1 in stock


Kool Moe Dee – Knowledge Is King
(Jive Records  1989  NL74737)
Matrix No’s: A1/B1

Vinyl in Nr MINT condition
(there are some surface marks visible on the vinyl when held up to the light but they don’t affect the sound quality)

Sleeve in Nr MINT- condition
– faint sticker mark on front
Inner Sleeve in Nr MINT condition

Mohandas Dewese (born August 8, 1962), better known by his stage name Kool Moe Dee, is an American hip hop MC prominent during the late 1970s through the early 1990s. Kool Moe Dee was one of the first rappers to earn a Grammy Award and was the first rapper to perform at the Grammys.

Knowledge Is King is the third solo studio album by American rapper Kool Moe Dee from the Treacherous Three. It was recorded at Soundtrack Studios in New York City, New York and released on May 30, 1989 via Jive Records. Production for the album was handled by Teddy Riley, LaVaba Mallison, Pete Q. Harris and Kool Moe Dee. The record peaked at number 25 on the Billboard 200 and number 2 on the Top R&B/Hip-Hop Albums. It is his second best-selling album, achieving gold certification by the RIAA on August 22, 1989 (his previous album How Ya Like Me Now was certified platinum).

The album spawned four charted singles: “Let’s Go”, “All Night Long”, “I Go to Work”, and “They Want Money”. “They Want Money” went the most successful single of the effort, peaking at #3 on the Hot R&B/Hip-Hop Songs, #2 on the Hot Rap Songs and #91 on the UK Singles Chart. “I Go to Work” peaked at #13 on the Hot R&B/Hip-Hop Songs and #5 on the Hot Rap Songs. “All Night Long” peaked at #70 on the Hot R&B/Hip-Hop Songs, and “Let’s Go”, a diss track towards Kool Moe Dee’s foe LL Cool J, peaked at #11 on the Hot R&B/Hip-Hop Songs.

Track listing

No. Title Writer(s) Length
1. “They Want Money”
  • M. Dewese
  • T. Riley
2. “The Avenue” M. Dewese 3:46
3. “I Go to Work” M. Dewese 4:40
4. “All Night Long” M. Dewese 4:11
5. “Knowledge is King”
  • M. Dewese
  • P. Harris
6. “I’m Hittin’ Hard” M. Dewese 4:34
7. “Get the Picture”
  • M. Dewese
  • L. Mallison
8. “I’m Blowin’ Up” M. Dewese 4:55
9. “The Don” M. Dewese 5:10
10. “Pump Your Fist” M. Dewese 4:27
11. “Let’s Go” M. Dewese 5:24
Total length: 44:32


  • Track 11 is a hidden diss track towards LL Cool J.

Sample credits

  • “They Want Money” contains elements from “Get on the Good Foot” by James Brown and “It’s Just Begun” by Jimmy Castor
  • “The Avenue” contains elements from “White Lines (Don’t Don’t Do It)” by Grandmaster Melle Mel and “Down on the Avenue” by Fat Larry’s Band
  • “I Go to Work” contains elements from “Super Bad” by James Brown and “Think (About It)” by Lyn Collins
  • “All Night Long” contains elements from “Groove Me” by King Floyd
  • “Knowledge is King” contains elements from “Funky Drummer” by James Brown and “I Get Lifted” by KC & the Sunshine Band
  • “I’m Hittin’ Hard” contains elements from “Brother Green (The Disco King)” by Roy Ayers and “The Wildstyle” by Time Zone
  • “Get the Picture” contains elements from “Gotta Be Funky” by Monk Higgins & The Specialties
  • “I’m Blowin’ Up” contains elements from “UFO” by ESG and “Funky Drummer” by James Brown
  • “The Don” contains elements from “Gimme Some More” by The J.B.’s, “The Mexican” by Babe Ruth, “It’s Just Begun” by Jimmy Castor and “Gangster Boogie” by Chicago Gangsters
  • “Pump Your Fist” contains elements from “Soul Makossa” by Manu Dibango
  • “Let’s Go” contains elements from “Think (About It)” by Lyn Collins, “Thriller” by Michael Jackson, “Jack the Ripper” and “I Can’t Live Without My Radio” by LL Cool J


  • Mohandes Dewese – vocals, producer
  • LaVaba Mallison – mixing, producer
  • Edward Theodore Riley – producer
  • Peter Brian Harris – producer
  • Chris Trevett – engineering
  • Josh Chervokas – engineering
  • George Karras – mixing
  • Kafi Tuda – grooming
  • Pietro Alfieri – artwork
  • Doug Rowell – photography
  • Ralph Wernli – photography
Weight 1.00000000 kg


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “KOOL MOE DEE – KNOWLEDGE IS KING LP – Nr MINT A1/B1 1989 RAP HIP HOP”
Back to Top