1 in stock


Kurtis Blow – America
(Mercury Records  1985  8261411)
Matrix No’s: 1Y1/2Y1

Vinyl in Nr MINT condition

Sleeve in Nr MINT condition

Kurtis Walker (born August 9, 1959), professionally known by his stage name Kurtis Blow, is an American rapper, singer, songwriter, record/film producer, Bboy, DJ, public speaker and minister. He is the first commercially successful rapper and the first to sign with a major record label. “The Breaks”, a single from his 1980 self-titled debut album, is the first certified gold record rap song for Hip Hop. Throughout his career he has released 15 albums and is currently an ordained minister.

America is the sixth album by rapper Kurtis Blow, released in 1985. The album includes the song “If I Ruled the World” from the movie Krush Groove, Kurt’s biggest hit since “The Breaks” and one of the last of his musical career. The album was the first album Kurtis Blow produced in a new deal with Pollygram Records that gave Kurtis the title, ‘Hip Hop’s First Millionaire”. The album was released in an era when old school hip-hop was being overtaken by a harder sound and attitude, but the album nevertheless spawned Kurt’s biggest UK hit single, with “If I Ruled the World”, which reached number 24 in the UK Singles Chart in January 1986. This album also includes the first sample loop which revolutionized the music industry.

Track listing

  1. “America (Vocal)” (Kurtis Blow) – 6:17
  2. “America (Dub Mix)” (Blow) – 2:42
  3. “Super Sperm” (Blow) – 1:16
  4. “AJ Meets Davy DMX” (Blow, David Reeves) – 6:37
  5. “Hello Baby” (Blow, Reeves) – 6:42
  6. “If I Ruled the World” (Blow, Reeves, AJ Scratch) – 7:10
  7. “Respect to the King”(Blow, Delaney McGill) – 1:57
  8. “AJ is Cool” (Blow, Reeves) – 5:51
  9. “Summertime Groove” (Blow, Danny Harris, Robert Robertson) – 5:44
  10. “MC Lullaby” (Blow) – :28
  11. “Don’t Cha Feel Like Making Love” (Anthony Foster, Daniel Harris) – 4:16
Weight 1.00000000 kg


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “KURTIS BLOW – AMERICA LP – Nr MINT RAP HIP HOP”
Back to Top