1 in stock


Paul Simon – One Trick Pony
(Warner Bros Records  1980  WB56846)

Sleeve in Nr MINT condition
– a little wear to edges
Inner Sleeve in Nr MINT conditon

Vinyl in Nr MINT condition
(there are some surface marks visible on the vinyl when held up to the light but they don’t affect the sound quality)

Paul Frederic Simon (born October 13, 1941) is an American musician and singer-songwriter. Simon’s fame, influence, and commercial success began as part of the duo Simon & Garfunkel, formed in 1964 with musical partner Art Garfunkel. Simon wrote most of the pair’s songs, including three that reached No. 1 on the U.S. singles charts: “The Sound of Silence”, “Mrs. Robinson”, and “Bridge Over Troubled Water”. The duo split up in 1970 at the height of their popularity, and Simon began a successful solo career as a guitarist and singer-songwriter, recording three highly acclaimed albums over the next five years. In 1986, he released Graceland, an album inspired by South African township music. Simon also wrote and starred in the film One-Trick Pony (1980) and co-wrote the Broadway musical The Capeman (1998) with the poet Derek Walcott.

Simon has earned 12 Grammys for his solo and collaborative work, including the Lifetime Achievement Award. In 2001, he was inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and in 2006 was selected as one of the “100 People Who Shaped the World” by Time magazine. Among many other honors, Simon was the first recipient of the Library of Congress’s Gershwin Prize for Popular Song in 2007. In 1986 Simon was awarded an Honorary Doctor of Music degree from Berklee College of Music where he currently serves on the Board of Trustees.

One-Trick Pony, Paul Simon’s fifth solo studio album, was released in 1980. It was Simon’s first album for Warner Bros. Records, and his first new studio album since 1975’s Still Crazy After All These Years. His back catalog from Columbia Records would also move to Warner Bros. as a result of his signing with the label.

Paul Simon’s One-Trick Pony was released concurrently with the film of the same name, in which Simon also starred. Despite their similarities, the album and film are musically distinct: each features different versions of the same songs, as well as certain songs that appear exclusively on either the film or the album. The album is best known for the Grammy-nominated track “Late in the Evening” which was a hit for Simon in 1980, peaking at #6 in the United States. Two of the tracks (the title song and “Ace in the Hole”) were recorded live at the Agora Theatre and Ballroom in Cleveland, Ohio in September 1979. The rest are studio cuts.

A few of the session musicians appearing on the album also appeared in the movie as the character Jonah’s backing band: Eric Gale on lead guitar, Richard Tee on piano, Tony Levin on bass, and Steve Gadd on drums.

Track listing

All songs were written by Paul Simon.

Side one
  1. “Late in the Evening” – 4:02
  2. “That’s Why God Made the Movies” – 3:37
  3. “One-Trick Pony” (Live at the Agora Theatre and Ballroom, Cleveland, Ohio, September 1979) – 3:53
  4. “How the Heart Approaches What It Yearns” – 2:49
  5. “Oh, Marion” – 4:00
Side two
  1. “Ace in the Hole” (Live at the Agora Theatre and Ballroom, Cleveland, Ohio, September 1979) – 5:43
  2. “Nobody” – 3:32
  3. “Jonah” – 3:30
  4. “God Bless the Absentee” – 3:17
  5. “Long, Long Day” (with Patti Austin) – 3:57


  • Paul Simon – vocals, nylon string guitar, electric guitar, percussion, acoustic guitar on “Stranded in a Limousine” (2004 reissue only), horn and string arrangements
  • John Tropea – acoustic guitar on “Jonah”
  • Patti Austin – vocals
  • Joe Beck – electric guitar on “Long Long Day”
  • Michael Brecker – saxophone on “Stranded in a Limousine” (2004 reissue only)
  • Hiram Bullock – electric slide guitar on “That’s Why God Made the Movies”
  • Jon Faddis – flugelhorn on “Oh, Marion”
  • Don Grolnick – string synthesizer on “That’s Why God Made the Movies”
  • David Sanborn – saxophone on “Stranded in a Limousine” (2004 reissue only)
  • Marvin Stamm – trumpet on “Stranded in a Limousine” (2004 reissue only)
  • Ralph MacDonald – percussion
  • Randy Brecker – trumpet on “Stranded in a Limousine” (2004 reissue only)
  • Dave Grusin – horn and string arrangements
  • Gordon Edwards – bass on “Stranded in a Limousine” (2004 reissue only)
  • Steve Gadd – drums on all songs, percussion on “Stranded in a Limousine” (2004 reissue only)
  • Eric Gale – electric guitar, nylon string guitar on “How the Heart Approaches What it Yearns”
  • Lani Groves – background vocals
  • Anthony Jackson – bass on “Oh Marion”
  • Tony Levin – bass on all songs except where noted
  • Irwin “Marky” Markowitz – trumpet on “Stranded in a Limousine” (2004 reissue only)
  • Hugh McCracken – acoustic guitar
  • Jeff Mironov – electric guitar on “Oh, Marion”
  • Richard Tee – Fender Rhodes electric piano, piano on “God Bless the Absentee” and “Stranded in a Limousine” (2004 reissue only), tambourine, background vocals and co-lead vocal on “Ace In the Hole”
  • Bob Friedman – horn and string arrangements
  • Paul Simon, Phil Ramone – producers
  • Jim Boyer – recording engineer, mixing engineer
  • Ted Jensen – mastering engineer


Weight 1.00000000 kg


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “PAUL SIMON – ONE TRICK PONY LP – Nr MINT 1980”
Back to Top