1 in stock


Johnny Cash – Now, There Was A Song!
(CBS Records  1960  BPG62028  Mono)
Matrix No’s: A1/B1 – UK Pressing

Flipback Sleeve in Good/Fair condition
 – some wear to edges & 5 inch tear from opening edge & split along the bottom

Vinyl in Excellent/Very Good+ condition
(there are some surface marks visible on the vinyl when held up to the light but they don’t affect the sound quality apart from some light pops/crackle – Side 2 has a a couple of small scratches but nothing major)

ohn R. Cash (born J. R. Cash; February 26, 1932 – September 12, 2003) was an American singer-songwriter, guitarist, actor, and author. He is one of the best-selling music artists of all time, having sold more than 90 million records worldwide. Although primarily remembered as a country music icon, his genre-spanning songs and sound embraced rock and roll, rockabilly, blues, folk, and gospel. This crossover appeal won Cash the rare honor of multiple inductions in the Country Music, Rock and Roll, and Gospel Music Halls of Fame.

Cash was known for his deep, calm bass-baritone voice, the distinctive sound of his Tennessee Three backing band, which is characterized by train-sound guitar rhythms; a rebelliousness coupled with an increasingly somber and humble demeanor, free prison concerts, and a trademark, all-black stage wardrobe, which earned him the nickname “The Man in Black.” He traditionally began his concerts by simply introducing himself, “Hello, I’m Johnny Cash,” followed by his signature song “Folsom Prison Blues”.

Much of Cash’s music contained themes of sorrow, moral tribulation, and redemption, especially in the latter stages of his career. His signature songs include “I Walk the Line”, “Folsom Prison Blues”, “Ring of Fire”, “Get Rhythm”, and “Man in Black”. He also recorded humorous numbers like “One Piece at a Time” and “A Boy Named Sue”; a duet with his future wife, June Carter, called “Jackson” (followed by many further duets after their marriage); and railroad songs including “Hey, Porter”, “Orange Blossom Special” and “Rock Island Line“. During the last stage of his career, Cash covered songs by several late 20th-century rock artists, notably “Hurt” by Nine Inch Nails and “Personal Jesus” by Depeche Mode.

Now, There Was a Song! is the ninth album by Johnny Cash, featuring songs by Ernest Tubb, Hank Williams, and George Jones. It was released in 1960 on the Columbia label.

Track listing

No. Title Writer(s) Length
1. “Seasons of My Heart” Darrell Edwards, George Jones 2:29
2. “I Feel Better All Over” Kenny Rogers, Leon Smith 2:03
3. “I Couldn’t Keep from Crying” Marty Robbins 2:08
4. “Time Changes Everything” Tommy Duncan 1:49
5. “My Shoes Keep Walking Back to You” Lee Ross, Bob Wills 2:06
6. “I’d Just Be Fool Enough (To Fall)” Melvin Endsley 2:05
7. “Transfusion Blues” T.J. “Red” Arnall 2:32
8. “Why Do You Punish Me (For Loving You)” Erwin King 2:18
9. “I Will Miss You When You Go” Baby Stewart, Ernest Tubb 2:01
10. “I’m So Lonesome I Could Cry” Hank Williams 2:38
11. Just One More George Jones 2:12
12. “Honky Tonk Girl” Chuck Harding, Hank Thompson 1:58
Total length: 26:19


  • Johnny Cash – Main Performer, Vocals, Guitar
  • Luther Perkins – Lead Guitar
  • Johnny Western – Rhythm Guitar
  • Don Helms – Steel
  • Marshall Grant – Bass
  • Buddy Harman – Drums
  • Gordon Terry – Fiddle
  • Floyd Cramer – Piano
Weight 1.00000000 kg


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “JOHNNY CASH – NOW, THERE WAS A SONG! LP – EXC/VG+ A1/B1 UK  COUNTRY”
Back to Top