1 in stock


Johnny Cash – Johnny 99
(CBS Records  1983  25471)
Matrix No’s: A1/B2 – UK Pressing

Sleeve in Nr MINT condition

Vinyl in Nr MINT condition
(there are 1 or 2 surface marks visible on the vinyl when held up to the light but they don’t affect the sound quality)

John R. Cash (born J. R. Cash; February 26, 1932 – September 12, 2003) was an American singer-songwriter, guitarist, actor, and author. He is widely considered one of the most influential musicians of the 20th century and is one of the best-selling music artists of all time, having sold more than 90 million records worldwide. Although primarily remembered as a country music icon, his genre-spanning songs and sound embraced rock and roll, rockabilly, blues, folk, and gospel. This crossover appeal won Cash the rare honor of multiple inductions in the Country Music, Rock and Roll, and Gospel Music Halls of Fame.

Cash was known for his deep, calm bass-baritone voice, the distinctive sound of his Tennessee Three backing band, which is characterized by train-sound guitar rhythms; a rebelliousness coupled with an increasingly somber and humble demeanor, free prison concerts, and a trademark, all-black stage wardrobe, which earned him the nickname “The Man in Black.” He traditionally began his concerts by simply introducing himself, “Hello, I’m Johnny Cash,” followed by his signature “Folsom Prison Blues”.

Much of Cash’s music contained themes of sorrow, moral tribulation, and redemption, especially in the latter stages of his career. His signature songs include “I Walk the Line”, “Folsom Prison Blues”, “Ring of Fire”, “Get Rhythm”, and “Man in Black”. He also recorded humorous numbers like “One Piece at a Time” and “A Boy Named Sue”; a duet with his future wife, June Carter, called “Jackson” (followed by many further duets after their marriage); and railroad songs including “Hey, Porter”, “Orange Blossom Special” and “Rock Island Line“. During the last stage of his career, Cash covered songs by several late 20th-century rock artists, notably “Hurt” by Nine Inch Nails, “Personal Jesus” by Depeche Mode, “Southern Accents” by Tom Petty, “Rusty Cage” by Soundgarden, “I Hung My Head” by Sting and “The Mercy Seat” by Nick Cave.

Johnny 99 is the 69th album by American country singer Johnny Cash, released on Columbia Records in 1983. It is notable for including two covers of Bruce Springsteen songs from Springsteen’s 1982 album Nebraska, “Highway Patrolman” and “Johnny 99.” “I’m Ragged but I’m Right,” a George Jones song, was a minor hit, reaching No. 75. Johnny 99 is generally regarded as a strong release at a point in Cash’s career which is considered to be the least successful; it was also the second-to-last solo album released by Cash on Columbia, prior to his move to Mercury Records. Hoyt Axton sings background on “Highway Patrolman” and “Joshua Gone Barbados”. “New Cut Road” had been a relatively successful single for Bobby Bare in 1981; Paul Kennerley’s “Brand New Dance” would go on to be covered, among others, by Emmylou Harrison her 1990 album of the same name.

Several of the songs on Johnny 99 contain political or social themes and commentary: the title track tells the story of a disgruntled former automobile plant employee who turns to crime after encountering serious financial difficulties; “God Bless Robert E. Lee” praises the Confederacy’s most famous general for managing to prevent unnecessary loss of human life in the war-torn South by surrendering to the Union at Appomattox Court House; “Joshua Gone Barbados” deals with a sugarcane-cutters’ strike on Saint Vincentturned violent; “Highway Patrolman”, in turn, discusses a troubled relationship between the title character and his alcoholic, violent brother.

Track listing

No. Title Writer(s) Length
1. “Highway Patrolman” Bruce Springsteen 5:17
2. “That’s the Truth” Paul Kennerley 2:41
3. “God Bless Robert E. Lee” Bobby Borchers, Mack Vickery 3:40
4. “New Cut Road” Guy Clark 3:30
5. “Johnny 99” Bruce Springsteen 3:33
6. “Ballad of the Ark” Steven Rhymer 2:52
7. “Joshua Gone Barbados” Eric Von Schmidt 5:04
8. “Girl from the Canyon” Carolina Edwards, Jonathan Edwards 2:35
9. “Brand New Dance” (with June Carter Cash) Paul Kennerley 3:21
10. “I’m Ragged but I’m Right” George Jones 2:32


  • Johnny Cash – vocals, acoustic guitar
  • James Burton – electric guitar
  • Bob Wootton – electric guitar
  • Jerry Scheff – bass guitar
  • Hal Blaine – drums
  • Glen D. Hardin – keyboards
  • Brian Ahern – gut-string guitar, 6-string bass, tambourine, arrangements
  • Tim Goodman – electric guitar, acoustic guitar, slide guitar, 6-string bass, banjo
  • Nick DeCaro – accordion
  • Jo-El Sonnier – accordion
  • David Mansfield – mandolin, mandocello, fiddle
  • Marty Stuart – electric and acoustic guitar, mandolin
  • Norton Buffalo – harmonica
  • Hoyt Axton, Barbara Bennett, Donivan Cowart, Lynn Langham – vocals
  • June Carter – vocals on “Brand New Dance”
  • Jack Grochmal, Donivan Cowart, Brian Ahern – engineer
  • John Seakwood – photography
Weight 1.00000000 kg


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “JOHNNY CASH – JOHNNY 99 LP – Nr MINT A1/B2 UK COUNTRY”
Back to Top