1 in stock


Groundhogs – Hogwash
(United Artists Records  1972  UAG29419)
Matrix No’s: A2/B2 – UK Pressing

Triple Fold Out Sleeve in Nr MINT condition
– some slight wear to edges

Vinyl in Nr MINT condition
(there are some surface marks visible on the vinyl when held up to the light but they don’t affect the sound quality)

The Groundhogs are a British rock band founded in late 1963, that toured extensively in the 1960s, achieved prominence in the early 1970s and continued sporadically into the 21st century. Tony McPhee (guitar and vocals) is the sole constant member of the group, which has gone through many personnel changes but usually records and performs as a power trio.

Hogwash is a 1972 blues-rock album recorded by The Groundhogs, originally released by United Artists Records in 1972, catalogue number UAG 29419. The most recent CD reissue is that of 2008 by BGO Records, catalogue number BGOCD787. The album mixes bottleneck blues, hard edged rock power chords, and thoughtful introspective song writing and experimental orchestrations.
Tony McPhee was one of the earliest rock guitarists to experiment with guitar controlled synthesis and Oberheim/Maestro ring modulators. On this album he used a Hagstrom guitar synthesizer, a simple controller for an ARP 2600. The Hagstrom was monophonic and had resistors soldered on at each fret to create a monophonic control voltage bus and trigger gate. This allowed the guitar sound to be doubled, (but not bent by string pulls) and also required the analog synth to hold its tuning over the entire range. The album closes with a tribute to John Lee Hooker.

Track listing

All tracks composed by Tony McPhee

  1. “I Love Miss Ogyny” – 5:25
  2. “You Had a Lesson” – 5:54
  3. “The Ringmaster” – 1:23
  4. “3744 James Road” – 7:21
  5. “Sad is the Hunter” – 5:20
  6. “S’One Song” – 3:37
  7. “Earth Shanty” – 6:52
  8. “Mr Hooker, Sir John” – 3:37


  • Tony McPhee – guitars, keyboards, vocals
  • Peter Cruikshank – bass
  • Clive Brooks – drums
  • Martin Rushent – engineer
Weight 1.00000000 kg


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “GROUNDHOGS – HOGWASH LP – Nr MINT A2/B2 UK”
Back to Top