1 in stock


Genesis – The Way We Walk volume one: the shorts
(Virgin Records  1992  GENLP4)
Matrix No’s: A1/B3 – UK Pressing

Sleeve in Excellent+ condition
– some slight wear to edges & some rubbing around edges
Inner Sleeve in Nr MINT condition

Vinyl in Nr MINT condition
(there are some surface marks visible on the vinyl when held up to the light but they don’t affect the sound quality)

Genesis are an English rock band that formed in 1967. The band currently consists of its three longest-tenured members – Tony Banks (keyboards) and Mike Rutherford (bass, guitar), who were founder members; and Phil Collins (vocals, drums), who first joined in 1970. Past members Peter Gabriel (vocals, flute), Steve Hackett (guitar) and Anthony Phillips (guitar), also played major roles in the band in its early years. Genesis are among the top 30 highest-selling recording artists of all time, with approximately 150 million albums sold worldwide.

In the late 1960s, with the release of their first album, Genesis’s music was initially regarded by the band and the fans as a pop experiment, referring to then-popular melodic pop. Then, over the course of a year, (beginning with their second album in mid-1970) they quickly evolved into a progressive rock band with the incorporation of complex song structures and elaborate instrumentation. Their concerts became theatrical experiences with innovative stage design, pyrotechnics, extravagant costumes and on-stage stories. This second phase was characterised by lengthy performances such as the 23-minute “Supper’s Ready” and the 1974 concept album, The Lamb Lies Down on Broadway. In the late ’70s and early ’80s the band’s musical direction changed once again, becoming more pop oriented and commercially accessible. This resulted in their first top 40 single in the US with “Follow You Follow Me”, their first number one album in the United Kingdom, Duke, and their only number one single in the United States, “Invisible Touch”.

Genesis has undergone several personnel changes throughout its history. Stage fright forced founding member Anthony Phillips to leave the band in 1970. In 1975, Collins, then the band’s drummer, replaced Peter Gabriel as lead singer after a lengthy search for a replacement. To facilitate Collins’s move to lead vocals during concerts, Bill Bruford and Chester Thompson played drums for the band as they toured, with Collins joining in briefly during lengthy instrumental passages. In 1977, guitarist Steve Hackett left the band. After Phil Collins left the band in 1996, Genesis recruited Ray Wilson (formerly of Stiltskin). Wilson appeared on the 1997 album Calling All Stations, after which the band announced an indefinite hiatus. In 2007, Banks, Collins and Rutherford reunited for a 20-city tour of Europe and North America, which included a free concert at Rome’s Circo Massimo in front of 500,000 fans. Genesis were among five bands inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in 2010. The future of the band remains uncertain with Collins’s retirement from the music business and the other members’ solo work.

The Way We Walk, Volume One: The Shorts is the fourth live album by British band Genesis. Eight songs were recorded live on the 1992 We Can’t Dance tour, with the remaining three recorded on the 1986–87 Invisible Touch tour.

While the album centres on Genesis’ shorter and commercial songs, a companion piece, The Way We Walk, Volume Two: The Longs focuses on their lengthier material. The shared title of the two releases refers to the phrase “the way I walk,” which appears in the lyrics to two different songs, “I Can’t Dance” on Volume One, and “I Know What I Like” on Volume Two. To reflect the live nature of the album, the cover not only features the three main members of the group (Phil Collins, Tony Banks and Mike Rutherford), but also Chester Thompson and Daryl Stuermer, who played on every Genesis tour from 1977 until 1992.

The Way We Walk, Volume One: The Shorts reached No.3 in the UK where it remained in the charts for 18 weeks, and No.35 in the US, going gold.

Track listing

All songs by Tony Banks/Phil Collins/Mike Rutherford and recorded in 1992 except where noted.

  1. “Land of Confusion” – 5:16 §
    • 11 July 1992 Niedersachsenstadion, Hannover, DEU
  2. “No Son of Mine” – 7:06
    • 13 July 1992 Niedersachsenstadion, Hannover, DEU
  3. “Jesus He Knows Me” – 5:24
    • 11 July 1992 Niedersachsenstadion, Hannover, DEU
  4. “Throwing It All Away” – 6:02 §
    • 2 August 1992 Knebworth Park, Stevenage, GBR, 13 July 1992 Niedersachsenstadion, Hannover, DEU
  5. “I Can’t Dance” – 6:54 §
    • 13 July 1992 Niedersachsenstadion, Hannover, DEU
  6. “Mama” – 6:50
    • 4 July 1987 Wembley Stadium, London, GBR
  7. “Hold on My Heart” – 5:41
    • 13 July 1992 Niedersachsenstadion, Hannover, DEU
  8. “That’s All” – 4:59
    • 4 July 1987 Wembley Stadium, London, GBR
  9. “In Too Deep” – 5:36
    • October 1986 L.A. Forum, Inglewood, CA, USA
  10. “Tonight, Tonight, Tonight” – 3:36 §
    • 13 July 1992 Niedersachsenstadion, Hannover, DEU
  11. “Invisible Touch” – 5:41 §
    • 13 July 1992 Niedersachsenstadion, Hannover, DEU

§ – performed in a lower key to compensate for the deepening of Phil Collins’s voice.


  • Phil Collins – lead vocals, percussion, drums
  • Tony Banks – keyboards, backing vocals
  • Mike Rutherford – guitar, bass guitar, backing vocals

Additional musicians

  • Daryl Stuermer – bass guitar, guitar
  • Chester Thompson – percussion, drums
Weight 1.00000000 kg


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “GENESIS – THE WAY WE WALK Live LP – Nr MINT A1/B1 UK PROG”
Back to Top