1 in stock


The Beach Boys – Surfer Girl
(Capitol Records  1967  ST1981  Stereo)
UK Pressing

G&L Flipback Sleeve in Very Good+ condition
– some marks on back & some rippling to front

Vinyl in Very Good condition
(there are quite a few surface marks visible on the vinyl which do give pops/crackles but sound quality is Excellent overall)

The Beach Boys are an American rock band formed in Hawthorne, California, in 1961. The group’s original lineup consisted of brothers Brian, Dennis, and Carl Wilson; their cousin Mike Love; and their friend Al Jardine. Distinguished by their vocal harmonies and early surf songs, they are one of the most influential acts of the rock era. The group, led by their principal songwriter and producer Brian, pioneered novel approaches to popular music form and production, combining their affinities for jazz-based vocal groups, 1950s rock and roll, and black R&B to create their unique sound. He later arranged his compositions for studio orchestras and explored a variety of other styles, often incorporating classical or jazz elements and unconventional recording techniques in innovative ways.

The Beach Boys began as a garage band managed by the Wilsons’ father Murry, with Brian’s increasingly sophisticated songwriting and recording abilities dominating their creative direction. Emerging at the vanguard of the “California Sound”, they performed original material that reflected a southern California youth culture of surfing, cars, and romance. After 1964, they abandoned the surfing aesthetic for more personal lyrics and multi-layered sounds. In 1966, the Pet Sounds album and “Good Vibrations” single vaulted the group to the top level of rock innovators and established the band as symbols of the nascent counterculture era. Following the dissolution of the group’s Smile project in 1967, Brian gradually ceded production and songwriting duties to the rest of the band, reducing his input because of mental health and substance abuse issues. The group’s public image subsequently faltered, and despite efforts to continue their psychedelic/avant-garde ventures and reclaim their hippie audiences, they were dismissed as an embodiment of the values and outlooks shared by early 1960s white, suburban teenagers.

The continued success of their greatest hits albums during the mid 1970s precipitated the band’s transition into an oldies act, a move that was denigrated by critics and many fans. Since the 1980s, much-publicized legal wrangling over royalties, songwriting credits and use of the band’s name transpired. Dennis drowned in 1983 and Carl died of lung cancer in 1998. After Carl’s death, many live configurations of the band fronted by Mike Love and Bruce Johnston continued to tour into the 2000s while other members pursued solo projects. Even though Wilson and Jardine have not performed with Love and Johnston’s band since their one-off 2012 reunion tour, they remain a part of the Beach Boys’ corporation, Brother Records Inc.

The Beach Boys are one of the most critically acclaimed, commercially successful, and widely influential bands of all time. The group had over eighty songs chart worldwide, thirty-six of them US Top 40 hits (the most by an American rock band), four reaching number-one on the Billboard Hot 100 chart. The Beach Boys have sold in excess of 100 million records worldwide, making them one of the world’s best-selling bands of all time and are listed at No. 12 on Rolling Stone magazine’s 2004 list of the “100 Greatest Artists of All Time”. The core quintet of the three Wilsons, Love and Jardine were inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in 1988.

Surfer Girl is the third album by American rock band the Beach Boys and their second in 1963. Surfer Girl reached number 7 in the US during a chart stay of 56 weeks. In the UK, the album was released in spring 1967 and reached number 13. This was the first album by the Beach Boys for which Brian Wilson was given full production credit, a position Wilson would maintain for the next few years.

In 2017, Surfer Girl was ranked the 193rd greatest album of the 1960s by Pitchfork.

Track listing

Side one
No. Title Writer(s) Lead vocals Length
1. “Surfer Girl” Brian Wilson Brian Wilson 2:26
2. “Catch a Wave” B. Wilson/Mike Love Mike Love/B. Wilson 2:07
3. “The Surfer Moon” B. Wilson B. Wilson 2:11
4. “South Bay Surfer (The Old Folks at Home)” Stephen Foster (music); B. Wilson/Carl Wilson/Al Jardine (lyrics) Love/B. Wilson 1:45
5. “The Rocking Surfer” trad. arr. B. Wilson instrumental 2:00
6. “Little Deuce Coupe” B. Wilson/Roger Christian Love 1:38
Side two
No. Title Writer(s) Lead Vocals Length
1. “In My Room” B. Wilson/Gary Usher B. Wilson 2:11
2. “Hawaii” B. Wilson/Love Love/B. Wilson 1:59
3. “Surfers Rule” B. Wilson/Love Dennis Wilson/B. Wilson 1:54
4. “Our Car Club” B. Wilson/Love Love/B. Wilson 2:22
5. “Your Summer Dream” B. Wilson/Bob Norberg B. Wilson 2:27
6. “Boogie Woodie” trad. arr. B. Wilson instrumental 1:56
The Beach Boys
  • Al Jardine – backing and harmony vocals; bass guitar; hand claps
  • Mike Love – lead, backing and harmony vocals; hand claps
  • David Marks – rhythm guitar; hand claps
  • Brian Wilson – lead, backing and harmony vocals; bass guitar; piano, organ; hand claps
  • Carl Wilson – backing and harmony vocals; lead guitar, bass guitar; hand claps
  • Dennis Wilson – lead, backing and harmony vocals; drums, hand claps
Additional musicians and production staff
  • Hal Blaine – drums, percussion
  • Steve Douglas – tenor saxophone
  • Maureen Love – harp
Weight 1.00000000 kg


There are no reviews yet.

Back to Top