface marks visible on the vinyl when held up to the light but they don’t affect the sound quality)

Talking Heads were an American new wave and avant-garde band formed in 1975 in New York City and active until 1991. The band comprised David Byrne (lead vocals and guitar), Chris Frantz (drums and backing vocals), Tina Weymouth (bass and backing vocals) and Jerry Harrison (keyboards, guitar, and backing vocals). Auxiliary musicians also regularly made appearances in concert and on the group’s albums. The new wave style of Talking Heads combined elements of punk rock, art rock, avant-garde, pop, funk, world music, and Americana. Frontman and songwriter David Byrne contributed whimsical, esoteric lyrics to the band’s songs, and emphasized their showmanship through various multimedia projects and performances.

Critic Stephen Thomas Erlewine describes Talking Heads as being “one of the most critically acclaimed bands of the ’80s, while managing to earn several pop hits.” In 2002, the band was inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame. Four of the band’s albums appeared on Rolling Stone magazine’s 2003 list of the 500 Greatest Albums of All Time, and the Channel 4 100 Greatest Albums poll listed one album (Fear of Music) at number 76. On a 2011 update of Rolling Stone’s “100 Greatest Artists of All Time”, the band was ranked at No. 100.

Naked is the eighth and final studio album by Talking Heads, released in 1988. The band dissolved shortly after the album’s release, finally announcing their breakup in 1991.

Track listing

All lyrics written by David Byrne; all music composed by David Byrne, Chris Frantz, Jerry Harrison and Tina Weymouth.

  1. “Blind” – 4:58
  2. “Mr. Jones” – 4:18
  3. “Totally Nude” – 4:10
  4. “Ruby Dear” – 3:48
  5. “(Nothing But) Flowers” – 5:31
  6. “The Democratic Circus” – 5:01
  7. “The Facts of Life” – 6:25
  8. “Mommy Daddy You and I” – 3:58
  9. “Big Daddy” – 5:37
  10. “Cool Water” – 5:10


Talking Heads

  • David Byrne – vocals, guitar, keyboards, toy piano, slide guitar
  • Chris Frantz – drums, keyboard percussion
  • Jerry Harrison – french piano, keyboards, tambourine, guitar, slide guitar, backing vocals
  • Tina Weymouth – bass, keyboards, electric organ, backing vocals

Additional musicians

  • Johnny Marr – guitars on “Ruby Dear”, “(Nothing But) Flowers”, “Mommy Daddy You and I”, and “Cool Water”
  • Brice Wassy – percussion on “Ruby Dear”, “(Nothing But) Flowers”, “The Facts of Life”, and “Big Daddy”
  • Abdou M’Boup – percussion, talking drum, congas, cowbell on “Blind”, “Mr. Jones”, “Totally Nude”, and “(Nothing But) Flowers”
  • Yves N’Djock – guitar on “Blind”, “Totally Nude”, and “(Nothing But) Flowers”
  • Eric Weissberg – pedal steel guitar on “Totally Nude” and “Bill”, dobro on “The Democratic Circus”
  • Mory Kanté – kora on “Mr. Jones” and “The Facts of Life”
  • Wally Badarou – keyboard on “Blind” and “The Facts of Life”
  • Manolo Badrena – percussion, congas on “Mr. Jones” and “Mommy Daddy You and I”
  • Sydney Thiam – congas on “The Democratic Circus”, percussion on “Bill”
  • Lenny Pickett– saxophones on “Blind” and “Big Daddy”
  • Steve Elson – saxophones on “Blind” and “Big Daddy”
  • Robin Eubanks – trombone on “Blind” and “Big Daddy”, “Mr. Jones”
  • Laurie Frink and Earl Gardner – trumpets on “Blind” and “Big Daddy”
  • Stan Harrison – alto saxophone on “Blind” and “Big Daddy”
  • Al Acosta – tenor saxophone on “Mr. Jones”
  • Steve Gluzband – trumpet on “Mr. Jones”
  • Jose Jerez – trumpet on “Mr. Jones”
  • Bobby Porcelli – alto saxophone on “Mr. Jones”
  • Steve Sachs – baritone saxophone on “Mr. Jones”
  • Charlie Sepulveda – trumpet on “Mr. Jones”
  • Dale Turk – bass trombone on “Mr. Jones”
  • Moussa Cissokao – percussion on “Ruby Dear”
  • Nino Gioia – percussion on “The Facts of Life”
  • Philippe Servain – accordion on “Totally Nude”
  • James Fearnley – accordion on “Mommy Daddy You and I”
  • Phil Bodner – cor anglais on “Cool Water”
  • Don Brooks – harmonica on “Big Daddy”
  • Kirsty MacColl – backing vocals on “(Nothing But) Flowers” and “Bill”
  • Alex Haas – whistling on “Bill”

Recording personnel

  • Nick Delre – assistant overdubbing engineer; mixing on “Mommy Daddy You and I”
  • James Farber – mixing on “The Facts of Life”, “Totally Nude”, “The Democratic Circus”, “Big Daddy”, “Mr. Jones”
  • Fernando Kral – overdubbing engineer; mixing on “Cool Water”
  • Richard Manwaring – recording engineer
  • Jean Loup Morette – assistant engineer
  • Joseph Williams – assistant engineer
  • Jack Skinner – mastering
  • Mark Wallis – mixing on “Blind”, “The Democratic Circus”, “Ruby Dear”, “(Nothing But) Flowers”
Weight 1.00000000 kg


There are no reviews yet.

Back to Top