1 in stock


The Lovin’ Spoonful – Daydream
(Kama Sutra Records  1966  KLP8051  US Press)

Vinyl in Excellent+ condition
(there are some surface marks visible on the vinyl when held up to the light but they don’t affect the sound quality apart from some light pops/crackles)

Sleeve in Good/Fair condition
– bottom 2 inches of front cover image is torn away

The Lovin’ Spoonful is an American rock band of the 1960s, named to the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in 2000. When asked about his band, leader John Sebastian said it sounded like a combination of “Mississippi John Hurt and Chuck Berry”, prompting his friend, Fritz Richmond, to suggest the name “Lovin’ Spoonful” from a line in Hurt’s song, “Coffee Blues”.

Daydream is the second album by The Lovin’ Spoonful, released in 1966. It features two hits, “Daydream”, which reached No. 2 in the U.S. Billboard Top 40 charts, and “You Didn’t Have to Be So Nice” (U.S. No. 10).

Track listing

All tracks are written by John Sebastian except as noted. Jug Band Music was the first song on side two of the original LP.

No. Title Writer(s) Length
1. “Daydream”   2:21
2. “There She Is”   1:58
3. “It’s Not Time Now” Sebastian, Zal Yanovsky 2:49
4. “Warm Baby”   2:03
5. “Day Blues” Joe Butler, Sebastian 3:15
6. “Let the Boy Rock and Roll” Butler, Sebastian 2:34
7. “Jug Band Music”   2:53
8. “Didn’t Want to Have to Do It”   2:36
9. “You Didn’t Have to Be So Nice” Steve Boone, Sebastian 2:29
10. “Bald Headed Lena” Willy Perryman, Edward Snead 2:25
11. “Butchie’s Tune” Boone, Sebastian 2:37
12. “Big Noise from Speonk” Boone, Butler, Sebastian, Yanovsky 2:21


  • John Sebastian – vocals, electric and acoustic guitars, autoharp, harmonica, keyboards
  • Steve Boone – bass, vocals
  • Joe Butler – drums, percussion, vocals
  • Zal Yanovsky – electric and acoustic guitars, vocals


Weight 1.00000000 kg


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “THE LOVIN’ SPOONFUL – DAYDREAM LP – EXC+ 1966 POP PSYCH”
Back to Top