1 in stock


The Beat – What Is Beat?
(Go Feet Records 1983  BEAT6)
Matrix No’s: A1/B2/A1/B1

Sleeve in Nr MINT condition
– some slight wear to edges – Hype sticker top right

Double Vinyl in Nr MINT condition
(there are some surface marks visible on the vinyl when held up to the light but they don’t affect the sound quality apart from some light pops/crackles)

The Beat (known in North America as The English Beat and Australia as The British Beat) are a 2 Tone ska revival band founded in England in 1978. Their songs fuse ska, pop, soul, reggae and punk rock, and their lyrics deal with themes of love, unity and sociopolitical topics.

The Beat, consisting of Dave Wakeling (vocals, guitar), Ranking Roger (vocals), Andy Cox (guitar), David Steele (bass), Everett Morton (drums), and Saxa (saxophone), released three studio albums in the early 1980s: I Just Can’t Stop It (1980), Wha’ppen? (1981) and Special Beat Service (1982), and a string of singles, including “Mirror in the Bathroom”, “Too Nice To Talk To”, “Can’t Get Used To Losing You”, “Hands off She’s Mine” and “All Out To Get You”.

What Is Beat? – The Best of The Beat is a greatest hits album by the ska band The Beat released in 1983. The original vinyl release included an additional “free album” of extended remixes entitled Frebe. Several songs had previously only been released as singles and B-sides. These include “Too Nice to Talk to”, “March of the Swivelheads” and “Psychedelic Rockers”. In the U.K. these also include the A-side “Tears of a Clown” and “Ranking Full Stop”. “March of the Swivelheads” later appeared in the film Ferris Bueller’s Day Off. The song accompanies the film’s climax. The question of the album’s title was answered on the back of the original sleeve, “This is Beat!!”

Track listing

Side 1

  1. “Tears of a Clown” 2:38
  2. “Hands Off She’s Mine” 2:58
  3. “Mirror in the Bathroom” 3:07
  4. “Stand Down Margaret” 3:31
  5. “Doors of Your Heart” 2:59
  6. “Twist and Crawl” 2:33
  7. “Save It For Later” 3:35

Side 2

  1. “Too Nice to Talk To” 3:05
  2. “I Confess” 3:33
  3. “Best Friend” 3:04
  4. “Drowning” 3:33
  5. “Ackee 1 – 2 – 3” 3:07
  6. “Can’t Get Used to Losing You” 3:23
  7. “Ranking Full Stop” 2:46
Weight 1.00000000 kg


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “THE BEAT – WHAT IS BEAT LP – Nr MINT A1 SKA 2 TONE REGGAE”
Back to Top