1 in stock


Pavlov’s Dog – Pampered Menial
(Columbia Records 1975  PC33552  US Press)

Textured Gatefold Sleeve in Very Good+ condition
– wear to edges/corners – title not legible on spine

Vinyl in Nr MINT condition
(there are some surface marks visible on the vinyl when held up to the light but they don’t affect the sound quality apart from the odd light pop/crackle)

Pavlov’s Dog is a 1970s progressive rock/AOR band formed in St. Louis, Missouri in 1972. Pavlov’s Dog originally comprised David Surkamp, Mark Gahr on lead guitar, Mike Safron, Rick Stockton, David Hamilton, Doug Rayburn, and Siegfried Carver (born Richard Nadler). Mark Gahr left the band and was replaced by Steve Scorfina. On their second album At the Sound of the Bell (1976), Tom Nickeson was added to the line-up on guitar and he took over Hamilton’s keyboard position after the album had been recorded as Hamilton left the band. Safron was still a member of the band but did not appear on the second album; former Yes drummer Bill Bruford played as a guest musician. Safron left in the aftermath of this, partially due to his failure to receive a promised credit on the album sleeve and the band’s third album featured Kirk Sarkisian on drums.

Pampered Menial is an album released in 1975 by progressive rock/AOR band, Pavlov’s Dog.

The album features the band’s original line-up, comprising David Surkamp (vocals and guitar), Steve Scorfina (lead guitar), Mike Safron (drums), Rick Stockton (bass guitar), David Hamilton (keyboard), Doug Rayburn (mellotron and flute), and Siegfried Carver (born Richard Nadler) (various string instruments including the rare Vitar, a cross between a guitar and a violin). Carver left the band soon after the album was released. It was first released on ABC Records,debuting on the charts in early April. The LP was soon reissued by Columbia Records, whose version (with slightly different cover) entered the charts in mid-June, just after the ABC issue had dropped off the charts. Having both versions on sale in stores at nearly the same time may have confused buyers.

Track listing

  1. “Julia” (David Surkamp) – 3:10
  2. “Late November” (David Surkamp, Steve Scorfina) – 3:13
  3. “Song Dance” (Mike Safron) – 4:59
  4. “Fast Gun” (David Surkamp) – 3:04
  5. “Natchez Trace” (Steve Scorfina) – 3:42
  6. “Theme from Subway Sue” (David Surkamp) – 4:25
  7. “Episode” (David Surkamp) – 4:04
  8. “Preludin” (Siegfried Carver) – 1:36
  9. “Of Once and Future Kings” (David Surkamp) – 5:32


  • David Surkamp: Vocals, Rhythm Guitar
  • Steve Scorfina: Lead Guitar
  • David Hamilton: Keyboards
  • Doug Rayburn: Mellotron & Flute
  • Siegfried Carver: Stringed Instruments, Vitar
  • Rick Stockton: Bass
  • Mike Safron: Drums, Percussion
Weight 1.00000000 kg


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “PAVLOV’S DOG – PAMPERED MENIAL LP – Nr MINT 1975 US  PROG ROCK”
Back to Top