1 in stock


Tir Na Nog
(Chrysalis Records  1971  ILPS9153)
Matrix No’s: A1/B1 – UK Pressing

EJ Day Gatefold Sleeve in Nr MINT condition

Vinyl in Nr MINT condition
(there are some surface marks visible on the vinyl when held up to the light but they don’t affect the sound quality apart from the odd light pop/crackle)

Tír na nÓg are an Irish folk band formed in Dublin, Ireland, in 1969 by Leo O’Kelly and Sonny Condell. They are often considered as one of the first progressive folk bands with other artists like Nick Drake or groups like Pentangle. Their music mainly consists of their own compositions, based on strong Celtic roots and typically featuring intricate acoustic guitar playing and close harmony singing. In their early years, they toured the folk clubs of the United Kingdom or internationally as a support act for several rock bands. Today, they regularly give concerts, especially in Ireland.

From 1971 to 1973, Tír na nÓg made three studio albums which were highly acclaimed by critics but didn’t receive a big commercial success. No recording of live performances had been officially released until 2000, with the publication of Hibernian. A compilation of some of their live tracks recorded between 1972 and 1973 for the John Peel’s radio show, was also published one year later.

Tír na nÓg is the first album by Irish band Tír na nÓg. It was released on May 1971 in the United Kingdom by Chrysalis Records and distributed by Island Records but was not published in the United States because Leo O’Kelly and Sonny Condell refused to record a cover of Bob Dylan’s “Maggie’s Farm” for the album, a song they regularly played live.
German and Spanish presses of the LP have an Island label although the Chrysalis logo also appears on them.

Track listing

LP track listing

Side one  
No. Title Writer(s) Length  
1. “Time Is Like A Promise”   Sonny Condell 2:56
2. “Mariner Blues”   Condell 4:12
3. Daisy Lady”   Leo O’Kelly 2:21
4. “Tir Na Nog”   O’Kelly 5:20
5. “Aberdeen Angus”   Condell 1:50
6. “Looking Up”   O’Kelly 4:51
Side two  
No. Title Writer(s) Length  
1. “Boat Song”   O’Kelly 3:24
2. “Our Love Will Not Decay”   Condell 3:04
3. “Hey Friend”   Ray Dolan 3:01
4. “Dance Of Years”   Condell 3:50
5. “Live A Day”   Condell 3:04
6. “Piccadilly”   O’Kelly 5:35
7. “Dante”   Condell 2:56
Total length:


  • Sonny Condell – vocals, guitar, Moroccan pottery drums, tablas, jews harp
  • Leo O’Kelly – vocals, guitar, dulcimer, electric bass, tin whistle
  • Nic Kinseyengineering
  • Nick Harrison – arranger
  • Bill Leader – production

Additional personnel

  • Barry Dransfield – fiddle on “Tir Na Nog”
  • Annie Crozier – psaltery on “Time Is Like A Promise”
Weight 1.00000000 kg


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “TIR NA NOG – TIR NA NOG LP – Nr MINT A1/B1 UK ORIGINAL FOLK PSYCH”
Back to Top