1 in stock


Roy Ayers – You Might Be Surprised
(Urban/Polydor Records  1987  UMID4)
Matrix No’s: A1/B1 – UK Pressing

Sleeve in Nr MINT condition

Vinyl in Nr MINT condition

Roy Ayers (born September 10, 1940) is an American funk, soul, and jazz composer, vibraphone player, and music producer. Ayers began his career as a post-bop jazz artist, releasing several albums with Atlantic Records, before his tenure at Polydor Records beginning in the 1970s, during which he helped pioneer jazz-funk. He is a key figure in the acid jazz movement, and has been dubbed “The Godfather of Neo Soul”. He is best known for his compositions “Everybody Loves The Sunshine”, “Searchin” and “Running Away”. and at one time was said to have more sampled hits by rappers than any other artist.

Let’s Do It is a studio album by American musician Roy Ayers. It was released in 1978 through Polydor Records. Recording sessions for the album took place at Sigma Sound Studios and Electric Lady Studios in New York City, and at Record Plant in Los Angeles. Production was handled by Ayers himself with co-production by William Allen. The album features contributions from Merry Clayton, Sylvia Cox and Debbie Burrell on vocals, Harry Whitaker, Armen Donelian and Philip Woo on piano, Greg Moore on guitar, Kerry Turman on bass, Bernard Purdie on drums, Chano O’Ferral on congas, Justo Almario on saxophone, and John Mosley on trumpet.

The album peaked at number 33 on the Billboard 200 albums chart and at number 15 on the Top R&B/Hip-Hop Albums chart in the United States. It spawned two 7″ singles: “Freaky Deaky” and “Let’s Do It”. “Freake Deaky” reached peak position #29 on the Hot R&B/Hip-Hop Songs chart.

Track listing

No. Title Writer(s) Length
1. “Let’s Do It”
  • Roy Ayers
  • William Allen
2. “Melody Maker” William Allen 4:59
3. “When Is Real Real?”
  • Roy Ayers
  • Maureen Kinnard
4. “Sweet Tears”
  • Roy Ayers
  • Roselle Weaver
5. “You Came into My Life” (featuring Merry Clayton & Sylvia Cox)
  • Roy Ayers
  • Argerie Ayers
6. “Freaky Deaky” (featuring Merry Clayton & Sylvia Cox)
  • Roy Ayers
  • Edwin Birdsong
7. “Kiss” Roy Ayers 4:22


  • Roy Ayers – lead vocals, arrangement (tracks: 1, 3-7), producer
  • Merry Clayton – lead vocals (tracks: 5, 6), backing vocals
  • Sylvia Cox – lead vocals (tracks: 5, 6), backing vocals
  • Debbie Burrell – backing vocals
  • William Henry Allen – bass, arrangement, co-producer
  • Harry Lamah Whitaker – piano
  • Armen Donelian – piano
  • Philip Woo – piano
  • Gregory David Moore – guitar
  • Kerry Turman – bass
  • Bernard Lee “Pretty” Purdie – drums
  • Chano O’Ferral – congas
  • Justo Almario – tenor saxophone
  • John Clifford Mosley, Jr. – trumpet
  • Michael Hutchinson – engineering & mixing
  • Bruce Hensal – engineering
  • Jerry Solomon – engineering
  • J.D. Stewart – assistant engineering
Weight 1.00000000 kg


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “ROY AYERS – LET’S DO IT LP – Nr MINT UK FUNK JAZZ FUSION”
Back to Top