1 in stock


Europe – The Final Countdown
(Epic Records  1986  EPC26808)
Matrix No’s: A3/B3 – UK Pressing

Sleeve in Excellent condition
– some wear to edges/corners – hype sticker top right
Insert has creasing
Poster is torn across first fold longways (not all the way)

Vinyl in Excellent+ condition
(there are some surface marks visible on the vinyl when held up to the light but they don’t affect the sound quality apart from some light pops/crackles)

Europe is a Swedish rock band formed in Upplands Väsby, by vocalist Joey Tempest, guitarist John Norum, bass guitarist Peter Olsson, and drummer Tony Reno. They got a major breakthrough in Sweden in 1982 by winning the televised competition “Rock-SM” (Swedish Rock Championships) It was the first time this competition was held, and Europe became a larger success than the competition itself. As heavy-metal musicians they could play their instruments far better than any of their fellow competitors and their victory in the final was far from unanticipated (the competition was held in several stages). The competition continued for some years longer, but never reached any other heights.

Since its formation, Europe has released ten studio albums, three live albums, three compilations and nineteen music videos.

Europe rose to international fame in the 1980s with their third album, 1986’s The Final Countdown, which has sold over 3 million copies in the United States and 15 million copies worldwide (including album and single). Europe have sold over 25 million records worldwide. The band has achieved two top 20 albums on the Billboard 200 chart (The Final Countdown and Out of This World) and two top 10 singles on the Billboard Hot 100 chart (“The Final Countdown” and “Carrie”).

Europe went on hiatus in 1992, reunited temporarily for a one-off performance in Stockholm on New Year’s Eve 1999 and announced an official reunion in 2003. Since then the band has released five albums, Start from the Dark (2004), Secret Society (2006), Last Look at Eden (2009), Bag of Bones (2012) and War of Kings (2015).

Europe has achieved new attention in the US due to being featured in a GEICO Insurance cable television commercial campaign viewed for many months across the US in 2015-16.

The band is mainly influenced by Whitesnake, Deep Purple, Rainbow, Led Zeppelin, Thin Lizzy, UFO and Michael Schenker Group.

The Final Countdown is the third studio album by the Swedish hard rock band Europe. Released on 26 May 1986 through Epic Records, the album was a huge commercial success selling over 3 million units in the United States alone, peaking at number 8 on the U.S. Billboard 200 chart and reaching high positions in charts worldwide. It was recorded at Powerplay Studios in Zürich, Soundtrade Studios in Stockholm, Mastersound Studios in Atlanta and Fantasy Studios in Berkeley.

Five singles were released from the album: “The Final Countdown,” “Love Chaser,” “Rock the Night,” “Carrie,” and “Cherokee.” The first one was responsible for launching Europe into mainstream popularity.

Eight of the ten tracks on the album were featured in the 2007 comedy film Hot Rod.

Track listing

Side one
No. Title Writer(s) Length
1. “The Final Countdown” Tempest 5:09
2. “Rock the Night” Tempest 4:03
3. “Carrie” Tempest, Michaeli 4:30
4. “Danger on the Track” Tempest 3:45
5. “Ninja” Tempest 3:46
Side two
No. Title Writer(s) Length
1. “Cherokee” Tempest 4:13
2. “Time Has Come” Tempest 4:01
3. “Heart of Stone” Tempest 3:46
4. “On the Loose” Tempest 3:08
5. “Love Chaser” Tempest 3:27


  • Joey Tempest – vocals.
  • John Norum – guitars, backing vocals.
  • John Levén – bass guitar.
  • Mic Michaeli – keyboards, backing vocals.
  • Ian Haugland – drums, backing vocals.
  • Kevin Elson – producer, engineer, mixing
  • Wally Buck – engineer, mixing
  • Bob Ludwig – mastering
  • Michael Johansson – photography
  • Les Katz – cover illustration
  • Joel Zimmerman – art direction
Weight 1.00000000 kg


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “EUROPE – THE FINAL COUNTDOWN LP – Nr MINT A1 UK”
Back to Top