1 in stock


Elvis Costello – Spike
(Warner Bros Records  1989  WX238)

Sleeve in Nr MINT condition
– still in original shrinkwrap – hype sticker top left
Inner Sleeve in Nr MINT condition

Vinyl in Nr MINT condition

Declan Patrick MacManus (born 25 August 1954), better known by his stage name Elvis Costello, is an English musician, singer-songwriter, and record producer. He began his career as part of London’s pub rock scene in the early 1970s and later became associated with the first wave of the British punk and new wave movement that emerged in the mid-to-late 1970s. His critically acclaimed debut album, My Aim Is True, was released in 1977. Shortly after recording it, he formed the Attractions as his backing band. His second album, This Year’s Model, was released in 1978, and was ranked number 11 by Rolling Stone on its list of the best albums from 1967–1987. His third album, Armed Forces, was released in 1979, and features his most successful single “Oliver’s Army”. His first three albums all appeared on Rolling Stones list of the 500 Greatest Albums of All Time.

Costello and the Attractions toured and recorded together for the better part of a decade, though differences between them caused a split by 1986. Much of Costello’s work since has been as a solo artist, though reunions with members of the Attractions have been credited to the group over the years. Steeped in wordplay, the vocabulary of Costello’s lyrics is broad. His music has drawn on many diverse genres; one critic described him as a “pop encyclopaedia”, able to “reinvent the past in his own image”.

He has won multiple awards in his career, including a Grammy Award, and has twice been nominated for the Brit Award for Best British Male Singer. In 2003, Costello and the Attractions were inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame. In 2004, Rolling Stone ranked Costello number 80 on their list of the 100 Greatest Artists of All Time.

Costello has co-written several original songs for motion pictures, including “God Give Me Strength” from Grace of My Heart (1996, with Burt Bacharach) and “The Scarlet Tide” from Cold Mountain (2003, with T-Bone Burnett). For the latter, Costello was nominated (along with Burnett) for the Academy Award for Best Original Song and the Grammy Award for Best Song Written for Visual Media.

Spike is the 12th studio album by the British rock singer and songwriter Elvis Costello, released on compact disc as Warner Brothers 25848. It was his first album for the label. It peaked at #5 on the UK album chart, and at #32 on the Billboard 200.

Track listing

All songs written by Elvis Costello, except where noted; track timings taken from Rhino 2001 reissue.

  1. “(You’re Nobody Till Everybody in) This Town (Thinks You’re a Bastard)” – 4:32
  2. “Let Him Dangle” – 4:45
  3. “Deep Dark Truthful Mirror” – 4:07
  4. “Veronica” (Costello, Paul McCartney) – 3:09
  5. “God’s Comic” – 5:31
  6. “Chewing Gum” – 3:47
  7. “Tramp the Dirt Down” – 5:41
  8. “Stalin Malone” – 4:09
  9. “Satellite” – 5:45
  10. “Pads, Paws and Claws” (Costello, McCartney) – 2:56
  11. “Baby Plays Around” (Costello, Cait O’Riordan) – 2:47
  12. “Miss Macbeth” – 4:23
  13. “Any King’s Shilling” – 6:07
  14. “Coal-Train Robberies” – 3:18
  15. “Last Boat Leaving” – 3:31


  • Elvis Costello – vocals, acoustic guitar, bass guitar, electric guitar, mandolin, piano, bells, acoustic bass guitar, organ, melodica
  • T-Bone Burnett – acoustic guitar, bass, national steel guitar
  • Cait O’Riordan – maracas, bells


  • Derek Bell – Irish harp, hammered dulcimer
  • Frankie Gavin – fiddle
  • Dónal Lunny – acoustic guitar, bouzouki, electric bouzouki
  • Davy Spillane – pipe, uilleann pipes, Low whistle
  • Steve Wickham – fiddle
  • Christy Moore – bodhran
  • Pete Thomas – drums

New Orleans

  • Lionel Batiste – bass drum
  • Gregory Davis – trumpet
  • Willie Green – drums
  • Kevin Harris – tenor saxophone
  • Charles Joseph – trombone
  • Kirk Joseph – sousaphone
  • Roger Lewis – baritone saxophone, soprano saxophone
  • Jenell Marshall – snare drum
  • Allen Toussaint – grand piano
  • Efrem Towns – trumpet


  • Michael Blair – glockenspiel, marimba, tambourine, xylophone, bells, timpani, vibraphone, Chinese drums, Oldsmobile hubcap, Parade drum, anvil, whiplash, crash-box, temple bells, snare drum, “magic table”, metal pipe, “Martian dog bark”
  • Ralph Forbes – electric drums, drum programming
  • Mitchell Froom – organ, harmonium, electric piano, chamberlin, Indian harmonium
  • Roger McGuinn – twelve-string guitar, Rickenbacker bass guitar
  • Jim Keltner – tom-toms, snare drum, Chinese cymbal
  • Jerry Marotta – drums
  • Buell Neidlinger – cello, double bass
  • Marc Ribot – banjo, electric guitar, Spanish guitar, sounds
  • Jerry Scheff – electric bass, double bass, fuzz bass
  • Benmont Tench – piano, clavinet, spinet, Vox Continental
  • Tom “T-Bone” Wolk – accordion, bass


  • Chrissie Hynde – harmony vocals
  • Nick Lowe – bass
  • Paul McCartney – Hofner bass guitar, Rickenbacker bass guitar
  • Pete Thomas – drums
Weight 1.00000000 kg


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “ELVIS COSTELLO – SPIKE LP – Nr MINT ROCK PUNK”
Back to Top