1 in stock


The Mamas & The Papas – People Like Us
(Probe Records  1971  SPB1048  STEREO)
Matrix No’s: A1/B1 – UK Pressing

G&L Textured Sleeve in Very Good- condition
– split in title spine and bottom spine

Vinyl in Excellent/Very Good condition
(there are quite a few surface marks visible on the vinyl which do give light pops/crackles but sound quality is Excellent overall)

People Like Us is the fifth and final studio album released by The Mamas & the Papas in November 1971, three years after the group originally split. This album came to be because the former members of the group were still under contract with Dunhill Records. The group had originally been signed to the label when it was run by their original producer Lou Adler, but by 1971, Dunhill’s distributor, ABC Records, had purchased the label and discovered the clause in the group’s original contract. According to their contract, the group had to produce one more album, or else be in breach of contract and subject to possible fines. While the album has some memorable songs, it was considered a disappointment by fans and critics, and did not sell well upon its release. It was produced by John Phillips. Michelle Phillips said later in the liner note of a Mama & Papa’s CD compilation that the album “sounded like what it was, four people trying to avoid a lawsuit.”

All tracks except “I Wanna Be a Star” (written by Michelle) were written by John, making People Like Us the Mamas and Papas’s only entirely self-written and produced album. Some of the lyrics refer to John’s romance at the time with actress Geneviève Waïte, whom he married in 1972.

Tracks include “Pearl”, a tribute to singer Janis Joplin, the single “Step Out” and the title track which is the last song the group ever recorded. Due reportedly to the illness of Cass Elliot during the sessions, most lead vocals are handled by Denny Doherty and Michelle, and while present and audible on certain tracks, Elliot does not feature prominently on the album.

Track listing

All songs written by John Phillips, except where noted.

Side A

  1. “People Like Us” – 3:25
  2. “Pacific Coast Highway” – 3:04
  3. “Snowqueen of Texas” – 2:37
  4. “Shooting Star” – 2:54
  5. “Step Out” – 3:03
  6. “Lady Genevieve” – 3:48

Side B

  1. “No Dough” – 3:05
  2. “European Blueboy” – 3:39
  3. “Pearl” – 2:24
  4. “I Wanna Be a Star” (J. Phillips, Michelle Phillips) – 2:17
  5. “Grasshopper” – 2:57
  6. “Blueberries for Breakfast” – 2:59


  • Denny Doherty – vocals
  • Cass Elliot – vocals
  • John Phillips – vocals, guitar
  • Michelle Phillips – vocals
  • Gary Coleman – drums, tambourine, bells, vibraphone, shaker
  • Ed Greene – drums
  • Bobbye Hall – conga, tambourine, shaker, cabasa
  • Jim Horn – flute, saxophone
  • Clarence McDonald – keyboards
  • Tony Newton – bass guitar
  • Earl Palmer – drums
  • Donald Peake – guitar
  • Joe Sample – keyboards
  • Louie Shelton – guitar
  • David T. Walker – guitar
Weight 1.00000000 kg


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “THE MAMA'S & THE PAPAS – PEOPLE LIKE US LP – EXC/VG A1 UK”
Back to Top