1 in stock


The Isaac Hayes Movement
(Stax Records  1971  2325014)
Matrix No’s: A1/B1 – UK Pressing

 Vinyl in Nr MINT condition
(there are some surface marks visible on the vinyl when held up to the light but they don’t affect the sound quality apart from some light pops/crackles)

EJ Day Gatefold Sleeve in Nr MINT/Excellent+ condition
– some wear to edges/corners & ringwear mark on back near top


Isaac Lee Hayes Jr. (August 20, 1942 – August 10, 2008) was an American singer-songwriter, actor, voice actor and producer. Hayes was one of the creative forces behind the Southern soul music label Stax Records, where he served both as an in-house songwriter and as a session musician and record producer, teaming with his partner David Porter during the mid-1960s. Hayes and Porter, along with Bill Withers, the Sherman Brothers, Steve Cropper, and John Fogerty were inducted into the Songwriters Hall of Fame in 2005 in recognition of writing scores of songs for themselves, the duo Sam & Dave, Carla Thomas, and others. In 2002, Hayes was inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame.

The song “Soul Man”, written by Hayes and Porter and first performed by Sam & Dave, has been recognized as one of the most influential songs of the past 50 years by the Grammy Hall of Fame. It was also honored by The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, by Rolling Stone magazine, and by the Recording Industry Association of America (RIAA) as one of the Songs of the Century. During the late 1960s, Hayes also began a career as a recording artist. He had several successful soul albums such as Hot Buttered Soul (1969) and Black Moses (1971). In addition to his work in popular music, he worked as a composer of musical scores for motion pictures.

He was well known for his musical score for the film Shaft (1971). For the “Theme from Shaft“, he was awarded the Academy Award for Best Original Song in 1972. He became the third African-American, after Sidney Poitier and Hattie McDaniel, to win an Academy Award in any competitive field covered by Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences. He also won two Grammy Awards for that same year. Later, he was given his third Grammy for his music album Black Moses.

In recognition of his humanitarian work there Hayes was crowned honorary king of the Ada, Ghana region in 1992. He acted in motion pictures and television, such as in the movies Truck Turner and I’m Gonna Git You Sucka, and as Gandolf “Gandy” Fitch in the TV series The Rockford Files (1974–1980). He voiced the character Chef from the animated Comedy Central series South Park from its debut in 1997 until 2005. His influences were Percy Mayfield, Big Joe Turner, James Brown, Jerry Butler, Sam Cooke, Fats Domino, Marvin Gaye, Otis Redding, and psychedelic soul groups like The Chambers Brothers and Sly and the Family Stone.

On August 5, 2003, Hayes was honored as a BMI Icon at the 2003 BMI Urban Awards for his enduring influence on generations of music makers. Throughout his songwriting career, Hayes received five BMI R&B Awards, two BMI Pop Awards, two BMI Urban Awards and six Million-Air citations. As of 2008, his songs generated more than 12 million performances.

The Isaac Hayes Movement was the third studio album released by Isaac Hayes. Released in 1970, it was the follow-up to “Hot Buttered Soul”, Hayes’ landmark 1969 album. Marvell Thomas had come up with “The Isaac Hayes Movement” as a name for Hayes’ backup ensemble. He modeled the name after the Jimi Hendrix Experience. Similar in structure to Hot Buttered Soul, The Isaac Hayes Movement features only four long tracks, all with meticulous, complex and heavily orchestrated arrangements. However, unlike the previous album, this time all four songs are reworked covers of others’ material. This includes Jerry Butler’s “I Stand Accused“, which features a nearly five-minute long spoken intro that precedes the actual song, and The Beatles’ “Something“, which features violin soloing by John Blair. The other two songs included on the album were the Bacharach-David song, “I Just Don’t Know What to Do with Myself” and Chalmers and Rhodes’ “One Big Unhappy Family”.

Released in March 1970,The Isaac Hayes Movement spent a total of seven weeks at #1 on Billboard’s Soul Albums chart and remained in the top ten until the last week of November in that year. The album also reached #1 on the Jazz Albums chart and spent 75 weeks on the Billboard 200 chart, peaking at #8. An edited version of “I Stand Accused” was released as a single in July 1970. It reached #23 on the Soul Singles chart and #42 on the Pop chart.

Track listing

Side one

  1. “I Stand Accused” (Jerry Butler, William Butler[disambiguation needed]) – 11:39
  2. “One Big Unhappy Family” (Charles Chalmers, Sandra Rhodes) – 5:54

Side two

  1. “I Just Don’t Know What to Do with Myself” (Burt Bacharach, Hal David) – 7:05
  2. “Something” (George Harrison) – 11:45


  • Isaac Hayes – Arranger, Keyboards, Vocals, Producer
  • The Bar-Kays – Rhythm Section
  • Joel Brodsky – Photography
  • Henry Bush – Engineer
  • Ron Capone – Engineer, Remixing, Remix Engineer
  • George Horn – Mastering
  • Herb Kole – Art Supervisor
  • David Krieger – Art Direction
  • Pat Lewis – Vocal Arrangement
  • Joe Tarantino – Mastering
  • Dale Warren – Arranger
  • Ed Wolfrum – Engineer
Weight 1.00000000 kg


There are no reviews yet.

Back to Top