1 in stock


Jethro Tull – A
(Chrysalis Records  1980  202838)

Sleeve in Nr MINT- condition
– some slight wear to edges and faint sticker mark top right

Vinyl in Nr MINT condition

Jethro Tull were a British rock group, formed in Luton, Bedfordshire, on December 20, 1967. Initially playing blues rock, the band soon developed its sound to incorporate elements of British folk music and hard rock to forge a progressive rock signature. The band was led by vocalist/flautist/guitarist Ian Anderson, and featured a revolving door of lineups through the years including significant members such as longtime guitarist Martin Barre, keyboardist John Evan, drummers Clive Bunker, Barriemore Barlow, and Doane Perry, and bassists Glenn Cornick, Jeffrey Hammond, and Dave Pegg.

The group first achieved commercial success in 1969, with the folk-tinged blues album Stand Up, which reached No. 1 in the UK charts, and they toured regularly in the UK and the US. Their musical style shifted in the direction of progressive rock with the albums Aqualung (1971), Thick as a Brick (1972) and A Passion Play (1973), and shifted again to hard rock mixed with folk rock with Songs from the Wood (1977) and Heavy Horses (1978). Jethro Tull have sold over 60 million albums worldwide, with 11 gold and five platinum albums among them. They have been described by Rolling Stone as “one of the most commercially successful and eccentric progressive rock bands”.

The last works as a group to contain new material were released in 2003, though the band continued to tour until 2011. In April 2014, as he was concentrating on his solo career, Anderson said that Jethro Tull were finished. However, in March 2017, Anderson released Jethro Tull – The String Quartets, an album of reimagined Tull songs, recorded with The Carducci String Quartet.

A is the 13th studio album by Jethro Tull. It was released on 29 August 1980 in the U.K. and 1 September of the same year in the United States. The album was recorded in the summer of 1980 using Maison Rouge Mobile and Maison Rouge Studios in Fulham, London. Eddie Jobson guested on the album, playing keyboards and electric violin. The album was produced by Ian Anderson and Robin Black.

Track listing

All songs written and composed by Ian Anderson

Side one  
No. Title Length  
1. “Crossfire”   3:55
2. “Flyingdale Flyer”   4:35
3. “Working John, Working Joe”   5:04
4. “Black Sunday”   6:35
Side two  
No. Title Length  
1. “Protect and Survive”   3:36
2. “Batteries Not Included”   3:52
3. “Uniform”   3:34
4. “4.W.D (Low Ratio)”   3:42
5. “The Pine Marten’s Jig” (instrumental) 3:28
6. “And Further On”   4:21


  • Ian Anderson – flute, vocals, acoustic guitar
  • Martin Barre – electric guitar
  • Eddie Jobson – keyboards, electric violin, synthesizer
  • Dave Pegg – bass, mandolin
  • Mark Craney – drums
Weight 1.00000000 kg


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “JETHRO TULL – A LP – Nr MINT  PROG”
Back to Top