1 in stock


Jimi Hendrix Experience – Electric Ladyland
(Polydor Records  1973  2657012)
Matrix No’s: A2/d2/B5/C2 – UK Pressing

Double Vinyl in Nr MINT- condition
(there are some surface marks visible on the vinyl when held up to the light but they don’t affect the sound quality apart from some light pops/crackles)

Gatefold Sleeve in Nr MINT condition
– a little wear along opening edge & a small thumbnail crease to the laminate top right

James MarshallJimiHendrix (born Johnny Allen Hendrix; November 27, 1942 – September 18, 1970) was an American rock guitarist, singer, and songwriter. Although his mainstream career spanned only four years, he is widely regarded as one of the most influential electric guitarists in the history of popular music, and one of the most celebrated musicians of the 20th century. The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame describes him as “arguably the greatest instrumentalist in the history of rock music”.

Born in Seattle, Washington, Hendrix began playing guitar at the age of 15. In 1961, he enlisted in the U.S. Army and trained as a paratrooper in the 101st Airborne Division; he was granted an honorable discharge the following year. Soon afterward, he moved to Clarksville, Tennessee, and began playing gigs on the Chitlin’ Circuit, earning a place in the Isley Brothers’ backing band and later with Little Richard, with whom he continued to work through mid-1965. He then played with Curtis Knight and the Squires before moving to England in late 1966 after being discovered by Linda Keith, who in turn interested bassist Chas Chandler of the Animals in becoming his first manager. Within months, Hendrix had earned three UK top ten hits with the Jimi Hendrix Experience: “Hey Joe”, “Purple Haze”, and “The Wind Cries Mary”. He achieved fame in the U.S. after his performance at the Monterey Pop Festival in 1967, and in 1968 his third and final studio album, Electric Ladyland, reached number one in the U.S.; it was Hendrix’s most commercially successful release and his first and only number one album. The world’s highest-paid performer, he headlined the Woodstock Festival in 1969 and the Isle of Wight Festival in 1970 before his accidental death from barbiturate-related asphyxia on September 18, 1970, at the age of 27.

Hendrix was inspired musically by American rock and roll and electric blues. He favored overdriven amplifiers with high volume and gain, and was instrumental in utilizing the previously undesirable sounds caused by guitar amplifier feedback. He helped to popularize the use of a wah-wah pedal in mainstream rock, and was the first artist to use stereophonic phasing effects in music recordings. Holly George-Warren of Rolling Stone commented: “Hendrix pioneered the use of the instrument as an electronic sound source. Players before him had experimented with feedback and distortion, but Hendrix turned those effects and others into a controlled, fluid vocabulary every bit as personal as the blues with which he began.”

Hendrix was the recipient of several music awards during his lifetime and posthumously. In 1967, readers of Melody Maker voted him the Pop Musician of the Year, and in 1968, Rolling Stone declared him the Performer of the Year. Disc and Music Echo honored him with the World Top Musician of 1969 and in 1970, Guitar Player named him the Rock Guitarist of the Year. The Jimi Hendrix Experience was inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in 1992 and the UK Music Hall of Fame in 2005. Rolling Stone ranked the band’s three studio albums, Are You Experienced, Axis: Bold as Love, and Electric Ladyland, among the 100 greatest albums of all time, and they ranked Hendrix as the greatest guitarist and the sixth greatest artist of all time.

Electric Ladyland is the third and final album of new material by the Jimi Hendrix Experience, released in October 1968 on Track Records. It is the only Hendrix studio album professionally produced under his supervision. It topped the Billboard 200 album chart for two weeks in November 1968.

Track listing

All songs written by Jimi Hendrix, except where noted.

Side one
No. Title Length
1. “…And the Gods Made Love” 1:21
2. “Have You Ever Been (To Electric Ladyland)” 2:11
3. “Crosstown Traffic” 2:25
4. “Voodoo Chile” 15:00
Side two
No. Title Length
5. “Little Miss Strange” (Noel Redding) 2:52
6. “Long Hot Summer Night” 3:27
7. “Come On (Part 1)” (Earl King) 4:09
8. “Gypsy Eyes” 3:43
9. “Burning of the Midnight Lamp” 3:39
Side three
No. Title Length
10. “Rainy Day, Dream Away” 3:42
11. “1983… (A Merman I Should Turn to Be)” 13:39
12. “Moon, Turn the Tides…gently gently away” 1:02
Side four
No. Title Length
13. “Still Raining, Still Dreaming” 4:25
14. “House Burning Down” 4:33
15. “All Along the Watchtower” (Bob Dylan) 4:01
16. “Voodoo Child (Slight Return)” 5:12


  • Jimi Hendrix – lead vocals, guitar, piano, percussion, comb and tissue paper kazoo, electric harpsichord, bass on “Have You Ever Been (To Electric Ladyland)”, “Long Hot Summer Night”, “Gypsy Eyes”, “1983”, “House Burning Down”, and “All Along the Watchtower”
  • Noel Redding – backing vocals, bass on “Crosstown Traffic”, “Little Miss Strange”, “Come On (Let the Good Times Roll)”, “Burning of the Midnight Lamp”, and “Voodoo Child (Slight Return)”, acoustic guitar and lead vocals on “Little Miss Strange”
  • Mitch Mitchell – backing vocals, drums (except on “Rainy Day Dream Away” and “Still Raining, Still Dreaming”), percussion, lead vocals on “Little Miss Strange”

Additional personnel

  • Jack Casady – bass on “Voodoo Chile”
  • Larry Faucette – congas on “Rainy Day Dream Away” and “Still Raining Still Dreaming”
  • Mike Finnigan – organ on “Rainy Day Dream Away” and “Still Raining Still Dreaming”
  • Brian Jones – percussion on “All Along the Watchtower”
  • Al Kooper – piano on “Long Hot Summer Night”
  • Dave Mason – twelve string guitar on “All Along the Watchtower”, backing vocals on “Crosstown Traffic”
  • Buddy Miles – drums on “Rainy Day Dream Away” and “Still Raining Still Dreaming”
  • Freddie Smith – tenor saxophone on “Rainy Day Dream Away” and “Still Raining Still Dreaming”
  • The Sweet Inspirations – backing vocals on “Burning of the Midnight Lamp”
  • Steve Winwood – organ on “Voodoo Chile”
  • Chris Wood – flute on “1983… (A Merman I Should Turn to Be)”


  • Producer – Jimi Hendrix
  • Engineers – Eddie Kramer and Gary Kellgren
  • Mixed by Jimi Hendrix, Eddie Kramer, and Gary Kellgren
  • Arranged by Jimi Hendrix
  • US cover liner note by Jimi Hendrix
  • US cover design – Karl Ferris
  • US cover inside photos – Linda Eastman and David Sygall
  • US art direction – Ed Thrasher
  • UK cover design – David King, Rob O’Connor
  • UK cover inside photos – David Montgomery
Weight 2.00000000 kg


There are no reviews yet.

Back to Top