1 in stock


Joe Turner – Boss Of The Blues
(Atlantic Records  1967  590006)
Matrix No’s: A1/B1 – UK Pressing

EJ Day Sleeve in Excellent condition
– front is great – back cover show some wear and number written top left and some recording info written under track listing

Vinyl in Nr MINT condition
(there are some surface marks visible on the vinyl when held up to the light but they don’t affect the sound quality apart from the odd light pop/crackle)

Joseph Vernon “Big Joe” Turner Jr. (May 18, 1911 – November 24, 1985) was an American blues shouter from Kansas City, Missouri. According to songwriter Doc Pomus, “Rock and roll would have never happened without him.” His greatest fame was due to his rock-and-roll recordings in the 1950s, particularly “Shake, Rattle and Roll”, but his career as a performer endured from the 1920s into the 1980s He was known as The Boss of the Blues and Big Joe Turner. He was 6 feet 2 inches tall and weighed over 300 pounds.

Turner was inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in 1987, with the Hall lauding him as “the brawny voiced ‘Boss of the Blues'”.

The Boss of the Blues is a 1956 album by the American blues shouter Big Joe Turner. Originally released on the Atlantic label, the album has been reissued many times on cassette and CD by Atlantic, Rhino and Collectables.

From the 1920s through the 1930s, Turner and boogie-woogie pianist Pete Johnson enjoyed a successful and highly influential collaboration that, following their appearance at Carnegie Hall on December 23, 1938, helped launch a craze for boogie-woogie in the United States. After the pair separated, Turner continued to experience cross-genre musical success, establishing himself as one of the founders of rock and roll with such smash hits as “Shake, Rattle and Roll”, but he did not turn his back on his roots. The Boss of the Blues marks one of the last reunions Turner would have with Johnson, as, supported by a number of swing’s best performers, they re-created a number of the classic tracks that had helped lay the groundwork for rhythm and blues. A presenter of jazz on Australian Broadcasting Commission radio said of this record, “When someone asks you ‘What is Jazz?’, just play the opening bars of ‘Roll ‘Em Pete'”. The bold, vigorous arrangements by the veteran Ernie Wilkins fully represent the traditions of Kansas City music, while also giving a ‘mainstream’ platform to the musicians, not all of whom, e.g. both Pete Brown and Lawrence Brown, had Kansas City backgrounds.

Track listing

Except where otherwise indicated, all tracks composed by Pete Johnson and Big Joe Turner.

  1. “Cherry Red” – 3:21
  2. “Roll ‘Em Pete” – 3:41
  3. “I Want a Little Girl” (Murray Mencher, Billy Moll) – 4:16
  4. “Low Down Dog” (Turner) – 3:38
  5. “Wee Baby Blues” – 7:15
  6. “You’re Driving Me Crazy (What Did I Do?)” (Walter Donaldson) – 4:10
  7. “How Long Blues” (traditional) – 5:43
  8. “Morning Glories” (traditional) – 3:39
  9. St. Louis Blues” (W. C. Handy) – 4:17
  10. “Piney Brown Blues” – 4:49



  • Lawrence Brown – trombone
  • Pete Brown – alto saxophone
  • Freddie Green – guitar
  • Pete Johnson – piano
  • Cliff Leeman – drums
  • Joe Newman – trumpet, except tracks 3, 5, 6, 8 and 9
  • Jimmy Nottingham – trumpet on tracks 3, 5, 6 and 9
  • Walter Page – double bass
  • Seldon Powell – tenor saxophone on tracks 3, 5, 6 and 9
  • Big Joe Turner – vocals
  • Frank Wess – tenor saxophone, except tracks 3, 5, 6, 8 and 9


  • Whitney Balliett – liner notes
  • Bob Defrin – art direction, design
  • Nesuhi Ertegun – production, supervision
  • Len Frank – engineering
  • Marvin Israel – artwork
  • Curtice Taylor – hand coloring
  • Jerry Wexler – production, supervision
  • Ernie Wilkins – arrangements
Weight 1.00000000 kg


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “JOE TURNER – BOSS OF THE BLUES LP – Nr MINT A1/B1 UK”
Back to Top