1 in stock


Elton John – Breaking Hearts
(Rocket Records  1984  HISPD25)
Matrix No’s: A2/B2 – UK Pressing

Sleeve in Nr MINT/Excellent+ condition
 – back cover has some creasing on top left corner
Inner Sleeve in Nr MINT condition

Vinyl in Nr MINT condition

Sir Elton Hercules John CH CBE (born Reginald Kenneth Dwight; 25 March 1947) is an English singer, pianist and composer, with a career spanning six decades. Collaborating with lyricist Bernie Taupin since 1967 on more than 30 albums, John has sold over 300 million records, making him one of the best-selling music artists of all time.

Raised in the Pinner area of Greater London, John learned to play piano at an early age, and by 1962 had formed Bluesology, a blues band with whom he played until 1967. He met his longtime musical partner Taupin in 1967, after they both answered an advert for songwriters. For two years, they wrote songs for other artists, and John worked as a session musician for artists. In 1969, John’s debut album, Empty Sky, was released. In 1970, his first hit single, “Your Song”, from his second album, Elton John, became his first top ten in both the UK and the US. Since 1970, he has toured with the Elton John Band as the pianist and lead singer. John’s most commercially successful period was the 1970s, during which he released several hit albums including Madman Across the Water (1971), Honky Château (1972), Don’t Shoot Me I’m Only the Piano Player (1973), Goodbye Yellow Brick Road (1973) and Captain Fantastic and the Brown Dirt Cowboy (1975)John continued his success in the 1980s, having several hit singles including “I Guess That’s Why They Call It the Blues”, “I’m Still Standing”, “Sad Songs (Say So Much)”, “Nikita” and “Sacrifice”, and has continued to record new music since then. John began collaborating with other musicians in the 1970s and early 1980s, including John Lennon, Kiki Dee and George Michael. In recent years, he has collaborated with several younger artists like Ed Sheeran and Dua Lipa. John has also had success in musical films and theatre, composing music for The Lion King and its stage adaptation, The Road to El DoradoAida and Billy Elliot the Musical. In 2018, John began his ongoing farewell tour Farewell Yellow Brick Road. His life and music career was dramatised in the 2019 biopic Rocketman. While not appearing in his own biopic, John has made cameos in other films and television shows.

Outside of music, John is an HIV/AIDS charity fundraiser, and has been involved in the fight against AIDS since the late 1980s. He established the Elton John AIDS Foundation in 1992, and a year later he began hosting his annual Foundation Academy Awards Party, which has since become one of the biggest high-profile Oscar parties in the Hollywood film industry. Since its inception, the foundation has raised over £300 million. John owned Watford F.C. from 1976 to 1987 and again from 1997 to 2002, and is an honorary life president of the club. John has performed at a number of royal events, such as the funeral of Diana, Princess of Wales at Westminster Abbey in 1997, the Party at the Palace in 2002 and the Queen’s Diamond Jubilee Concert outside Buckingham Palace in 2012. John, who announced he was bisexual in 1976 and has been openly gay since 1988, entered into a civil partnership with David Furnish in 2005; they married after same-sex marriage became legal in England and Wales in 2014.

John has received five Grammy Awards, five Brit Awards; including for Outstanding Contribution to Music; two Academy Awards, two Golden Globes, a Tony Award, a Disney Legends Award, and the Kennedy Center Honor. In 2004, Rolling Stoneranked him 49th on its list of 100 influential musicians of the rock and roll era. He was inducted into the Songwriters Hall of Fame in 1992 and the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in 1994, and is a fellow of the British Academy of Songwriters, Composers and Authors. He was knighted by Queen Elizabeth II for “services to music and charitable services” in 1998. In 2019, French President Emmanuel Macron presented John with France’s highest civilian award, the Legion d’honneur, and called him a “melodic genius” and praised his work on behalf of the LGBT community.

John has more than fifty Top 40 hits in the UK Singles Chart and US Billboard Hot 100, including nine number ones in the UK and nine in the US, as well as seven consecutive number-one albums in the US. His 1973 album Goodbye Yellow Brick Road and his first Greatest Hits compilation are among the official best-selling albums worldwide. His tribute single “Candle in the Wind 1997”, a rewritten version of his 1974 single in dedication to Princess Diana, sold over 33 million copies worldwide and is the best-selling chart single of all time. According to Billboard in 2019, John is the top solo artist in US chart history (third overall), and the top Adult Contemporary artist of all time. In 2021, John became the first solo artist with UK Top 10 singles across six decades.

Breaking Hearts is the eighteenth studio album by English singer-songwriter Elton John. It features the quartet of John, Davey Johnstone, Dee Murray and Nigel Olsson. There were four top-40 singles from the album: “Sad Songs (Say So Much)” (US #5/UK #7), “Who Wears These Shoes” (US #16), “In Neon” (US #38), and the UK No. 5 hit “Passengers”.

Track listing

All tracks are written by Elton John and Bernie Taupin, except where noted.

Side one
No. Title Length
1. “Restless” 5:17
2. “Slow Down Georgie (She’s Poison)” 4:10
3. “Who Wears These Shoes?” 4:04
4. “Breaking Hearts (Ain’t What It Used to Be)” 3:34
5. “Li’l ‘Frigerator” 3:37
Side two
No. Title Length
1. “Passengers” (John, Taupin, Davey Johnstone, Phineas Mkhize) 3:24
2. “In Neon” 4:19
3. “Burning Buildings” 4:02
4. “Did He Shoot Her?” 3:21
5. “Sad Songs (Say So Much)” 4:55
Total length: 40:43


Track numbering refers to CD and digital releases of the album.

  • Elton John – lead and backing vocals, synthesizers (tracks 1, 2, 3, 5, 6, 7, 9, 10), pianos (tracks 3, 4, 5, 7, 8, 9, 10), Hammond organ (track 5), harmonium (track 6), Fender Rhodes (track 7), harpsichord (track 7), clavinet (track 10)
  • Davey Johnstone – backing vocals (tracks 1–4, 6-10), electric guitar (tracks 1–3, 5, 7, 8, 9), acoustic guitar (tracks 2, 6, 7, 8, 10), sitar (track 9)
  • Dee Murray – bass guitar (tracks 1–3, 5-10), backing vocals (tracks 1–4, 6-10)
  • Nigel Olsson – drums (tracks 1–3, 5-10), backing vocals (tracks 1–4, 6-10)
  • Andrew Thompson – saxophone (track 5)


  • Chris Thomas – producer
  • Renate Blauel – recording
  • Tim Young – mastering (UK)
  • Greg Fulginiti – mastering (US)
  • David Costa – art direction, design
  • Richard Young – photography
  • Patrick Jones – band photography
  • Herb Ritts – Bernie Taupin photo


Weight 1.00000000 kg


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “ELTON JOHN – BREAKING HEARTS LP – Nr MINT A2 UK”
Back to Top