1 in stock


Orchestral Manoeuvres In The Dark – Architecture & Morality
(Dindisc Records  1981  DID12)
Matrix No’s: A3/B3 – UK Pressing

Die-Cut Sleeve in Excellent+ condition
– some light rubbing & a few small light marks
Inner Sleeve in Nr MINT condition

Vinyl in Nr MINT- condition
(there are some surface marks visible on the vinyl when held up to the light but they don’t affect the sound quality apart from some light pops/crackles)

Orchestral Manoeuvres in the Dark (OMD) are an English electronic music band formed in Wirral, Merseyside in 1978. Spawned by earlier group The Id, the outfit was founded by Andy McCluskey (vocals, bass guitar) and Paul Humphreys (keyboards, vocals); amid rotating line-ups, Martin Cooper (various instruments) and Malcolm Holmes (drums) are the longest-serving additional members. OMD released their influential debut single, “Electricity”, in 1979, and gained popularity throughout Europe with the 1980 anti-war song “Enola Gay”. The band achieved broader recognition via their seminal album Architecture & Morality (1981) and its three singles, all of which were international hits. Steadily resistant to celebrity status, the group earned acclaim for their adventurous recordings, which combined sonic experimentation and atypical subject matter with musical hooks.

Although retrospectively described as a challenging masterpiece, the avant-garde Dazzle Ships (1983) eroded European support. The band embraced a more straightforward pop sound on Junk Culture (1984), while continuing to experiment via newly acquired digital samplers; this change in direction led to greater success in the United States, and yielded the 1986 hit, “If You Leave”. A year after the release of The Best of OMD (1988), creative differences rendered McCluskey the only remaining member of the group as Humphreys formed spin-off band The Listening Pool. OMD would return with a new line-up and explore the dance-pop genre: Sugar Tax (1991) and its initial singles were sizeable hits in Europe. By the mid 1990s, however, electronic music had been supplanted by alternative rock, and both OMD and The Listening Pool disbanded in 1996. McCluskey went on to found, and write multiple hits for girl group Atomic Kitten, while Humphreys performed as half of the duo Onetwo.

In 2006, the outfit reformed with Humphreys back in the fold, and began to work on material more akin to their early output. The band re-established themselves as a chart act in Europe, while enjoying a growing international fanbase and a legacy as innovators within popular music. An influence on many artists in diverse genres, their songs have been covered, remixed and sampled by numerous chart musicians, and the group are the subject of two tribute albums. The Oxford Times described OMD as being “among the most important bands Britain has ever produced”.

Architecture & Morality is the third studio album by British electronic music group Orchestral Manoeuvres in the Dark. It was released through Dindisc and Virgin Records on 8 November 1981. Hailed as the band’s seminal work, the album received critical acclaim and has appeared on various “best albums” lists; The Morning News named it the finest record of 1981, and “the blueprint for synth-pop”. The album also became a commercial success, selling over 4 million copies by 2007. The record spawned three international hit singles, which sold more than 8 million copies combined.

Track listings

All songs were written by Andy McCluskey and Paul Humphreys, except where noted.

Side one
No. Title Writer(s) Length
1. “The New Stone Age” McCluskey 3:22
2. “She’s Leaving” 3:28
3. “Souvenir” Humphreys, Martin Cooper 3:39
4. “Sealand” 7:47
Side two
No. Title Writer(s) Length
1. “Joan of Arc” McCluskey 3:48
2. “Joan of Arc (Maid of Orleans)” McCluskey 4:12
3. “Architecture and Morality” 3:43
4. “Georgia” 3:24
5. “The Beginning and the End” 3:48


  • Paul Humphreys – synthesisers, piano, mellotron, acoustic and electronic percussion, organ, rhythm programming, radios, melodica and vocals
  • Andy McCluskey – synthesisers, mellotron, guitar, bass, rhythm programming, acoustic and electronic percussion, reed horns, organ and vocals
  • Malcolm Holmes – drums, electronic and acoustic percussion, bass synthesiser
  • Martin Cooper – saxophone
Weight 1.00000000 kg


There are no reviews yet.

Back to Top