1 in stock


Eagles – Desperado
(Asylum Records  2014  RRM15068)

Textured Sleeve in Nr MINT condition
Comes in PVC Jacket

180g Vinyl in Nr MINT condition

180 gram PRESSING

The Eagles are an American rock band formed in Los Angeles in 1971. With five number-one singles and six number-one albums, six Grammy Awards and five American Music Awards, the Eagles were one of the most successful musical acts of the 1970s in North America. Founding members Glenn Frey (guitars, vocals), Don Henley (drums, vocals), Bernie Leadon (guitars, vocals), and Randy Meisner (bass guitar, vocals) were recruited by Linda Ronstadt as band members, some touring with her, and all playing on her third solo album, before venturing out on their own on David Geffen’s new Asylum Records label.

Their debut, Eagles (1972), spawned two top-20 singles in the US and Canada: “Take It Easy” and “Witchy Woman”. The next year’s follow-up, Desperado, peaked at only number 41 in the US, although “Desperado” became a popular track. In 1974, guitarist Don Felder joined, and On the Border produced the top 40 hit “Already Gone” and the Eagles’ first number-one song in the US and Canada, “Best of My Love”, which made the top 15 in Australia, their first hit overseas. In 1975, the album One of These Nights became their first number-one album in the US and a top-10 album in many countries. It included the US number-one hit “One of These Nights”, which was their first top-10 hit outside of North America, and US top-five songs “Lyin’ Eyes” and “Take It to the Limit”. Also in 1975, guitarist and vocalist Joe Walsh replaced Leadon.

Their Greatest Hits (1971–1975) (1976) is the best-selling album in the United States, with 38 million sold, and primed the public for the late 1976 release of Hotel California, which would sell more than 26 million copies in the US (ranking 3rd all-time for US sales), and more than 32 million copies worldwide. The album yielded two number-one singles in the US and Canada, “New Kid in Town” and “Hotel California”, the latter of which became their only top-10 hit in the United Kingdom, while also reaching the top 10 in New Zealand and many European countries, including number two in France.

Meisner was replaced by Timothy B. Schmit in 1977. The Eagles released their last studio album for nearly 28 years in 1979 with The Long Run, spawning the North American number-one song “Heartache Tonight”, which became their biggest hit in Australia (number 13), and the North American top-10 hits “The Long Run” and “I Can’t Tell You Why”. The Eagles broke up in 1980 but reunited in 1994 for the album Hell Freezes Over, a mix of live and new studio tracks, and toured consistently. In 2007, the Eagles released Long Road Out of Eden, their sixth number-one album in the US, and in 2008 launched the Long Road Out of Eden Tour. In 2013, they began the extended History of the Eagles Tour in conjunction with the documentary release, History of the Eagles. Following Frey’s death in January 2016, the Eagles re-formed in 2017, with Glenn’s son Deacon Frey and Vince Gill sharing lead vocals for Frey’s songs.

The Eagles are one of the world’s best-selling bands, having sold more than 200 million records, including 100 million sold in US alone. They were inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in 1998 and were ranked number 75 on Rolling Stone‘s 2004 list of the “100 Greatest Artists of All Time”.

Desperado is the second studio album by the Eagles. It was recorded at Island Studios in London, United Kingdom and released in 1973. Desperado is a concept album, based on the Dalton gang and the Old West.

Although the title track is one of the Eagles’ signature songs, it was never released as a single. The song “Desperado” was ranked #494 on Rolling Stones 2004 list of “The 500 Greatest Songs of All Time“. The album did yield two singles, though: “Tequila Sunrise” and “Outlaw Man”. Those two singles reached #64 and #59 respectively. The album reached #41 on the charts and sold 2 million copies.

Desperado was the last Asylum Records album to be distributed in North America by Atlantic Records (catalog no. SD 5068), prior to Asylum’s mid-1973 merger with Elektra Records by Asylum’s, Elektra’s and Atlantic’s parent company, Warner Communications.

Track listing

Side one
  1. Doolin-Dalton” (Glenn Frey, J. D. Souther, Don Henley, Jackson Browne) – 3:26
    • Lead vocals by Don Henley and Glenn Frey, Harmonica by Glenn Frey
  2. “Twenty-One” (Bernie Leadon) – 2:11
    • Lead vocals, Dobro and Banjo by Bernie Leadon
  3. “Out of Control” (Henley, Frey, Tom Nexon) – 3:04
    • Lead vocals and Lead Guitar by Glenn Frey
  4. “Tequila Sunrise” (Henley, Frey) – 2:52
    • Lead vocals and Acoustic Guitar by Glenn Frey, Lead Guitar and Mandolin by Bernie Leadon
  5. “Desperado” (Henley, Frey) – 3:36
    • Lead vocals by Don Henley, Piano by Glenn Frey
Side two
  1. “Certain Kind of Fool” (Randy Meisner, Henley, Frey) – 3:02
    • Lead vocals by Randy Meisner, Acoustic guitar and Mandolin by Bernie Leadon, Lead guitar by Glenn Frey
  2. “Doolin-Dalton (Instrumental)” (Frey, Souther, Henley, Browne) – 0:48
  3. “Outlaw Man” (David Blue) – 3:34
    • Lead vocals, Acoustic guitar, and piano by Glenn Frey, Lead Guitar by Bernie Leadon
  4. “Saturday Night” (Meisner, Henley, Frey, Leadon) – 3:20
    • Lead vocals and acoustic guitar by Don Henley, second lead vocal by Randy Meisner, Mandolin by Bernie Leadon
  5. “Bitter Creek” (Leadon) – 5:00
    • Lead vocals by Bernie Leadon
  6. “Doolin-Dalton / Desperado (Reprise)” (Frey, Souther, Henley, Browne) – 4:50
    • Lead vocals by Don Henley, Banjo and Dobro by Bernie Leadon


  • Glenn Frey – guitars, keyboards, piano, harmonica, vocals
  • Don Henley – drums, percussion, vocals
  • Randy Meisner – bass guitar, acoustic guitar, vocals
  • Bernie Leadon – guitars, mandolin, banjo, vocals
  • Glyn Johns – producer, engineer
  • Howard Kilgour – assistant engineer
  • Barry Diament – mastering
  • Ted Jensen – remastering
  • Jim Ed Norman – string arrangements
  • Gary Burden – art direction, design
  • Henry Diltz – lettering, photography
Weight 1.00000000 kg


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “THE EAGLES – DESPERADO 180g LP – Nr MINT 2014”
Back to Top