1 in stock


JJ Cale – Okie
(Shelter Records  1976  67608  French Press)

Sleeve in Nr MINT condition

Vinyl in Nr MINT condition
(there are a few surface marks visible on the vinyl when held up to the light but they don’t affect the sound quality)

John WeldonJ. J.Cale (December 5, 1938 – July 26, 2013) was an American guitarist, singer, and songwriter. Though he deliberately avoided the limelight, his influence as a musical artist has been widely acknowledged by figures such as Mark Knopfler, Neil Young and Eric Clapton, who described him as “one of the most important artists in the history of rock”. He is considered to be one of the originators of the Tulsa Sound, a loose genre drawing on blues, rockabilly, country, and jazz.

Many songs written by Cale have been recorded by other acts, including “After Midnight” and “Cocaine” by Eric Clapton; “Call Me the Breeze” by Lynyrd Skynyrd, John Mayer, Johnny Cash, and Bobby Bare; “Clyde” by Waylon Jennings and Dr. Hook; “I Got The Same Old Blues” by Captain Beefheart, Lynyrd Skynyrd, Freddie King, and Bryan Ferry; “Travelin’ Light” and “Ride Me High” by Widespread Panic; and “Magnolia” by Poco, Pat Travers, Beck, Lucinda Williams, Iron & Wine, José Feliciano, Ben Bridwell, John Mayer with Eric Clapton, Joan Shelley, and Sadie Johnson; as well as “Bringing It Back” covered by Kansas.

In 2008, Cale, along with Clapton, received a Grammy Award for their album The Road to Escondido.

Okie is the third album by JJ Cale. It was first released in 1974.

Several songs from the album were later covered by other artists, including “I Got the Same Old Blues”, by Freddie King, Eric Clapton, Captain Beefheart, Bobby Bland, Lynyrd Skynyrd and Bryan Ferry; “Anyway the Wind Blows”, by Brother Phelps in 1995 and Bill Wyman’s Rhythm Kings in 1999; “Cajun Moon”, by Herbie Mann on his 1976 album Surprises, with vocals by Cissy Houston. “I’d Like to Love You, Baby” was covered by Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers in 2003, appearing on their 2009 album, The Live Anthology.

Track listing

All tracks written by JJ Cale, except as noted

No. Title Writer(s) Length
1. “Crying” 2:35
2. “I’ll Be There (If You Ever Want Me)” Rusty Gabbard, Ray Price 2:24
3. “Starbound” 1:58
4. “Rock and Roll Records” 2:10
5. “The Old Man and Me” 2:06
6. “Everlovin’ Woman” 2:12
7. “Cajun Moon” 2:14
8. “I’d Like to Love You Baby” 2:52
9. “Anyway the Wind Blows” 3:24
10. “Precious Memories” 2:11
11. “Okie” 1:57
12. “I Got the Same Old Blues” 2:59


Tracks 2 & 3–10 May 1973
Columbia Studio B, Nashville, Tennessee
Engineer, Stan Hutto
Bass, Tommy Cogbill
Drums, Karl Himmel
Piano, Jerry Smith
Rhythm guitar, Harold Bradley
Electric guitar, Grady Martin
Track 2
Gut slide guitar and vocal, JJ Cale
Track 3
Trumpet, George Tidwell
Trombone, Dennis Goode
Saxophone, Billy Pruett
Guitar and vocals, JJ Cale

Tracks 4,8–7 May 1973
Track 12–9 July 1973
Track 6–10 July 1973
Woodland Studio B, Nashville, Tennessee
Engineer, Rick Horton
Guitars and vocal, JJ Cale
Tracks 4 & 8
Bass, Tim Drummond
Drums, Karl Himmel
Keyboards, Jerry Whitehurst
Trumpet, George Tidwell
Trombone, Dennis Goode
Saxophone, Billy Pruett
Tracks 12 & 6
Bass, Tommy Cogbill
Drums, Kenny Malone
Piano, Hargus “Pig” Robbins
Guitar, Mac Gayden

Track 11–2 August 1973
Track 9–4 October 1973
Track 5–5 December 1973
JJ Cale’s House, Tulsa, Oklahoma Engineer, Audie Ashworth
Bass, Joel Green
Drums, Terry Perkins
Guitar, Paul Davis
Guitars and vocal, JJ Cale
Track 5
Steel Guitar, Weldon Myrick

Tracks 1,7 & 10–20 November 1973
Bradley’s Barn, Mount Juliet, Tennessee
Engineer, Joe Leach
Drums, Kenny Malone
Percussion, Farrel Morris
Keyboards, Beegie Cruzer
Guitar, Reggie Young
Guitars and vocal, JJ Cale
Track 10
Piano, Red Spivey
Tracks 1 & 10
Bass, Mike Leech
Track 7
Bass, Joel Green

  • Production: Audie Ashworth
Weight 1.00000000 kg


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “JJ CALE – OKIE LP – Nr MINT 1976”
Back to Top