1 in stock


Mory Kante – 10 Cola Nuts
(Barclay Records   1986  8290871)

Embossed Sleeve & Inner Sleeve in Nr MINT condition
 – some slight wear to edges of outer and small crease in bottom left corner

Vinyl in Nr MINT condition
(there are some surface marks visible on the vinyl when held up to the light but they don’t affect the sound quality apart from the odd light pop/crackle)

Mory Kanté (born 29 March 1950, Kissidougou, Guinea) is a vocalist and player of the kora harp. He was born into one of Guinea’s best known families of griot (hereditary) musicians. After being brought up in the Mandinka griot tradition in Guinea, he was sent to Mali at the age of seven years – where he learned to play the kora, as well as important voice traditions, some of which are necessary to become a griot.

In 1971 Kanté became a member of the Rail Band, in which Salif Keïta was a singer. Keïta left the band in 1973, leaving Kanté as the singer.

Kanté is best known internationally for his 1987 hit song “Yé ké yé ké”, which was one of Africa’s best-ever selling hits as well as being a European Number One in 1988, making it the first ever African single to sell over one million copies.

Three songs from Akwaba Beach (1987) were referenced in three blockbuster songs in Hindi films. Yé ké yé ké is played in the background of the 1990 epic Agneepath, when Amitabh Bachchan’s character is in Mauritius. Tama, another song from this album inspired Tamma Tamma Loge from the 1990 hit Thanedaar, starring Sanjay Dutt and Madhuri Dixit as well as Jumma Chumma De De from the 1991 Bachchan magnum opus Hum. Another song from this album Inch Allah inspired the opening lines of the title track of Hum.

Kanté received unexpected fame again in 1994 when the German techno duo Hardfloor created a dance remix of “Yéké Yéké.” He also appeared in 2006 as vocalist on British DJ Darren Tate’s release, “Narama”.

On 16 October 2001, Mory Kanté was nominated Goodwill Ambassador of the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO).


A1 10 Cola Nuts 3:45
A2 Kebendo 4:43
A3 Kouma 4:03
B1 Teri Ya 6:02
B2 Lele 4:00
B3 Nonsense (Apartheid) 5:10


  • Alto Saxophone – Sofi Hellborg (tracks: B2)
  • Backing Vocals – Djanka Diabate
  • Bass Guitar – Willy N’for*
  • Choir – Astou Sissokho (tracks: B3)
  • Composed By, Arranged By – Mory Kanté
  • Drums – Kuo Joseph*
  • Executive Producer – Otis M’Baye
  • Guitar – Mory Kanté
  • Keyboards – David Sancious
  • Kora [Cora] – Mory Kanté
  • Lead Vocals – Mory Kanté
  • Mixed By – Abdoulaye Soumare
  • Percussion – Moussa Cissokho
  • Photography By – Bernard Matussière
  • Producer – David Sancious, Mory Kanté
  • Tenor Saxophone – Jane Shorter (tracks: B2)


Weight 1.00000000 kg


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “MORY KANTE – 10 COLA NUTS LP – Nr MINT WORLD MUSIC”
Back to Top