1 in stock


Mass Production – ’83
(Cotillion Records  1983  900791  US Press)

 Vinyl in Nr MINT condition

Sleeve in Nr MINT condition
– still in original shrinkwrap but does have import punch hole in bottom left corner

Mass Production is an American funk/disco musical group, best known for their 1979 hit, Firecracker. Based in Norfolk, Virginia, the ten-piece group had a series of minor R&B hits in the late 1970s and early 1980s. “Firecracker” is commonly misattributed to the similarly named (and sonically/stylistically similar) band Brass Construction.

The band consisted of Kevin “D’No” Douglas (bass and vocals), Joseph Robinson Smallwood (trumpet, flugelhorn, and vocals), Agnes “Tiny” Kelly (lead vocals, vocoder; later replaced by Dee (DeeDee) Henderson), Larry Marshall (lead vocals, percussion), Gregory McCoy (saxophone), Emmanuel Redding (percussion), Ricardo Williams (lead vocals, drums, percussion), Tyrone Williams (keyboards), Rodney Phelps (lead guitar, keyboards) and LeCoy Bryant (rhythm guitar, vocals). Phelps left the band prior to the recording of their 1980 Massterpiece album, leaving Bryant to handle all guitar duties. Phelps was later replaced by Dan Harris (lead guitar). Dan Harris toured with the group as a freelance guitarist for a couple of years then left the band to work as a recording session musician. The band would soon expand back to ten, with Samuel Williams joining on drums in the early 1980s, allowing Ricardo Williams to concentrate more on vocals.

In addition to “Firecracker,” which hit number four on the R&B chart in the late summer of 1979, other hits by the band include “Cosmic Lust”, “Groove Me”, and “Shante.” The group stayed together for several more years, scoring a string of small hits, before deciding to disband in 1983.

Mass Production has recently reunited, and is in the process of recording new material and preparing to hit the stage in 2017.

“Firecracker” was sampled by 2 Live Crew for their 1989 hit single “Me So Horny”, from their album As Nasty As They Wanna Be.


A1 Sun Dancer

Written-By – T. Williams*

A2 Time Bomb

Written-By – L. Marshall*, R. Williams*, S. Williams*, T. Kelly*

A3 Victory In ’83

Written-By – R. Williams*

A4 Style

Written-By – R. Williams*, T. Williams*

B1 Farewell Love

Written-By – L. Marshall*, L. Bryant*, S. Williams*, T. Kelly*

B2 Here You Come (Creeping Back In My Dreams)

Written-By – T. Williams*

B3 Chasing Rainbows

Written-By – R. Williams*

B4 Don’t Stop Believin’

Written-By – R. Williams*, S. Williams*



  • Alto Saxophone – Gregory McCoy (tracks: B4)
  • Arranged By – Tyrone Williams (2) (tracks: A1)
  • Arranged By [Horns] – Ricardo Williams (tracks: B4)
  • Arranged By [Rhythm] – Ricardo Williams (tracks: A3), Sam Williams* (tracks: A2, B4), Tyrone Williams (2) (tracks: A4, B2, B4)
  • Arranged By [Vocals] – Larry Marshall (3) (tracks: A2), Ricardo Williams (tracks: A3, A4, B4), Tyrone Williams (2) (tracks: B2)
  • Art Direction, Design – Bob Defrin
  • Backing Vocals – Larry Marshall (3) (tracks: B1 to B4), Ricardo Williams (tracks: B1 to B4), Tai Kelly* (tracks: B1 to B4)
  • Bass – Kevin Douglas (tracks: A2, B1)
  • Bells – Sam Williams* (tracks: A1), Tyrone Williams (2) (tracks: A4)
  • Drums – Sam Williams* (tracks: A1, A2, A4 to B4)
  • Engineer – Bill Dooley
  • Flugelhorn – James Drumgole (tracks: B4)
  • Flute – Herbie Mann (tracks: A1)
  • Guitar – Lecoy Bryant* (tracks: A1, A2, A4 to B4)
  • Handclaps – Anthony Clayton (tracks: A4), Lecoy Bryant* (tracks: A4, B4), Sam Williams* (tracks: A4, B4), Tyrone Williams (2) (tracks: A4, B4)
  • Illustration – Jim Cherry (3)
  • Lead Vocals – Larry Marshall (3) (tracks: A2, B1), Ricardo Williams (tracks: A3, B1, B2), Tai Kelly* (tracks: B3, B4)
  • Mastered By, Lacquer Cut By – Dennis King
  • Percussion [Linn Drum] – Emanuel Redding* (tracks: A2, A3)
  • Photography By – Dick Lavalais
  • Producer – Bryant*, Williams*, Williams*
  • Synthesizer – Ricardo Williams (tracks: A3), Tyrone Williams (2) (tracks: A1, A2, A4 to B4)
  • Tenor Saxophone – Greg McCoy* (tracks: A1, B4)
  • Tenor Saxophone [Solo] – Anthony “Spanky” Clayton* (tracks: A4)
  • Timbales – Sam Williams* (tracks: A2)
  • Trumpet – James Drumgole (tracks: A1, B4)
Weight 1.00000000 kg


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “MASS PRODUCTION – ’83 LP – Nr MINT FUNK DISCO SOUL”
Back to Top