1 in stock


Deep Purple – In Concert
(Harvest Records  1980  SHDW412)
Matrix No’s: A4/B3/A2/B2 – UK Pressing

G&L Gatefold Sleeve in Nr MINT condition
– a little light rubbing near the top
Inner Sleeves in Nr MINT condition

Double Vinyl in Nr MINT condition
(there are some surface marks visible on the vinyl when held up to the light but they don’t affect the sound quality apart from the odd light pop/crackle)

Deep Purple are an English rock band formed in Hertford in 1968. The band is considered to be among the pioneers of heavy metal and modern hard rock, although their musical approach changed over the years. Originally formed as a progressive rock band, the band shifted to a heavier sound in 1970. Deep Purple, together with Led Zeppelin and Black Sabbath, have been referred to as the “unholy trinity of British hard rock and heavy metal in the early to mid-seventies”. They were listed in the 1975 Guinness Book of World Records as “the globe’s loudest band” for a 1972 concert at London’s Rainbow Theatre, and have sold over 100 million albums worldwide.

Deep Purple have had several line-up changes and an eight-year hiatus (1976–1984). The 1968–1976 line-ups are commonly labelled Mark I, II, III and IV. Their second and most commercially successful line-up consisted of Ian Gillan (vocals), Jon Lord (keyboards, backing vocals), Roger Glover (bass), Ian Paice (drums), and Ritchie Blackmore (guitar). This line-up was active from 1969 to 1973, and was revived from 1984 to 1989, and again from 1992 to 1993. The band achieved more modest success in the intervening periods between 1968 and 1969 with the line-up including Rod Evans (lead vocals) and Nick Simper (bass, backing vocals), between 1974 and 1976 (Tommy Bolin replacing Blackmore in 1975) with the line-up including David Coverdale (lead vocals) and Glenn Hughes (bass, vocals), and between 1989 and 1992 with the line-up including Joe Lynn Turner (vocals). The band’s line-up (currently including Ian Gillan, and guitarist Steve Morse from 1994) has been much more stable in recent years, although keyboardist Jon Lord’s retirement from the band in 2002 (being succeeded by Don Airey) left Ian Paice as the only original Deep Purple member still in the band.

Deep Purple were ranked number 22 on VH1’s Greatest Artists of Hard Rock programme and a poll on British radio station Planet Rock ranked them 5th among the “most influential bands ever”. The band received the Legend Award at the 2008 World Music Awards. Deep Purple (specifically Blackmore, Lord, Paice, Gillan, Glover, Evans, Coverdale and Hughes) were inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in 2016.

Deep Purple in Concert is a live album by the English hard rock band Deep Purple, recorded by the BBC for their “In Concert” live series in 1970 and 1972. First released in 1980 in the UK, with the current US edition being made available in 2001.

Track listing

All songs written by Ritchie Blackmore, Ian Gillan, Roger Glover, Jon Lord and Ian Paice except where indicated.

Side One: 1970
No. Title Length
1. “Speed King” 6:20
2. Wring That Neck(Blackmore, Lord, Paice, Nick Simper) 18:30
Side Two: 1970
No. Title Length
1. “Child in Time” 12:12
2. “Mandrake Root” (Blackmore, Rod Evans, Lord) 17:20
Side Three: 1972
No. Title Length
1. “Highway Star” 6:29
2. “Strange Kind of Woman” 8:34
3. “Lazy” 8:57
4. “Never Before” 3:48
Side Four: 1972
No. Title Length
1. “Space Truckin'” 22:14
2. “Lucille” (Albert Collins, Richard Penniman) 6:20


Deep Purple
  • Ritchie Blackmore – electric guitar
  • Ian Gillan – vocals
  • Roger Glover – bass guitar
  • Jon Lord – hammond organ
  • Ian Paice – drums
Sides 1 and 2 of the LP were recorded on 19 February 1970 at the BBC Studios for “The Sunday Show”
  • Produced by Jeff Griffin
  • Engineered by Tony Wilson
  • Mono recording reprocessed for stereo
Sides 3 and 4 of the LP were recorded on 9 March 1972 at the Paris Theatre in London for “BBC Sounds Of The Seventies”
  • Produced by Pete Dauncey
  • Engineered by Adrian Revill
  • Editing by Nick Tauber
  • Mixed from original 8-track master tapes in 1980 by Nick Tauber
Weight 2.00000000 kg


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “DEEP PURPLE – IN CONCERT 2LP – Nr MINT UK”
Back to Top