1 in stock


The Communards – Red
(London Records  1987  LONLP39)
Matrix No’s: A2/B1 – UK Pressing

Embossed Sleeve in Nr MINT condition
Inner Sleeve has a small split in one side

Vinyl in Nr MINT condition
(there are some surface marks visible on the vinyl when held up to the light but they don’t affect the sound quality)

The Communards were a British pop duo, active from 1985 to 1988. They are most famous for their cover versions of “Don’t Leave Me This Way” and “Never Can Say Goodbye”.

Red is the second album by British synth-pop duo the Communards, released on 5 October 1987 by London Records in the United Kingdom and MCA Records in the United States. It reached number 4 on the UK Albums Chart and number 93 on the US Billboard 200 and has been certified platinum in the UK. Redfeatures the singles “Never Can Say Goodbye”, “Tomorrow”, “There’s More to Love Than Boy Meets Girl” and “For a Friend”.

Track listing

All tracks are written by Richard Coles and Jimmy Somerville, except where noted.

Side one
No. Title Length
1. “Tomorrow” 4:52
2. “There’s More to Love Than Boy Meets Girl” 4:38
3. “Matter of Opinion” 4:27
4. “Victims” 4:32
5. “For a Friend” 5:03
Side two
No. Title Writer(s) Length
6. “Never Can Say Goodbye” Clifton Davis 4:53
7. “Lovers and Friends” Coles 4:16
8. “Hold on Tight” 4:49
9. “If I Could Tell You”
  • W. H. Auden
  • Somerville
10. “C Minor” 5:10
Total length: 45:11


The Communards

  • Jimmy Somerville – lead vocals and backing vocals
  • Richard Coles – synthesizers, piano and drum machine

Additional musicians

  • Rob Fisher – synthesizer and sequencer
  • Dave Renwick – bass
  • Gary Barnacle – soprano saxophone
  • Simon Clarke – alto saxophone and baritone saxophone
  • Pandit Dinesh – percussions
  • Sally Herbert – violin
  • Judd Lander – harmonica
  • Roddy Lorimer – trumpet
  • June Miles-Kingston – drums and backing vocals
  • Audrey Riley – cello
  • Jocelyn Pook – viola
  • Tim Sanders – tenor saxophone
  • Steve Sidwell – trumpet
  • Anne Stephenson – violin
  • Annie Whitehead – trombone
  • Jo Pretzel – synthesizers
  • Zita Wadwa – additional vocals
  • Caroline Buckley – backing vocals
Weight 1.00000000 kg


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “COMMUNARDS – RED LP – Nr MINT A2/B1 UK 1987 SYNTHPOP”
Back to Top