1 in stock


Taj Mahal – Taj
(Sonet Gramavision Records  1986  SNTF975)

Sleeve in Excellent condition
 – some wear to edges/corners with scuff on top spine and small sticker mark on front

Vinyl in Nr MINT condition
(there are some surface marks visible on the vinyl when held up to the light but they don’t affect the sound quality apart from the odd light pop/crackle)

Henry Saint Clair Fredericks (born May 17, 1942), who uses the stage name Taj Mahal, is an American blues musician. He often incorporates elements of world music into his works. A self-taught singer-songwriter and film composer who plays the guitar, piano, banjo and harmonica (among many other instruments), Mahal has done much to reshape the definition and scope of blues music over the course of his almost 50-year career by fusing it with nontraditional forms, including sounds from the Caribbean, Africa and the South Pacific.

Taj is an album by American blues artist Taj Mahal. The cover photograph was by Robert Mapplethorpe.

Track listing

All tracks composed by Taj Mahal; except where indicated

  1. “Everybody is Somebody” (The Mighty Shadow)
  2. “Paradise”
  3. “Do I Love Her”
  4. “Light of the Pacific” (Toni Fonoti)
  5. “‘Deed I Do”
  6. “Soothin'” (Jae Mason)
  7. “Pillow Talk” (Michael Burton, Sylvia Robinson)
  8. “Local Local Girl”
  9. “Kauai Kalypso”
  10. “French Letter” (Toni Fonoti)


  • Taj Mahal – acoustic and electric guitars, bass, percussion, keyboards, lead and background vocals
  • Jeanette Acosta – synthesizer
  • Wayne Henderson – keyboards
  • Ray Fitzpatrick – bass, percussion
  • Inshirah Mahal – congas, percussion
  • Larry McDonald – congas, percussion
  • Babatunde Olatunji – djembe, congas, shekere, percussion
  • Ralph MacDonald – congas, tambourine, percussion
  • Robert Greenidge – steel drums, percussion
  • Ozzie Williams – drums, DBX drum programming
  • Kester Smith – drums
  • Chris Simpson – nylon stringed Spanish guitar
  • Tony Jones – electric bass, electric guitar
  • Fred Lunt – steel guitar
  • Jesse Ed Davis – lead guitar
  • Kenny Lee Lewis – rhythm guitar
  • Reggie Lucas – guitar
  • Rudy Costa – alto saxophone
  • Ron Brown – tenor saxophone
  • Fernando Pullum – trumpet
  • Larry Gittens – trumpet
  • Garnett Brown – trombone
  • Duane Benjamin – trombone
  • Melody McCully – background vocals
  • Pamela Vincent – background vocals
  • Joyce Wilson – background vocals
Weight 1.00000000 kg


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “TAJ MAHAL – TAJ LP – Nr MINT CONDITION”
Back to Top