1 in stock


Johnny Cash – The Gospel Road
(CBS Records  1973  68243)
Matrix No’s: A1/B1/A1/B1 – UK Pressing

Gatefold Sleeve in Excellent+ condition
 – some wear to edges and faint sticker mark top right
Booklet in Nr MINT condition

Vinyls in Nr MINT condition
(there are 1 or 2 surface marks visible on the vinyls when held up to the light but they don’t affect the sound quality)

John R. Cash (born J. R. Cash; February 26, 1932 – September 12, 2003) was an American singer-songwriter, guitarist, actor, and author. He is one of the best-selling music artists of all time, having sold more than 90 million records worldwide. Although primarily remembered as a country music icon, his genre-spanning songs and sound embraced rock and roll, rockabilly, blues, folk, and gospel. This crossover appeal won Cash the rare honor of multiple inductions in the Country Music, Rock and Roll, and Gospel Music Halls of Fame.

Cash was known for his deep, calm bass-baritone voice; the distinctive sound of his Tennessee Three backing band, which is characterized by train-sound guitar rhythms; a rebelliousness coupled with an increasingly somber and humble demeanor; free prison concerts; and a trademark, all-black stage wardrobe, which earned him the nickname “The Man in Black.” He traditionally began his concerts by simply introducing himself, “Hello, I’m Johnny Cash,” followed by his signature song “Folsom Prison Blues”.

Much of Cash’s music contained themes of sorrow, moral tribulation, and redemption, especially in the later stages of his career. His signature songs include “I Walk the Line”, “Folsom Prison Blues”, “Ring of Fire”, “Get Rhythm”, and “Man in Black”. He also recorded humorous numbers like “One Piece at a Time” and “A Boy Named Sue”; a duet with his future wife, June Carter, called “Jackson” (followed by many further duets after their marriage); and railroad songs including “Hey, Porter”, “Orange Blossom Special”, and “Rock Island Line“. During the last stage of his career, Cash covered songs by several late 20th-century rock artists, notably “Hurt” by Nine Inch Nails and “Personal Jesus” by Depeche Mode.

The Gospel Road is a double album and the fourth gospel album and 45th overall album by American country singer Johnny Cash, released on Columbia Records in 1973. It is the soundtrack to the film of the same name released by Twentieth Century Fox.

The movie and the soundtrack tell the story of the life of Jesus. The album consists primarily of spoken-word recordings taken from the film of Cash describing the action on screen, interspersed with occasional songs, including several that are presented in piecemeal form through the album. Additional vocalists featured on varying tracks include The Carter Family, The Statler Brothers, June Carter Cash (who in the film and on the album portrays Mary Magdalene), Kris Kristofferson and Rita Coolidge. Songs performed included several that Cash had previously recorded for records such as The Holy Land and Hello, I’m Johnny Cash (“He Turned the Water Into Wine” and “Jesus Was a Carpenter”, respectively), along with cover versions of the Larry Gatlin song “Help Me” (which is titled simply “Help” on this release) and “Follow Me” by John Denver. Cash later recorded a full version of “Help Me” which was included on the posthumous album American V: A Hundred Highways under its complete title.

It peaked at No. 12 on the country album charts; the single released from it was “Children”/”Last Supper” (Columbia SP 4-45786, March, 1973). The movie was released on March 31, 1973.

Track listing

Side one

Running time – 22:36

  1. Song: “Praise the Lord” – Johnny Cash (Johnny Cash)
  2. Introduction*
  3. Song: “Gospel Road (Part 1)” – Johnny Cash (Christopher Wren)
  4. Jesus Early Years*
  5. Song: “Gospel Road (Part 2)” – Johnny Cash (Christopher Wren)
  6. John the Baptist*
  7. Baptism Of Jesus*
  8. Wilderness Temptation*
  9. Follow Me, Jesus*
  10. Song: “Gospel Road (Part 3)” – Johnny Cash (Christopher Wren)
  11. Jesus Announces His Divinity*
  12. Jesus’ Opposition is Established*
  13. Jesus’First Miracle*
  14. Song: “He Turned the Water into Wine (Part 1)” – Johnny Cash (Johnny Cash)
  15. State of the Nation*
  16. Song: “I See Men as Trees Walking” – Johnny Cash with The Carter Family and The Statler Brothers (Johnny Cash)
  17. Song: “Jesus Was a Carpenter” – Johnny Cash (Christopher Wren)
  18. Choosing of Twelve Disciples*

