1 in stock


The Rutles
(Warner Bros Records  1978  HS3151)
US Pressing

Gatefold Sleeve in Excellent+ condition
– some wear to edges/corners and import cut bottom left
No Booklet
Inner Sleeve in Excellent+ condition

Vinyl in Nr MINT condition
(there are some surface marks visible on the vinyl when held up to the light but they don’t affect the sound quality apart from the odd light pop/crackle)

The Rutles are a rock band known for their visual and aural pastiches and parodies of the Beatles. This originally fictional band, created by Eric Idle and Neil Innes for 1970s television programming, became an actual group (while remaining a parody of the Beatles) and toured and recorded, releasing many songs and albums that included two U.K. chart hits.

Created as a short sketch in Idle’s UK television comedy series Rutland Weekend Television, the Rutles gained fame after being the focus of the 1978 mockumentary television film, All You Need Is Cash (The Rutles). Actual Beatle George Harrison notably appeared in the film and assisted in its creation. Encouraged by the positive public reaction to the sketch, featuring Beatles’ music pastiches by Innes, the film was written by Idle, who co-directed it with Gary Weis. It had 20 songs written by Innes, which he performed with three musicians as “The Rutles”. A soundtrack album in 1978 was followed in 1996 by Archaeology, which spoofed the Beatles’ Anthology series which had recently been released.

A second film, The Rutles 2: Can’t Buy Me Lunch—modelled on the 2000 TV special The Beatles Revolution—was made in 2002 and released in the US on DVD in 2003.


A1 Hold My Hand 2:31
A2 Number One 2:50
A3 With A Girl Like You 1:50
A4 I Must Be In Love 2:04
A5 OUCH! 1:49
A6 Living In Hope 2:37
A7 Love Life 2:50
A8 Nevertheless 1:29
B1 Good Times Roll 3:03
B2 Doubleback Alley 2:54
B3 Cheese And Onions 2:37
B4 Another Day 2:09
B5 Piggy In The Middle 4:07
B6 Let’s Be Natural 3:23


  • Arranged By [Brass, Strings]John Altman
  • ArtworkDennis Hawkings
  • Artwork [Album/booklet Conceived, Written By]Eric Idle
  • Artwork [Art Direction]Tony Cohen
  • Artwork [Designed]Basil Pao
  • BassAndy Brown
  • EngineerSteve James
  • Guitar, Bass, Sitar, Tabla, VocalsRikki Fataar*
  • Guitar, Vocals, KeyboardsOllie Halsall
  • Mastered ByALLEN*, EG*
  • Percussion, VocalsJohn Halsey
  • Photography ByDavid Strickland
  • Photography By [Additional Photos]David Gahr
  • Producer, Guitar, Keyboards, Vocals, Written-ByNeil Innes


Weight 1.00000000 kg


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “THE RUTLES – THE RUTLES LP – Nr MINT US  PROG”
Back to Top