1 in stock


Scorpions – Tokyo Tapes
(RCA Records  1978  CPL23039  US Press)

Gatefold Sleeve in Excellent+ condition
– some wear to edges & some light rubbing

Double Vinyl in Nr MINT condition
(there are a few surface marks visible on the vinyl when held up to the light but they don’t affect the sound quality)

Scorpions are a German rock band formed in 1965 in Hanover by Rudolf Schenker. Since the band’s inception, its musical style has ranged from hard rock, heavy metal, glam metal, and soft rock. The lineup from 1978 to 1992 was the most successful incarnation of the group, and included Klaus Meine (vocals), Rudolf Schenker (rhythm guitar), Matthias Jabs (lead guitar), Francis Buchholz (bass), and Herman Rarebell (drums). The band’s only continuous member has been Schenker, although Meine has appeared on all of Scorpions’ studio albums, while Jabs has been a consistent member since 1978, and bassist Paweł Mąciwoda and drummer Mikkey Dee have been in the band since 2003 and 2016 respectively.

Tokyo Tapes is the first live album by German heavy metal band Scorpions.

Track listing

Side one

  1. “All Night Long” (Uli Jon Roth, Klaus Meine) – 3:44
  2. “Pictured Life” (Rudolf Schenker, Meine, Roth) – 3:12
  3. “Backstage Queen” (R. Schenker, Meine) – 3:44
  4. “Polar Nights” (Roth) – 6:43
  5. “In Trance” (R. Schenker, Meine) – 5:25

Side two

  1. “We’ll Burn the Sky” (R. Schenker, Monika Dannemann) – 8:07
  2. “Suspender Love” (R. Schenker/Meine) – 3:38
  3. “In Search of the Peace of Mind” (R. Schenker, Michael Schenker, Meine, Lothar Heimberg, Wolfgang Dziony) – 3:02
  4. “Fly to the Rainbow” (M. Schenker, Roth) – 9:39

Side three

  1. “He’s a Woman, She’s a Man” (R. Schenker, Meine, Herman Rarebell) – 5:22
  2. “Speedy’s Coming” (R. Schenker, Meine) – 3:40
  3. “Top of the Bill” (R. Schenker, Meine) – 6:45
  4. “Hound Dog” (Jerry Leiber, Mike Stoller) – 1:14
  5. “Long Tall Sally” (Enotris Johnson, Robert “Bumps” Blackwell, Richard Penniman) – 2:50

Side four

  1. “Steamrock Fever” (R. Schenker, Meine) – 3:41
  2. “Dark Lady” (Roth) – 4:18
  3. “Kōjō no Tsuki” (Rentarō Taki, Bansui Tsuchii, arr. Francis Buchholz, Meine, Rarebell, Roth, R. Schenker) – 3:35
  4. “Robot Man” (R. Schenker, Meine) – 5:47


  • Klaus Meine – lead vocals
  • Ulrich Roth – lead guitar, backing vocals, lead vocals on “Polar Nights”, “Fly to the Rainbow” and “Dark Lady”
  • Rudolf Schenker – rhythm guitar, backing vocals, lead guitar intro on “He’s a Woman, She’s a Man”, lead guitar on “Steamrock Fever” and “Long Tall Sally”
  • Francis Buchholz – bass, backing vocals
  • Herman Rarebell – drums, percussion, backing vocals
  • Dieter Dierks – producer, mixing
  • Tamotsu Yoshida – live engineer
Weight 2.00000000 kg


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “SCORPIONS – TOKYO TAPES 2LP – Nr MINT US 1978”
Back to Top