Side two

Running time – 22:00

  1. Jesus’Teachings*
  2. Parable of the Good Shepherd*
  3. The Two Greatest Commandments*
  4. Greater Love Hath No Man*
  5. John the Baptist’s Imprisonment and Death*
  6. Jesus Cleanses the Temple*
  7. Jesus Upbraids Scribes and Pharisees*
  8. Jesus in the Temple*
  9. Come Unto Me*
  10. Adulterous Woman, The*
  11. Song: “Help (Part #1)” – Larry Gatlin, Kris Kristofferson and Rita Coolidge (Larry Gatlin)
  12. Jesus and Nicodemus*
  13. Song: “Help (Part #2)” – Kris Kristofferson and Rita Coolidge (Larry Gatlin)
  14. Sermon on the Mount*
  15. Blessed Are*
  16. The Lord’s Prayer*
  17. Song: “Amen Chorus (Part 1)” – The Carter Family and the Statler Brothers (Traditional)
  18. Introducing Mary Magdalene*
  19. Mary Magdalene Speaks*
  20. Song: “Follow Me” – June Carter (John Denver)
  21. Magdalene Speaks Again*

Side three

Running time – 24:47

  1. Crossing the Sea of Galilee*
  2. Song: “He Turned the Water into Wine (Part 2)” – Johnny Cash (Johnny Cash)
  3. Song: “He Turned the Water into Wine (Part 3)” – Johnny Cash (Johnny Cash)
  4. Feeding the Multitude*
  5. Song: “He Turned the Water into Wine (Part 4)” – Johnny Cash (Johnny Cash)
  6. More Jesus Teachings*
  7. Living Water and the Bread of Life, The*
  8. Gospel Road (Part 4) – Johnny Cash (Christopher Wren)
  9. Jesus and Children*
  10. Song: “Children” – Johnny Cash with The Carter Family (Joe South)
  11. Four Months to Live*
  12. Song: “Help (Part 3)” – Johnny Cash (Larry Gatlin)
  13. Song: “Help (Part 4)” – Johnny Cash (Larry Gatlin)
  14. Raising of Lazarus*
  15. Jesus’ Second Coming*
  16. Jesus’ Entry into Jerusalem*
  17. Song: “The Burden of Freedom (Part 1)” – Johnny Cash (Kris Kristofferson)
  18. Jesus Wept*
  19. Song: “The Burden of Freedom (Part 2)” – Johnny Cash (Kris Kristofferson)
  20. Jesus Cleanses Temple Again*

Side four

Running time – 21:22

  1. Feast of the Passover*
  2. Song: “Lord, Is It I?” – The Statler Brothers (Harold Reid/DonReid, of The Statler Brothers)
  3. Song: “The Last Supper” – Johnny Cash with The Statler Brothers (Kris Kristofferson)
  4. John 14:1-3*
  5. And Now, He’s Alone*
  6. Agony in Gethsemane*
  7. Jesus Before Caiaphas, Pilate and Herod*
  8. Song: “The Burden of Freedom (Part 3)” – Johnny Cash (Kris Kristofferson)
  9. Crucifixion*
  10. Jesus’ Last Words*
  11. Jesus’ Death*
  12. Earthquake and Darkness*
  13. He is Risen*
  14. Mary Magdalene Returns to Galilee*
  15. Jesus Appears to Disciples*
  16. Great Commission, The*
  17. Ascension*
  18. Song: “Amen Chorus (Part 2)” – The Carter Family and the Statler Brothers (Traditional)
  19. Jesus Was a Carpenter (Part 2) – Johnny Cash (Christopher Wren)

Tracks* narration by Johnny Cash, recorded in The Holy Land. Written by Johnny Cash and L Murray.


  • Johnny Cash – vocals, guitar
  • Bob Wootton, Carl Perkins, Ray Edenton, Bill Rice, Red Lane, Billy Sanford, Larry Gatlin, Jim Colvard, Chip Young – guitar
  • Marshall Grant, Tommy Cogbill – bass
  • WS Holland, Kenny Buttrey – drums
  • Norman Blake – dobro
  • Bill Pursell, Chuck Cochrane, Bobby Wood – piano
  • Larry Butler, Mike Utley – keyboards
  • Don Tweedy – saxophone
  • Mark Morris – percussion

Additional Personnel

Produced by Larry Butler

Weight 2.00000000 kg


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “JOHNNY CASH – THE GOSPEL ROAD 2LP – Nr MINT A1 UK COUNTRY”
Back to Top