1 in stock


Slade – Alive
(Salvo Records  1972/2009  SALVOLPV001)

Gatefold Sleeve in MINT- condition
 – small dink on bottom left corner

Vinyl in MINT condition


Slade are an English glam rock band from Wolverhampton/Walsall. They rose to prominence during the early 1970s with 17 consecutive top 20 hits and six number ones. The British Hit Singles & Albums names them as the most successful British group of the 1970s based on sales of singles. They were the first act to have three singles enter the charts at number one; all six of the band’s chart-toppers were penned by Noddy Holder and Jim Lea. As of 2006, total UK sales stand at 6,520,171, and their best-selling single, “Merry Xmas Everybody”, has sold in excess of one million copies.

Following an unsuccessful move to the United States in 1975, Slade’s popularity waned but was unexpectedly revived in 1980 when they were last-minute replacements for Ozzy Osbourne at the Reading Rock Festival. The band later acknowledged this to have been one of the highlights of their career. The original line up split in 1992 but the band reformed later in the year as Slade II. The band has continued, with a number of line-up changes, to the present day. They have now shortened the group name back to Slade.

A number of diverse artists have cited Slade as an influence, including alternative rock icons Nirvana and the Smashing Pumpkins, punk pioneers the Ramones, Sex Pistols, the Undertones, the Runaways and the Clash, glam metal bands Kiss, Mötley Crüe, Poison, Def Leppard, heavy metal bands Twisted Sister & Quiet Riot and pop-rock stalwarts the Replacements, Cheap Trick and Oasis.

The Illustrated Encyclopaedia of Music tells of Holder’s powerful vocals, guitarist Dave Hill’s equally arresting dress sense and the deliberate misspelling of their song titles for which they became well known.

Slade Alive! was a live album released by the British rock band Slade. The album was released on 24 March 1972, and reached number two on the UK Albums Chart, as well as being Slade’s first album to dent the Billboard 200 in the United States. The album contained original songs, plus cover versions of songs by Ten Years After, The Lovin’ Spoonful, Bobby Marchan, and Steppenwolf. The album was recorded live at Command Theatre Studio and mixed at Olympic Studios.

In its original LP vinyl format, the album was issued in a gatefold sleeve which revealed a huge cartoon drawing on the inside. This drawing was the winning entry in a competition run in the The Sun UK newspaper to design the album cover.

In 2006 Salvo Records re-issued the tracks as part of the collection Slade Alive – the Live Anthology.

Of the three nights recorded, most of the album consisted of the second night as the band had just come from performing on Top of the Pops with “Coz I Luv You” which had just peaked at #1 in the UK.

The album was rated #2 of the top ten albums of 1972 by NME magazine’s chart point survey.

The album was voted #3 of the top three Slade albums in the Slade Fan Club Poll of 1979. In the same poll, the album was voted #1 of the top three Slade album covers.

In the September–December 1986 Slade fan club magazine, the poll results were announced for the 1986 opinion poll based on Slade’s material. For the best album of the 70s, Slade Alive! placed at #1.

In Australia, Slade Alive! was the biggest selling album since The Beatles’ 1967 album Sgt. Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band. In Israel and Italy, the front cover used the inner gatefold artwork instead, whilst certain editions releases in the Netherlands and France also used this design.

On the UK Granada Television, the band performed a ‘Set of Six’ show on 13 June 1972. This filmed set featured a similar set to the Slade Alive! album, the tracks in order being, Hear Me Calling, Look Wot You Dun, Darling Be Home Soon, Coz I Luv You, Get Down and Get With It and Born To Be Wild.

On 6 February 2006, Classic Rock Legends released an independent critical guide to the album, under the title “Slade Alive! – The Ultimate Critical Review” as part of the series “The World’s Greatest Albums”.

Track listing

  1. “Hear Me Calling” – 5:46 (Alvin Lee)
  2. “In Like a Shot from My Gun” – 3:33 (Holder/Lea/Powell)
  3. Darling Be Home Soon” – 5:43 (John Sebastian)
  4. “Know Who You Are” – 3:37 (Holder/Lea/Hill/Powell)
  5. “Keep on Rocking” – 6:29 (Holder/Lea/Hill/Powell)
  6. “Get Down and Get With It” – 5:33 (Bobby Marchan)
  7. “Born to Be Wild” – 8:12 (Mars Bonfire)



  • Noddy Holder – lead vocals, rhythm guitar
  • Dave Hill – lead guitar, backing vocals
  • Jim Lea – bass guitar, backing vocals
  • Don Powell – drums

Additional credits

  • Tambourine on “Know Who You Are” – unknown member of audience
  • Barry Ainsworth – engineer (recording)
  • Alan O’Duffy – engineer (mixing)
  • Chas Chandler – producer
  • Derek Robinson – artwork
  • Chris Walter – photography (front)
  • M. Webb – artwork (sleeve inner)
Weight 1.00000000 kg


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “SLADE – ALIVE 180 gram LP – MINT GLAM NODDY HOLDER”
Back to Top