1 in stock


The Rolling Stones – Hot Rocks 1964-1971
(London/Abkco Records  1990  8201401)
Matrix No’s: A2/B2/A2/B2 – UK Pressing

Gatefold Sleeve in Nr MINT condition
Also comes with original Card Insert

Vinyls in Nr MINT condition

The Rolling Stones are an English rock band formed in London in 1962. The first settled line-up consisted of Brian Jones (guitar, harmonica), Ian Stewart (piano), Mick Jagger (lead vocals, harmonica), Keith Richards (guitar), Bill Wyman (bass) and Charlie Watts (drums). Jones left the band less than a month prior to his death in 1969, having already been replaced by Mick Taylor, who left in 1975. Since then Ronnie Wood has been on guitar in tandem with Richards. Following Wyman’s departure in 1993, Darryl Jones has been the main bassist. Stewart was removed from the official lineup in 1963 but continued as occasional pianist until his death in 1985. Other notable keyboardist for the band have included Nicky Hopkins, active from 1967 to 1982, and Chuck Leavell, active since 1982. The band was first led by Jones, but after teaming as the band’s songwriters, Jagger and Richards assumed defacto leadership.

The Rolling Stones were in the vanguard of the British Invasion of bands that became popular in the US in 1964–65. At first noted for their longish hair as much as their music, the band are identified with the youthful and rebellious counterculture of the 1960s. They were instrumental in making blues a major part of rock and roll, and of changing the international focus of blues culture to the less sophisticated blues typified by Chess Records artists such as Muddy Waters, writer of “Rollin’ Stone”, the song after which the band is named. Musicologist Robert Palmer attributed the “remarkable endurance” of the Rolling Stones to being “rooted in traditional verities, in rhythm-and-blues and soul music” while “more ephemeral pop fashions have come and gone”.

The Rolling Stones were inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in 1989, and the UK Music Hall of Fame in 2004. Rolling Stone magazine ranked them fourth on the “100 Greatest Artists of All Time” list, and their estimated album sales are above 250 million. They have released twenty-nine studio albums, eighteen live albums and numerous compilations. Let It Bleed (1969) was their first of five consecutive number one studio and Live albums in the UK. Sticky Fingers (1971) was the first of eight consecutive number one studio albums in the US. In 2008 the band ranked 10th on the “Billboard Hot 100 All-Time Top Artists” chart. In 2012, the band celebrated their 50th anniversary.

Hot Rocks 1964–1971 is the first compilation album of Rolling Stones music released by former manager Allen Klein’s ABKCO Records (who gained control of the band’s Decca/London material in 1970) after the band’s departure from Decca and Klein. Released in late 1971, it proved to be The Rolling Stones’ biggest-selling release of their career and an enduring and popular retrospective.

After reportedly having been duped by Klein to unknowingly sign over the recording copyrights to all of their material from 1963 to 1970, The Rolling Stones left Decca and formed their own label, Rolling Stones Records, with a new distributor. They recorded Sticky Fingers throughout 1970, releasing it the following spring. Although Klein—and now ABKCO—no longer had The Rolling Stones as clients, their fruitful catalogue was ripe for the picking and, thus, Hot Rocks 1964–1971 was quickly compiled as a double album greatest hits package.

While the album carries most of the band’s biggest hits during their first decade, it does drop a few of them to include standout tracks such as “Play With Fire”, “Under My Thumb” and “Gimme Shelter” giving listeners a more well-rounded impression of The Rolling Stones’ music in this era. Although “Brown Sugar” and “Wild Horses” are a part of Sticky Fingers, those two songs are co-owned by the band and Allen Klein because The Rolling Stones recorded the songs while they were still under contract to Decca.

Track listing

All songs by Mick Jagger and Keith Richards, except where noted.

Side one  
No. Title Length  
1. “Time Is on My Side” (Norman Meade) 2:59
2. “Heart of Stone”   2:49
3. “Play With Fire” (Nanker Phelge) 2:13
4. “(I Can’t Get No) Satisfaction”   3:43
5. “As Tears Go By” (Mick Jagger/Keith Richards/Andrew Loog Oldham) 2:44
6. “Get Off of My Cloud”   2:55
Side two  
No. Title Length  
7. “Mother’s Little Helper”   2:44
8. “19th Nervous Breakdown”   3:56
9. Paint It, Black”   3:22
10. “Under My Thumb”   3:42
11. “Ruby Tuesday”   3:16
12. “Let’s Spend the Night Together”   3:37
Side three  
No. Title Length  
13. “Jumpin’ Jack Flash”   3:41
14. “Street Fighting Man”   3:14
15. “Sympathy for the Devil”   6:18
16. “Honky Tonk Women”   3:00
17. “Gimme Shelter”   4:31
Side four  
No. Title Length  
18. “Midnight Rambler (Live)”   9:05
19. “You Can’t Always Get What You Want”   7:30
20. “Brown Sugar”   3:48
21. “Wild Horses”   5:42

All tracks on sides one and two were produced by Andrew Loog Oldham. All tracks on sides three and four were produced by Jimmy Miller, except “Midnight Rambler,” which was produced by The Rolling Stones and Glyn Johns.

Weight 2.00000000 kg


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “THE ROLLING STONES – HOT ROCKS 1964-1971 2LP – Nr MINT UK”
Back to Top