1 in stock


The Beach Boys – Summer Days (and Summer Nights!!)
(Capitol Records  1965  T2354  Mono)
UK Pressing

G&L Flipback Sleeve in Excellent condition
– front cover is great but back cover has some discolouration and a crossed out name in top right corner

Vinyl in Very Good+ condition
(there are quite a few surface marks visible on the vinyl which do give some light pops/crackles but sound quality is excellent overall)

The Beach Boys are an American rock band formed in Hawthorne, California, in 1961. The group’s original lineup consisted of brothers Brian, Dennis, and Carl Wilson; their cousin Mike Love; and their friend Al Jardine. Distinguished by their vocal harmonies and early surf songs, they are one of the most influential acts of the rock era. The group, led by their principal songwriter and producer Brian, pioneered novel approaches to popular music form and production, combining their affinities for jazz-based vocal groups, 1950s rock and roll, and black R&B to create their unique sound. He later arranged his compositions for studio orchestras and explored a variety of other styles, often incorporating classical or jazz elements and unconventional recording techniques in innovative ways.

The Beach Boys began as a garage band managed by the Wilsons’ father Murry, with Brian’s increasingly sophisticated songwriting and recording abilities dominating their creative direction. Emerging at the vanguard of the “California Sound”, they performed original material that reflected a southern California youth culture of surfing, cars, and romance. After 1964, they abandoned the surfing aesthetic for more personal lyrics and multi-layered sounds. In 1966, the Pet Sounds album and “Good Vibrations” single vaulted the group to the top level of rock innovators and established the band as symbols of the nascent counterculture era. Following the dissolution of the group’s Smile project in 1967, Brian gradually ceded production and songwriting duties to the rest of the band, reducing his input because of mental health and substance abuse issues. The group’s public image subsequently faltered, and despite efforts to continue their psychedelic/avant-garde ventures and reclaim their hippie audiences, they were dismissed as an embodiment of the values and outlooks shared by early 1960s white, suburban teenagers.

The continued success of their greatest hits albums during the mid 1970s precipitated the band’s transition into an oldies act, a move that was denigrated by critics and many fans. Since the 1980s, much-publicized legal wrangling over royalties, songwriting credits and use of the band’s name transpired. Dennis drowned in 1983 and Carl died of lung cancer in 1998. After Carl’s death, many live configurations of the band fronted by Mike Love and Bruce Johnston continued to tour into the 2000s while other members pursued solo projects. Even though Wilson and Jardine have not performed with Love and Johnston’s band since their one-off 2012 reunion tour, they remain a part of the Beach Boys’ corporation, Brother Records Inc.

The Beach Boys are one of the most critically acclaimed, commercially successful, and widely influential bands of all time. The group had over eighty songs chart worldwide, thirty-six of them US Top 40 hits (the most by an American rock band), four reaching number-one on the Billboard Hot 100 chart. The Beach Boys have sold in excess of 100 million records worldwide, making them one of the world’s best-selling bands of all time and are listed at No. 12 on Rolling Stone magazine’s 2004 list of the “100 Greatest Artists of All Time”. The core quintet of the three Wilsons, Love and Jardine were inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in 1988.

Summer Days (And Summer Nights!!) is the ninth studio album by American rock band The Beach Boys, released on July 5, 1965 on Capitol. The release was their second in 1965. Summer Days (And Summer Nights!!) peaked at number 2 in the US during a chart stay of 33 weeks. It reached number 4 in the UK in the summer of 1966. The album is noted for the Wall of Sound production and arrangements featured on the majority of the album’s backing tracks, now regarded as benchmarks for Brian Wilson’s growth as a songwriter-producer-arranger.

Track listing

All songs written and composed by Brian Wilson/Mike Love, except where noted. 

Side one  
No. Title Lead Vocals Length  
1. “The Girl from New York City”   Mike Love 1:54
2. “Amusement Parks U.S.A.”   Love/Brian Wilson 2:29
3. Then I Kissed Her(Phil Spector/Ellie Greenwich/Jeff Barry) Al Jardine 2:15
4. “Salt Lake City”   Love/B. Wilson 2:00
5. “Girl Don’t Tell Me” (B. Wilson) Carl Wilson 2:19
6. “Help Me, Rhonda”   Jardine 2:46
Side two  
No. Title Lead Vocals Length  
1. “California Girls”   Love/B.Wilson 2:38
2. “Let Him Run Wild”   B. Wilson 2:20
3. “You’re So Good to Me”   B. Wilson 2:14
4. “Summer Means New Love” (B. Wilson) instrumental 1:59
5. “I’m Bugged at My Ol’ Man” (B. Wilson) B. Wilson 2:17
6. “And Your Dream Comes True”   The Beach Boys 1:04


The Beach Boys
  • Al Jardine – lead, harmony and backing vocals; electric rhythm guitar; hand claps
  • Bruce Johnston – harmony and backing vocals; acoustic grand piano, hammond organ, celeste; hand claps
  • Mike Love – lead, harmony and backing vocals; hand claps
  • Brian Wilson – lead, harmony and backing vocals; bass guitar; acoustic upright piano; hammond organ; hand claps, timpani
  • Carl Wilson – lead, harmony and backing vocals; lead, rhythm, acoustic and twelve-string guitar; hand claps
  • Dennis Wilson – harmony and backing vocals; drums, tambourine, hand claps
Additional musicians and production staff
  • Israel Baker – violin
  • Arnold Belnick – violin
  • Hal Blaine – drums, timbales
  • Chuck Britz – sound engineer
  • Glen Campbell – electric guitar
  • Frank Capp – vibraphone
  • Roy Caton – trumpet
  • Jerry Cole – twelve-string guitar
  • Al de Lory – organ
  • Joseph DiFlore – viola
  • Steve Douglas – tenor saxophone
  • James Getzoff – violin
  • William Hinshaw – french horn
  • Harry Hyams – viola
  • Plas Johnson – tenor saxophone
  • Carol Kaye – electric bass guitar
  • Bernard Kundell – violin
  • Jay Migliorii – baritone saxophone
  • Leonard Malarsky – violin
  • Jack Nimitz – bass saxophone
  • Bill Pitman – electric guitar
  • Ray Pohlman – bass guitar
  • Lyle Ritz – upright bass
  • Howard Roberts – guitar
  • Leon Russell – piano
  • Billy Lee Riley – harmonica
  • Ralph Schaeffer – violin
  • Sid Sharp – violin
  • Billy Strange – rhythm guitar, ukulele; tambourine
  • Ron Swallow – tambourine
  • Tommy Tedesco – lead guitar
  • Julius Wechter – claves
  • Marilyn Wilson – harmony and backing vocals
  • Tibor Zelig – violin


Weight 1.00000000 kg


There are no reviews yet.

Back to Top