1 in stock


New Model Army – The Ghost Of Cain
(EMI Records  1986  EMC3516)
Matrix No’s: A1/B2 – UK Pressing

Vinyl in Nr MINT/Excellent+ condition
(there are some surface marks visible on the vinyl when held up to the light but they don’t affect the sound quality apart from some light pops/crackles, mainly heard in-between tracks)

Sleeve & Inner Sleeve in Nr MINT- condition
– outer has some slight wear to edges/corners and a tiny sticker mark in top right corner

New Model Army are an English rock band formed in Bradford, West Yorkshire in 1980 by lead singer, guitarist and main composer Justin Sullivan, bassist Stuart Morrow and drummer Phil Tompkins. Sullivan has been the only continuous member of the band, which has seen numerous line-up changes in its 37-year history. Their music draws on influences across the musical spectrum, from punk and folk to soul, metal and classical. Sullivan’s lyrics, which range from directly political through to spiritual and personal, have always been considered as a key part of the band’s appeal. By the time they began making their first records in 1983, Robert Heaton, a former drum technician for Hawkwind, had replaced Tompkins.

Whilst having their roots in punk rock, the band have always been difficult to categorise. In 1999, when asked about this, Sullivan said “We’ve been labelled as punks, post-punks, Goth, metal, folk – the lot, but we’ve always been beyond those style confines”. Following a large turnover of personnel, both permanent and as touring members, as of August 2017 New Model Army comprise Sullivan, Dean White (keyboards and guitar), Michael Dean (drums), Marshall Gill (guitar) and Ceri Monger (bass).

The Ghost of Cain is the third studio album of British rock band New Model Army. Released in 1986, The Ghost of Cain propelled the band to the forefront of the alternative rock scene in the 1980s. Not least thanks to the widely acclaimed underground hit song, “51st State”, which is the only song by the band to date to feature lyrics not written by the band themselves; the lyrics were written by Ashley Cartwright of The Shakes.

It was the first album to feature new bassist, Jason ‘Moose’ Harris. It also features former Nine Below Zero member Mark Feltham as a guest musician on harmonica on songs “Poison Street” and “Ballad”.

Brazilian thrash metal band Sepultura covered the song “The Hunt” on their 1993 album, Chaos A.D.. UK folk metal band Skyclad covered the song “Master Race” on their Oui Avant-Garde á Chance album in 1996.

Track listing

  1. “The Hunt” (Justin Sullivan, Robert Heaton) – 4:11
  2. “Lights Go Out” (Sullivan, Heaton) – 3:55
  3. “51st State” (Ashley Cartwright, New Model Army) – 2:32
  4. “All of This” (Sullivan, Heaton) – 3:32
  5. “Poison Street” (Sullivan, Heaton) – 3:04
  6. “Western Dream” (Sullivan, Heaton) – 3:53
  7. “Lovesongs” (Sullivan, Heaton) – 3:00
  8. “Heroes” (Sullivan) – 4:04
  9. “Ballad” (Sullivan) – 3:53
  10. “Master Race” (Sullivan) – 2:59



  • Glyn Johns – producer, engineer
  • Stuart Stawman – engineer
  • Ethan Johns – additional engineering
  • Joolz Denby – cover design
  • Francesca Sullivan – cover photography


  • Justin Sullivan – vocals, guitar
  • Robert Heaton – drums
  • Jason ‘Moose’ Harris – bass
  • Mark Feltham – harmonica on “Poison Street” and “Ballad”
Weight 1.00000000 kg


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “NEW MODEL ARMY – THE GHOST OF CAIN LP – Nr MINT A1/B1 UK PUNK”
Back to Top