1 in stock


John Otway & Wild Willy Barrett – Deep & Meaningless
(Polydor Records  1978  2383501)
Matrix No’s: A1/B1 – UK Pressing

Sleeve in Excellent condition
– some wear to edges/corners & light ringwear rubbing

Vinyl in Nr MINT/Excellent+ condition
(there are some surface marks visible on the vinyl when held up to the light but they don’t affect the sound quality apart from some light pops/crackles)
No free 7″ present

John Otway (born 2 October 1952) is an English singer-songwriter who has built a cult audience through extensive touring.

Roger John Barrett (born 30 May 1950), known professionally as Wild Willy Barrett, is an English experimental musician and multi-instrumentalist, best known for his collaborations with John Otway. His musical style has included folk, blues, psychedelia, pop and punk rock and his live performances are punctuated with his dry humour and onstage wit. He is known for virtuoso fiddle playing, ability with a great number of stringed instruments, and playing slide guitar with a whole raw egg (known as egg-necking). During recent Otway/Barrett performances, he has also introduced the ‘wah wah wheelie bin’.

Deep & Meaningless is the second album by English folk singer-songwriter duo John Otway and Wild Willy Barrett. It was released in 1978. The album included the song “Beware Of The Flowers (‘Cos I’m Sure They’re Going To Get You Yeah)”, which was voted Britain’s seventh most popular song lyric in a 1999 BBC online poll. The song’s strong showing—ahead of The Moody Blues’ “Nights in White Satin” and Hoagy Carmichael’s “Stardust”—was the result of what Otway’s website described as a “well orchestrated campaign” by fans.

Track listing

All songs written by John Otway except where noted

Side one

  1. “Place Farm Way” – 3:31
  2. “To Anne” – 3:27
  3. “Beware Of The Flowers (‘Cos I’m Sure They’re Going To Get You Yeah)” – 2:30
  4. “The Alamo” (Jane Bowers) – 3:16
  5. “Oh My Body Is Making Me” – 4:09

Side two

1. “Josephine” (Otway-Harry) – 7:02
2. “Schnot” – 2:44
3. (a) “Riders In The Sky” (Jones)

(b) “Running From the Law”
(c) “Riders In The Sky” – 3:03
4. “I Wouldn’t Wish It On You” – 3:11
5. “Can’t Complain” – 2:32


  • John Otway: Lead Vox, Guitar,
  • Wild Willy Barrett: Guitar, Violin
  • Nigel Pegrum: Drums
  • Maggie Ryder: Backing Vox
  • Mark Freeman: Drums
  • Dave Holmes: Drums
  • Yvonne Grech: Backing Vox
  • Simon Hansen
Weight 1.00000000 kg


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “OTWAY & BARRETT – DEEP & MEANINGLESS LP – Nr MINT/EXC+ A1/B1 UK PUNK”
Back to Top